icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
Cameroun : les dangers d’un régime en pleine fracture
Cameroun : les dangers d’un régime en pleine fracture
Table of Contents
  1. Synthèse
Dialogue sur le Cameroun anglophone : le plus dur reste à faire
Dialogue sur le Cameroun anglophone : le plus dur reste à faire
Report 161 / Africa

Cameroun : les dangers d’un régime en pleine fracture

Le Cameroun, qui constitue jusqu’à présent un des uniques piliers de stabilité en Afrique centrale, fait face à une crise potentielle à l’approche de l’élection présidentielle prévue fin 2011.

  • Share
  • Save
  • Print
  • Download PDF Full Report

Synthèse

Après 28 ans sous la présidence de Paul Biya, le Cameroun est dans une situation de grande instabilité potentielle à l’approche de l’élection présidentielle prévue en 2011. Le flou constitutionnel et légal qui prévaut, les rivalités entre les barons du régime, les tentatives du gouvernement pour contrôler le processus électoral, la rupture du contrat politique entre gouvernants et gouvernés, l’importante paupérisation et les nombreuses insatisfactions de la population, le niveau élevé de la corruption  ainsi que les frustrations d’une grande partie de l’armée font craindre la possibilité d’une crise majeure. Pour l’éviter, Biya et son gouvernement doivent restaurer l’indépendance de l’organe chargé d’organiser et de superviser les élections, rendre institutionnelle et impartiale la lutte contre la corruption et garantir la neutralité des forces de sécurité. Ils doivent aussi, de manière urgente, mettre en place les institutions prévues par la Constitution de 1996, afin d’éviter une vacance du pouvoir et l’éven­tualité de violences lors d’une transition, y compris si celle-ci était causée par un événement imprévu comme le décès en fonction du président, aujourd’hui âgé de 77 ans. Les partenaires les plus influents du Cameroun, en particulier la France et les Etats-Unis, doivent apporter un soutien actif à ces mesures afin d’empêcher des troubles.

Le parti au pouvoir est de plus en plus divisé. Bien qu’il domine toujours la vie politique, il est conscient de son manque de légitimité et il est affaibli par des rivalités internes pour le contrôle des ressources et des positions en prévision de « l’après Biya ». Après avoir fait supprimer la limitation constitutionnelle du nombre de mandats présidentiels, Biya, qui est à la fois craint et contesté au sein de son parti, maintient délibérément l’incertitude sur son éventuelle candidature. De nombreux membres de son parti nourrissent de leurs côtés des ambitions présidentielles.

Les forces de sécurité, pilier important du régime, sont elles aussi divisées. Quelques corps d’élite sont bien équipés et entraînés alors que les unités ordinaires, même si elles reçoivent des salaires corrects, manquent de ressources et sont très peu préparées. L’armée dans son ensemble souffre de tensions entre générations, notamment à cause du refus des vieux généraux de prendre leur retraite qui bloque la promotion des officiers plus jeunes. Des éléments des forces de sécurité sont aussi connus pour être impliqués dans des activités criminelles.

A cause du niveau important de la corruption qui gangrène le pays, d’un système politique clientéliste et d’une importante présence sécuritaire dans toutes les sphères de la vie quotidienne, beaucoup de citoyens se sentent exclus. Plus de la moitié de la population ayant moins de vingt ans, le taux élevé du chômage et du sous-emploi chez les jeunes est une source considérable de tensions sociales. Etant données de telles fractures, le décès de Biya en fonctions pourrait entraîner une importante crise, aggravée par le flou entourant les dispositions constitutionnelles pour une transition. Un tel scénario ne se produira pas forcément, mais, la démocratie étant en panne, la question de la gestion de « l’après Biya » est déjà au centre des rapports politiques au sein du régime, et est considérée comme une importante cause potentielle d’instabilité. Dans tous les cas, l’élection de 2011 donnera facilement lieu à un conflit si elle est mal organisée ou si elle manque de transparence. L’organe chargé d’orga­niser et de superviser les élections n’a pas de légitimité et a déjà connu un mauvais départ lors de sa mise en place. Si la possibilité d’un changement politique dans des conditions démocratiques n’existe pas, il y a de fortes chances que des citoyens ordinaires, des membres de la classe politique et/ou des éléments des forces de sécurité choisissent l’option de la violence pour sortir de l’impasse dans laquelle ils se trouvent.

