You must enable JavaScript to view this site.
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our legal notice and privacy policy for more details.
Homepage > About Crisis Group > Board > Emma Bonino

Emma Bonino

Former Foreign Minister of Italy and Vice-President of the Senate; Former European Commissioner for Humanitarian Aid

Emma Bonino was born in 1948. A seasoned politician, she was consecutively elected from 1976 to 2006, as member of the non-violent Radical Party, either to the Italian Chamber of Deputies or to the European Parliament, except for the period 1995-1999 when she served as European Commissioner for Fisheries, Humanitarian Aid and Consumer Policy. She served as Cabinet Minister in the Italian Government from 2006 to 2008, as Minister for International Trade and European Affairs. In April 2008, she was elected to the Senate as a Radical candidate in the Democratic Party ticket, where she currently serves as Vice President.

She has championed several civil and human rights campaigns including a campaign in the early 1980s known as the "against hunger in the world" campaign, working to support developing countries; the rejection of a civil nuclear energy programme in Italy in 1986; the adoption of the Rome Statute in 1998 establishing the permanent International Criminal Court; and the adoption of the UN Resolution in 2007 for a universal moratorium against death penalty. Her campaigns for women’s rights range from integration in political life, the promotion of female entrepreneurship and the protection of human and civil rights, including campaigning against female genital mutilation.

She was twice appointed by the European Commission to be Chief Observer of the European Union's Election Observation Missions, in Ecuador in 2002 and in Afghanistan in 2005. She also twice led the Italian delegation to the Inter-governmental Conference of the Community of Democracies in Seoul, South Korea in 2002 and in Santiago, Chile in 2005.

Emma Bonino is a founding member of "No Peace without Justice", a pioneer organization for the creation of the International Criminal Court. She is the recipient of several international awards in recognition of her commitment to democracy, human rights and the rule of law, including the "Principe de Asturias Prize" awarded in 1998 for her outstanding contribution to international cooperation, the "Premio Presidente della Repubblica" in 2003 for her worldwide commitment in promoting human rights, the "2004 Prix Femmes d'Europe" and the "2004 Open Society Prize" for her outstanding achievements as a female world leader.

This page in: