You must enable JavaScript to view this site.
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our legal notice and privacy policy for more details.

Crisis Group's Board of Trustees


Thomas R. Pickering
Former U.S. Undersecretary of State; Ambassador to the UN, Russia, India, Israel, Jordan, El Salvador and Nigeria

Mark Malloch-Brown
Former UN Deputy Secretary-General and Administrator of the United Nations Development Program (UNDP)

President & CEO

Louise Arbour  
Former UN High Commissioner for Human Rights and Chief Prosecutor for the International Criminal Tribunals for the former Yugoslavia and Rwanda


Ayo Obe
Legal Practitioner, Lagos, Nigeria

Ghassan Salamé
Dean, Paris School of International Affairs, Sciences Po 

Executive Committee

Cheryl Carolus
Former South African High Commissioner to the UK and Secretary General of the ANC  

Maria Livanos Cattaui  
Former Secretary-General of the International Chamber of Commerce

Frank Giustra
CEO, Fiore Financial Corporation 

George Soros
Chairman, Open Society Institute  

Pär Stenbäck
Former Foreign Minister of Finland

Other Board Members

Kofi Annan
Former Secretary-General for the United Nations; Nobel Peace Prize (2001)

Nahum Barnea
Chief Columnist for Yedioth Ahronoth, Israel

Samuel Berger
Chair, Albright Stonebridge Group LLC; Former U.S. National Security Adviser 

Emma Bonino
Former Foreign Minister of Italy and Vice-President of the Senate; Former European Commissioner for Humanitarian Aid

Micheline Calmy-Rey
Former President of the Swiss Confederation and Foreign Affairs Minister

Wesley Clark
Former NATO Supreme Allied Commander

Sheila Coronel
Toni Stabile Professor of Practice in Investigative Journalism; Director, Toni Stabile Center for Investigative Journalism, Columbia University, U.S. 

Mark Eyskens
Former Prime Minister of Belgium  

Joschka Fischer
Former Foreign Minister of Germany

Lykke Friis
Former Climate & Energy Minister and Minister of Gender Equality of Denmark; Former Prorector at the University of Copenhagen

Jean-Marie Guéhenno
Arnold Saltzman Professor of War and Peace Studies, Columbia University; Former UN Under-Secretary-General for Peacekeeping Operations 

Lena Hjelm-Wallén
Former Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Affairs Minister of Sweden 

Mo Ibrahim
Founder and Chair, Mo Ibrahim Foundation; Founder, Celtel International 

Asma Jahangir
Former President of the Supreme Court Bar Association of Pakistan; Former UN Special Rapporteur on the Freedom of Religion or Belief

Wadah Khanfar
Co-Founder, Al Sharq Forum; Former Director General, Al Jazeera Network

Wim Kok
Former Prime Minister of the Netherlands  

Ricardo Lagos
Former President of Chile  

Joanne Leedom-Ackerman
Former International Secretary of PEN International; Novelist and journalist, U.S.    

Lalit Mansingh
Former Foreign Secretary of India and Ambassador to the U.S. and High Commissioner to the UK  

Benjamin Mkapa
Former President of Tanzania 

Laurence Parisot
President, French Business Confederation (MEDEF)

Karim Raslan
Founder, Managing Director and CEO of KRA Group

Paul Reynolds
President & CEO, Canaccord Financial Inc

Javier Solana
Former EU High Representative for the Common Foreign and Security Policy, NATO Secretary-General and Foreign Minister of Spain

Liv Monica Stubholt
Lawyer; Former Senior Vice President for Strategy and Communication, Kvaerner ASA; Former State Secretary in the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Larry Summers
Former Director of the US National Economic Council and Secretary of the Treasury; President Emeritus of Harvard University 

Wang Jisi
Dean, School of International Studies, Peking University; Member, Foreign Policy Advisory Committee of the Chinese Foreign Ministry

Wu Jianmin
Executive Vice Chairman, China Institute for Innovation and Development Strategy; Member, Foreign Policy Advisory Committee of the Chinese Foreign Ministry; Former Ambassador of China to the UN (Geneva) and France

Lionel Zinsou
CEO, PAI Partners

Chairmen Emeriti

Martti Ahtisaari
Former President of Finland

George J. Mitchell
Former U.S. Senate Majority Leader

President Emeritus

Gareth Evans
Former Foreign Affairs Minister of Australia

Crisis Group Senior Advisers

Crisis Group's Senior Advisers are former Board Members (to the extent consistent with any other office office they may be holding at the time) who maintain an association with Crisis Group, and whose advice and support are called on from time to time.

To see a list of Crisis Group's Senior Advisers, click here.