La longue présidence de Biya, sa manipulation des identités ethniques, la corruption et la criminalisation des élites ont nourri de nombreuses frustrations. Les graves violences urbaines de 2008, qui ont mêlé revendications économiques, contestation du régime et manipulation politique et causé plusieurs dizaines de morts, donnent une idée des risques d’un violent conflit. Une situation chaotique pourrait conduire à un coup d’Etat militaire et aurait certainement des répercussions néfastes pour la région, pour laquelle le Cameroun a été jusqu’à présent un pilier de stabilité.

A moyen terme, le Cameroun fait face à de nombreux défis pour améliorer la gestion de ses ressources publiques, une question qui est au cœur de ses problèmes. Mais à court terme, des actions urgentes doivent être menées pour éviter une crise autour de l’élection de 2011.

Dakar/Bruxelles, 24 juin 2010

Supporters of the ruling CPDM, Cameroon Pepole's Democratic Movement of incumbent Cameroonian President Paul Biya walk under the watch of a gendarme in the Omar Bongo Square in the majority English-speaking South West province in Buea, on October 3, 2018. AFP/Marco Longari
Statement / Africa

Dialogue sur le Cameroun anglophone : le plus dur reste à faire

President Paul Biya has proposed a national dialogue aimed at resolving the Cameroonian government’s conflict with Anglophone separatists. But the mooted dialogue will include neither separatists nor, it appears, other important English-speaking constituencies. Biya should allow greater Anglophone participation and neutral facilitation for the dialogue.

  • Share
  • Save
  • Print
  • Download PDF Full Report

Le 10 septembre, le président Paul Biya a proposé un dialogue national visant à dénouer le conflit qui oppose son gouvernement aux séparatistes anglophones et qui a, depuis deux ans, dévasté les régions du Nord-Ouest et du Sud-Ouest du Cameroun. Cette initiative semble répondre à la fois à l’exaspération de la population face à l’incapacité des forces de sécurité à contrer les séparatistes, et aux inquiétudes croissantes que la crise suscite au niveau international. Le dialogue pourrait être l’occasion, pour son gouvernement et les dirigeants anglophones, de rechercher d’éventuelles solutions. Mais tel qu’envisagé, il exclut les dirigeants séparatistes et ne laisse que très peu de place aux anglophones qui soutiennent le fédéralisme sans remettre en cause les frontières actuelles du Cameroun. Il risque donc d’exacerber la frustration des anglophones, de creuser encore plus le fossé qui sépare les deux camps et de renforcer les tenants d’une ligne dure. Pour améliorer les perspectives du dialogue, le gouvernement devrait accorder plus de place aux anglophones, en particulier aux fédéralistes qui souhaitent y participer. Il devrait aussi rechercher un facilitateur neutre et accepter l’aide de l’Union africaine (UA) et de l’ONU. Un dialogue fructueux devra poser les jalons de nouveaux pourparlers entre le gouvernement et les anglophones de tous bords, y compris les séparatistes, dont le Cameroun ne pourra faire l’économie

L’annonce du président Biya survient dans un climat de violence persistante dans les régions anglophones. La crise a commencé fin 2016, sous la forme d’un mouvement de protestation contre la discrimination des anglophones dans les secteurs de l’éducation et de la justice. Elle s’est rapidement muée en conflit armé, à mesure que les forces de sécurité réprimaient les manifestants et que certains séparatistes anglophones prenaient les armes contre l’Etat.

Les rebelles combattent les forces de sécurité depuis 2017. Les deux camps auraient commis des exactions contre la population, notamment en incendiant des villages, en fermant des écoles et en tuant des civils. Ces violences auraient fait environ 3 000 morts, déplacé un demi-million de personnes à l’intérieur du pays, et poussé 40 000 autres à fuir au Nigéria; 700 000 enfants sont encore privés de scolarisation dans leur région d’origine, et un tiers de la population des régions anglophones a besoin d’aide humanitaire. Le 20 août, le gouvernement a condamné dix figures du mouvement séparatiste à la prison à perpétuité ; les séparatistes ont réagi en intensifiant leurs attaques. Début septembre, ils ont décrété un « lockdown », une grève générale qui a de nouveau empêché la rentrée des classes. Presque toutes les écoles des régions anglophones sont fermées depuis presque trois ans, les séparatistes ayant imposé, parfois violemment, un boycott de l’école.

Il est vital pour le Cameroun de trouver une issue à cette crise [alors que son] économie est en berne.

Il est vital pour le Cameroun de trouver une issue à cette crise. L’économie est en berne. Les activités de la Cameroon Development Corporation et de PAMOL, deux des plus grandes entreprises agricoles du pays, toutes deux détenues par l’Etat, ont ralenti de près de 80 pour cent. En septembre 2018, les entreprises implantées dans les régions anglophones ont annoncé des pertes d’un demi-milliard de dollars depuis le début de la crise. Les forces de sécurité, qui combattent non seulement les séparatistes anglophones à l’Ouest, mais aussi le groupe islamiste militant Boko Haram au Nord, sont dépassées. En outre, la crise politique déclenchée par l’emprisonnement du chef de file de l’opposition Maurice Kamto, qui continue de revendiquer la victoire à l’élection présidentielle de 2018, exacerbe les antagonismes communautaires à travers le pays.

Le dialogue proposé par le président Biya se tiendra du 30 septembre au 4 octobre au Palais des Congrès de la capitale Yaoundé. Il en a confié l’organisation au Premier ministre Joseph Dion Ngute, un anglophone.  Ngute a entamé des consultations auprès d’un large panel de Camerounais. La plupart, néanmoins, ne sont pas anglophones et ne jouent pas un rôle déterminant dans les régions anglophones du pays.

Les séparatistes anglophones, qui dominent de vastes zones de ces régions, n’y participeront pas. Ni eux ni le gouvernement ne semblent très enclins à la réconciliation. Quelques timides contacts informels ont eu lieu cette année entre les deux parties, mais les efforts internationaux de médiation se sont récemment heurtés à l’intransigeance des deux camps. Le 22 septembre, les principaux dirigeants séparatistes à l’étranger ont réaffirmé leur volonté de négocier avec le gouvernement, mais ont rejeté la proposition de dialogue qu’ils qualifient de « purement interne ». Ils n’ont pas manifesté la moindre intention de revenir sur les conditions qu’ils ont toujours posées pour participer à des pourparlers avec le gouvernement : qu’ils se déroulent en présence d’un médiateur international, à l’étranger, et que les termes de la séparation soient le principal point à l’ordre du jour. Le gouvernement n’a fait aucune concession qui pourrait les convaincre de revoir leur position. Il n’a pas appelé à un cessez-le-feu ; n’a pas envoyé d’invitation ni garanti la libre circulation des séparatistes en vue du dialogue ; et n’a fait aucun geste pour la libération des prisonniers anglophones (bien que Biya n’ait pas exclu l’éventualité de grâces pour les dirigeants séparatistes, à un stade ultérieur).

Même les anglophones plus conciliants craignent d’être marginalisés. Parmi eux figurent les fédéralistes, dont les appels à revenir aux dispositions constitutionnelles entre 1961 et 1972 qui réunissaient un Etat francophone et un Etat anglophone au sein d’un système fédéral, séduisent un grand nombre d’anglophones. Certains chefs de file fédéralistes sont très sceptiques quant aux intentions du président Biya, mais d’autres saluent le principe du dialogue. C’est le cas du Cardinal Christian Tumi, influent président de la Conférence générale anglophone (CGA), créée en juillet 2018 et qui réunit des figures anglophones catholiques, protestantes et musulmanes. La CGA a participé aux consultations menées par le Premier ministre  Ngute et sera présente au dialogue.

En prenant l’initiative de ce dialogue, le président Biya a reconnu publiquement, pour la première fois, qu’une approche sécuritaire ne pouvait à elle seule résoudre la crise.

Néanmoins, l’ordre du jour provisoire établi par le Premier ministre laisse peu de temps à la CGA pour présenter son point de vue. En outre, cette année, le gouvernement a empêché la CGA de se réunir pour définir une position anglophone commune. Les consultations du Premier ministre ayant impliqué un large éventail de représentants nationaux, dont beaucoup n’ont rien à voir avec la crise anglophone, le dialogue à venir risque de noyer les éventuelles propositions des anglophones dans une pléthore de préoccupations nationales. Dans ce cas, le dialogue ne permettra pas de prendre en compte les griefs des anglophones ou d’envisager des solutions telles que le fédéralisme, qui séduit de nombreux anglophones. En ne laissant pas suffisamment de temps de parole aux anglophones, le gouvernement risque de se tirer une balle dans le pied. Tenus à l’écart, les fédéralistes ne seront pas en mesure d’encourager les séparatistes à modérer leur position. Leur exclusion risque également d’entraver les discussions qui pourraient aider les fédéralistes à trouver un terrain d’entente avec les partisans d’une forme de décentralisation moins radicale – et beaucoup moins populaire parmi les anglophones –, qui consisterait à accorder une plus grande autonomie aux conseils régionaux qui devraient éventuellement être élus, notamment sur leur personnel, leur budget et l’éducation au niveau local.

Les intentions du président ne sont pas claires. Il agit probablement sous la pression des citoyens déçus de son incapacité à résoudre la crise, et des acteurs internationaux (notamment les Etats-Unis et l’UE), en particulier dans le contexte de l’Assemblée générale des Nations unies, à laquelle participe son ministre des Affaires étrangères. Il doit également jouer les équilibristes entre deux camps au sein du gouvernement et du parti au pouvoir. Certains hauts responsables ont publiquement affirmé que le dialogue s’inscrivait dans un processus à plus long terme – reconnaissant ainsi que le gouvernement devra prendre des mesures supplémentaires pour résoudre la crise. D’autres, plus belliqueux, semblent vouloir détourner le dialogue pour entraver toute tentative d’engager de réels pourparlers de paix et pour mieux faire entendre ceux qui encouragent le gouvernement à ne pas baisser les armes. En prenant l’initiative de ce dialogue, le président Biya a reconnu publiquement, pour la première fois, qu’une approche sécuritaire ne pouvait à elle seule résoudre la crise. Mais dans son discours du 10 septembre, il a évoqué la « marginalisation supposée » des anglophones, refusant par ces termes d’entendre leurs griefs et d’allumer véritablement le calumet de la paix. Dans le pire cas de figure, les tenants de la ligne dure pourraient tenter, lors du dialogue, de faire adopter des conclusions en décalage avec l’opinion anglophone, puis s’appuyer sur ces conclusions pour empêcher la tenue de pourparlers de paix.

Au sein de l’opposition francophone, certains se félicitent de ce dialogue qui représente à leurs yeux – malgré ses défauts – une occasion de sortir d’une crise qui menace de plonger le pays dans une véritable guerre civile. Ils estiment que dans le contexte actuel de violence, il est essentiel de saisir toutes les chances, aussi minces soient-elles, de trouver un accord négocié. « Le président s’est peut-être contenté d’ouvrir une fenêtre plutôt qu’une porte », a-t-on ainsi confié à Crisis Group à Yaoundé, « mais qu’à cela ne tienne, passons par la fenêtre ».

Même en cas de dialogue plus équilibré, il restera crucial d’engager des pourparlers plus approfondis en présence d’un médiateur entre le gouvernement et les chefs de file anglophones.

Quant aux partenaires étrangers du Cameroun, le gouvernement français, l’UE, l’UA et l’ONU ont également salué ce dialogue, tout en demandant qu’il soit plus inclusif. En privé, de nombreux diplomates à Yaoundé s’inquiètent du peu de temps imparti aux préparatifs et à la tenue du dialogue, étant donnée la complexité des enjeux, et de l’absence de facilitateurs neutres et chevronnés ; ils émettent aussi des réserves sur l’ordre du jour et la multitude de participants sans lien direct avec la crise anglophone.

Dans le peu de temps qu’il reste avant la tenue du dialogue, le gouvernement pourrait augmenter ses chances de contribuer à une sortie de crise en prenant les mesures suivantes :

  • Accorder un temps de parole adéquat aux anglophones, y compris aux fédéralistes, pour qu’ils puissent présenter leurs propositions. Cela impliquerait de réduire le temps de parole prévu pour la multitude de francophones que le Premier ministre a consultés au cours de la phase préparatoire ;
  • Rechercher un facilitateur bénéficiant de la confiance de tous les acteurs, à la différence du Premier ministre  Ngute, dont le gouvernement est partie au conflit.
  • Accepter les offres de bons offices de l’UA et de l’ONU pour aider à surmonter les clivages entre les fédéralistes anglophones et le gouvernement, avant ou pendant le dialogue.

Même en cas de dialogue plus équilibré, il restera crucial d’engager des pourparlers plus approfondis en présence d’un médiateur entre le gouvernement et les chefs de file anglophones. Il est primordial d’ouvrir des canaux de communication avec les séparatistes, ce qui nécessitera probablement de nombreuses navettes diplomatiques et des mesures visant à renforcer la confiance des deux côtés. Le gouvernement pourrait libérer certains détenus et rebelles signalant, sans doute discrètement dans un premier temps, qu’ils sont disposés à accepter un cessez-le-feu et à assouplir leur position sur l’indépendance. Le gouvernement devrait également envisager d’ouvrir des pourparlers directs avec les fédéralistes qui peuvent peut-être contribuer à convaincre les séparatistes d’abandonner la lutte armée. Cela impliquerait, en premier lieu, d’autoriser la réunion de la Conférence générale anglophone, qui réunirait une grande diversité d’anglophones. Les acteurs internationaux qui entretiennent des relations étroites avec le Cameroun et disposent ainsi d’une certaine influence sur son gouvernement devraient garder un œil sur le pays et encourager le président Biya à entamer ce type de pourparlers. En attendant, le dialogue de fin septembre permet au moins de garder l’option du dialogue sur la table et ainsi de juguler la guerre civile.

icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
Cameroon: The Dangers of a Fracturing Regime
Cameroon: The Dangers of a Fracturing Regime
Table of Contents
  1. Executive Summary
Cameroon’s Anglophone Dialogue: A Work in Progress
Cameroon’s Anglophone Dialogue: A Work in Progress
Report 161 / Africa

Cameroon: The Dangers of a Fracturing Regime

Cameroon, until now a point of stability in the region, faces potential instability in the run-up to the presidential elections scheduled for late 2011.

  • Share
  • Save
  • Print
  • Download PDF Full Report

Executive Summary

After 28 years of the Biya presidency, Cameroon faces potential instability in the run up to the presidential elections scheduled for late 2011. Constitutional and legal uncertainty; rivalries between the regime’s leading figures; the government’s attempts to control the electoral process; the rupture of the political contract between leaders and the population; widespread poverty and frustration; extensive corruption; and the frustration of a large part of the army all point to the possibility of a major crisis. To escape this Biya and his government must restore the independence of the body responsible for elections; institutionalise an impartial fight against corruption and ensure the military’s political neutrality. They must also urgently establish the institutions envisaged by the 1996 constitution, so that a power vacuum and the potential for violence can be avoided in the event of a transition, including an unexpected one such as the death of the 77-year-old president in office. Cameroon’s most influential partners, particularly France and the U.S., should actively support such measures to avoid unrest.

The ruling party is increasingly divided. Although it dominates political life, it knows that it lacks legitimacy, and it is weakened by intense internal rivalries over control of resources and positioning for the post-Biya period. Having done away with the constitutional limitation on the number of presidential terms, Biya, who is at the same time feared and opposed in his own party, is deliberately maintaining uncertainty over whether he will stand again. Many members of his party harbour their own presidential ambitions.

The security forces, a pillar of support for the regime, are also divided.  A small number of elite units have good equipment and training, while the rest, although they do receive their correct salaries on a regular basis, lack resources and are poorly prepared. The military as a whole suffers from tensions between generations, not least because the refusal of older generals to retire blocks promotions for more junior officers. Some members of the security forces are also widely believed to be involved in criminal activities.

With the country afflicted by high levels of corruption, a clientelist political system and a heavy security presence in all areas of life, many citizens feel excluded from the system. Fully half the population is younger than twenty, so the high level of youth unemployment and under-employment is a considerable source of social tension. Given such fissures, were Biya to die in office a serious crisis could unfold, aggravated by the unclear constitutional provisions for a transition. Such an event may not occur for some time, but, with democracy at an impasse, the immediate post-Biya period is already a significant factor in intra-regime politics, and acknowledged as a major potential cause of instability. In any event, the 2011 elections could easily lead to conflict if they are poorly organised or lack transparency. The organising body has no legitimacy and has already made a bad start in the preparations. If there is no option for democratic political change, there is a good chance ordinary citizens, members of the political class and/or military elements will eventually choose violence as a way out of the current impasse.

The long Biya era, his manipulation of ethnic identities and the corruption and criminality among elites have generated numerous frustrations. The serious unrest of 2008, when economic grievances, political protest and elite manipulation resulted in dozens of deaths, gives an indication of the risks of violent conflict. A chaotic situation could lead to a military takeover and would certainly have detrimental effects on the region, in which Cameroon has up to now been a point of stability.

In the medium term, Cameroon faces numerous challenges to improve management of public resources, an issue which lies at the heart of its problems. But in the shorter term, urgent actions need to be taken to avoid a crisis around the 2011 elections.

Dakar/Brussels, 24 June 2010

Supporters of the ruling CPDM, Cameroon Pepole's Democratic Movement of incumbent Cameroonian President Paul Biya walk under the watch of a gendarme in the Omar Bongo Square in the majority English-speaking South West province in Buea, on October 3, 2018. AFP/Marco Longari
Statement / Africa

Cameroon’s Anglophone Dialogue: A Work in Progress

President Paul Biya has proposed a national dialogue aimed at resolving the Cameroonian government’s conflict with Anglophone separatists. But the mooted dialogue will include neither separatists nor, it appears, other important English-speaking constituencies. Biya should allow greater Anglophone participation and neutral facilitation for the dialogue.

  • Share
  • Save
  • Print
  • Download PDF Full Report

On 10 September, President Paul Biya proposed a national dialogue aimed at addressing the two-year conflict between his government and Anglophone separatists that has laid waste to Cameroon’s North West and South West regions. His proposal appears to be in part a response to domestic anger at his security forces’ failure to defeat the separatists and in part a response to mounting international concern over the crisis. The dialogue could be an opportunity for his government and Anglophone leaders to table potential solutions. As proposed, however, it will neither include separatist leaders nor leave much room for Anglophones who support federalism within Cameroon’s borders. It thus risks further frustrating Anglophones, widening the gulf between the two sides and empowering hardliners. To improve the dialogue’s prospects, the government should make greater space for Anglophones, particularly federalists who are willing to attend. It should also seek a neutral facilitator and accept the African Union (AU)’s and the UN’s offers to help. A successful dialogue should set the stage for further talks that will still be required between the government and Anglophones of all persuasions, including separatists.

President Biya’s announcement comes amid ongoing violence in Anglophone areas. The crisis started in late 2016 as a protest against the state’s discrimination against Anglophones in education and law. It quickly descended into armed conflict, as security forces repressed protesters and some Anglophone separatists took up arms against the state.

Since 2017, the rebels have battled security forces, with both sides reportedly committing abuses against the population, including burning villages, closing down schools and killing civilians. Violence has claimed around 3,000 lives, displaced half a million people within Cameroon, compelled another 40,000 to flee to Nigeria, deprived 700,000 children of schooling in their home areas and left one in three people in the Anglophone regions in need of humanitarian aid. On 20 August, the government sentenced ten prominent separatist leaders to life in prison; separatists responded by upping their attacks. In early September, they imposed a “lockdown” (general strike), which has again blocked the start of the new school year – nearly all schools in the area have been shuttered for most of the last three years as separatists have enforced, sometimes violently, a school boycott.

For Cameroon, resolving the crisis is critical [as] the country’s economy is nose-diving.

For Cameroon, resolving the crisis is critical. The country’s economy is nose-diving. The Cameroon Development Corporation and PAMOL, two of the country’s biggest agricultural companies, both owned by the state, have lost up to 80 per cent of their capacity. In September 2018, companies working in the Anglophone regions reported losses estimated at a half-billion dollars since the crisis began. The security forces are overstretched, fighting not only Anglophone separatists in the west but the Islamist militant group Boko Haram in the north. Furthermore, a protracted political crisis stemming from the imprisonment of opposition leader Maurice Kamto, who continues to claim victory in the 2018 presidential election, has increased communal antagonisms countrywide.

President Biya’s proposed dialogue is scheduled for 30 September to 4 October at the Palais des Congrès in the capital Yaoundé. He has entrusted its organisation to Prime Minister Joseph Dion Ngute, an Anglophone. Ngute has started consultations with a wide range of Cameroonians. Most, however, are not Anglophone and play little role in the country’s English-speaking regions.

Anglophone separatists, who hold sway in large areas of those regions, will not attend. Neither they nor the government has shown much appetite for reconciliation. Embryonic informal contacts between the two sides took place this year, but an internationally-led mediation attempt recently slowed down in the face of intransigence by both sides. On 22 September, the main separatist leaders abroad restated their willingness to talk with the government, but rejected the planned dialogue as “purely internal”. They gave no sign of easing their conditions for talks: international mediation, a location outside the country and an agenda focused on the terms of separation. The government has offered no concession that could persuade them to reconsider. It has not called for a ceasefire; issued invitations and safe passage to separatists for dialogue; or made any move to release Anglophone prisoners (though Biya has not dismissed the possibility of pardons for separatist leaders at a later stage).

Even more conciliatory Anglophones fear being left out. These include federalists, whose calls for a return to the constitutional arrangements of 1961 to 1972, which united one Francophone state and one Anglophone state in a federal system, are popular among Anglophones. Some federalist leaders are deeply sceptical of President Biya’s intentions but others welcome the dialogue in principle. These include the influential Catholic leader Cardinal Christian Tumi, head of the Anglophone General Conference (AGC), which was created in July 2018 and involves Catholic, Protestant and Muslim Anglophone leaders. The AGC has participated in Prime Minister Ngute’s consultations and will attend the dialogue.

By initiating the dialogue, President Biya has publicly recognised for the first time that security measures alone cannot resolve the crisis.

But the prime minister’s preliminary agenda leaves little room for the AGC leaders to present their views. Moreover, earlier this year, the government prevented the AGC from holding its own meeting aimed at unifying an Anglophone negotiating position. Given that the prime minister’s consultations have involved a huge array of national voices, many of whom have little connection to the Anglophone crisis, the forthcoming dialogue risks drowning out potential proposals from Anglophones with a plethora of other national concerns. If that happens, the dialogue is unlikely to address wider Anglophone grievances or consider solutions such as federalism, which many Anglophones back. Allowing federalists insufficient time in the agenda could prove an own goal for the government. Disempowered, they will be unable to make the case to separatists to moderate their position. Their exclusion could also hamper discussions that could help federalists find common ground with advocates of a milder – and among Anglophones much less popular – form of decentralisation, entailing granting greater autonomy to yet-to-be-elected regional councils over their staff, budgets and the local education sector in particular.

The president’s intent is unclear. He is likely feeling pressure both from citizens frustrated at his failure to resolve the crisis and from international actors (especially the U.S and the EU), particularly in the run-up to the UN General Assembly, which his foreign minister is attending. He may also be treading a fine line between two camps within the government and ruling party. Some senior officials have publicly described the dialogue as part of a longer process – a helpful recognition that the government will have to take further steps to resolve the crisis. More hawkish officials reportedly want to use the dialogue to stymie any move toward genuine peace talks and amplify calls for the government’s armed response to continue. By initiating the dialogue, President Biya has publicly recognised for the first time that security measures alone cannot resolve the crisis. But his 10 September speech cited the “supposed marginalisation” of Anglophones, with his refusal to explicitly recognise their grievances souring his offer of an olive branch. A worst-case scenario would see hardliners using the dialogue to push through conclusions at odds with Anglophone opinion, and then using these conclusions to further avoid peace talks.

Among Francophone opposition leaders some welcome the dialogue – despite its flaws – as a chance to end a crisis that risks sucking the country into wider civil war. They argue that the tide of violence means it is vital to seize any chance, however slim, to move toward a negotiated settlement. “The president may have opened a window not a door”, one told Crisis Group in Yaoundé, “but we should still climb through”.

Even a dialogue with more balanced participation will not obviate the need for more painstaking, mediated talks between the government and Anglophone leaders.

As for Cameroon’s foreign partners, the French government, the EU, the AU and the UN have also welcomed the dialogue, but called for it to be more inclusive. In private, many diplomats in Yaoundé express concern over the short time for preparing and holding it, given the complexities of the issues involved; the absence of experienced and neutral facilitation; and concerns about the agenda and the proliferation of participants not central to the Anglophone crisis.

In the short time before the dialogue, the government could improve its chances of helping resolve the crisis by:

  • Offering adequate time in the agenda for Anglophones, including federalists, to put forward their proposals. This would entail curbing time given to the multitude of Francophones whom the prime minister has consulted in the preparatory phase.
  • Seeking a facilitator who enjoys greater confidence from all parties than Prime Minister Ngute, whose government is a party to the conflict.
  • Accepting offers from the AU and UN to provide good offices and help bridge divides between Anglophone federalists and government, before or during the dialogue.

Even a dialogue with more balanced participation will not obviate the need for more painstaking, mediated talks between the government and Anglophone leaders. Establishing lines of communication with separatists is a priority, likely initially requiring shuttle diplomacy and confidence-building measures on both sides, with the government releasing some detainees and rebels signalling, which they would likely initially do discreetly, that they may be willing to accept a ceasefire and soften their line on independence. The government also should consider opening direct negotiations with federalists who can perhaps help draw separatists away from their armed struggle. This would require, as a first step, that it allow the Anglophone General Conference’s mooted meeting, which would bring together a wide range of Anglophones, to take place. International actors whose close relations with Cameroon give them some influence with its government should keep the country on their radar and press President Biya toward such talks. In the interim, the planned September forum at least offers the possibility of keeping dialogue on the table and thereby checking a spiralling civil war.