icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
السودان: إصلاحات رئيسة أو مزيد من الحرب
السودان: إصلاحات رئيسة أو مزيد من الحرب
Sudan's U.S. Terror Delisting: Too Little, Too Late?
Sudan's U.S. Terror Delisting: Too Little, Too Late?
Report 194 / Africa

السودان: إصلاحات رئيسة أو مزيد من الحرب

الملخص التنفيذي

يبدو أنَّ "مشكلة السودان" لم تذهب مع انفصال الجنوب إذ لا تزال لعنة النزاع المزمن – المدفوع بواسطة تركز السلطة والموارد في المركز – تُطارِد البلاد. يَقْبعُ الحل في تشكيل حكومة أكثر شمولاً، تُخاطب، على الأقل، بعض مظالم الأطراف. بيد أنَّ الوعود بإصلاح الحُكم لم يتم الوفاء بها. العقبة الرئيسة - وإن لم تكن الوحيدة - هي: الرئيس البشير، الذي تمادى في تركيز السلطة في دائرة صغيرة من المسؤولين الموثوق فيهم، وهو غير راغب في التنحي. وإذ يأمل كثيرون في تغيير النظام عن طريق انقلاب، فإنهم لم يأخذوا بعين الاعتبار المخاطر المترتبة على ذلك. ينبغي، إذن، أن يكون الهدف هو انتقال متحكَّمٌ فيه نحو حكومة تضم، ولكن لا يُهيمِن عليها حزبه، المؤتمر الوطني. قد يرغبُ البشير في سلك هذى الطريق إذا ما خلص إلى أنَّ احتمال تزايد الاضطرابات، أو حتى وقوع انقلاب، بات وشيكاً، ولكن فقط إذا ما قُدِمت الحوافز المناسبة إليه. على المجتمع الدولي أن يُساهم في هذا شريطة أن يشرع البشير - أولاً وبنحوٍ راسخ - في تشكيل حكومة انتقالية شاملة وجديرة بالثقة، واطلاق حوار وطني هادف حول دستور جديد وخارطة طريق لتغيُّرٍ دائم في كيفية حكم السودان.

يُعاني النظام في الخرطوم من أزمة، وهو مواجهٌ بتحدياتٍ متعددة، تُهدِّدُ، مجتمعةً، وبشكل كبير، وجوده واستقرار السودان. فحال الاقتصاد في تدهورٍ مستمر، وأي صفقة نفطية مع جنوب السودان لن تؤدي إلا إلى إبطاء ذلك التدهور، لكنها لن توقفه. منسوبو حزب المؤتمر الوطني غير راضين عن القيادة، وسياساتها، والفساد المستشري. الفصائل المتصارعة داخل الحزب الحاكم والحركة الإسلامية تتسابق من أجل تقديم بديلٍ مقبول لحكومة المؤتمر الوطني. وفي الوقت عينه، اضحت قوى المعارضة السياسية أعلَى صوتاً بينما انهكت الحرب المتنامية مع الجبهة الثورية السودانية قوى الجيش واستنزفت خزينة الدولة.

وإذ يأمل كثيرون في وقوع انقلاب، أو اندلاع انتفاضة شعبية، لإبعاد البشير وحزب المؤتمر الوطني عن الحكم، فإنَّ هناك مخاطر كبيرة لجهة أن تفضي كلا الحالتين إلى اندلاع مزيدٍ من العنف. فمنذ وصوله إلى السلطة، في العام 1989، عمل البشير، عن عمد، على تجزئة الأجهزة الأمنية وكثيراً ما قام بتبديل القادة لجعل استيلاء الجيش على السلطة أكثر صعوبة. فمالم يكن القادةُ متحدين، فإنَّ من السهل انقسام الجيش إلى فصائل متنافسة. ثمة حشدٌ آخرٌ من القوات الأمنية والمليشيات المسلحة الموالية لمختلف قيادات حزب المؤتمر الوطني. تنضافُ إلى هذا المزيج القابل للاشتعال العديد من القبائل المسلحة خارج الخرطوم والتي تسعى للاستفادة من حدوث اضطراب في العاصمة لخلق حقائق على الأرض يصعب على أي نظام جديد تغييرها.

لعلَّ البشير وحزب المؤتمر الوطني يدركون أنَّ مخاطر المرحلة الراهنة أكبر من المشكلات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية التي أفلحوا في تخطيها سابقاً؛ إذ تُملي عليهم غرائزهم إبرام صفقة مع المعارضة المتشرذمة (التنازل عن بعض من السلطة والثروة لواحد أو اثنين من الأحزاب السياسية، و/أو إحدى المجموعات المسلحة الرئيسة)، والاستفادة من التسوية الجزئية مع جنوب السودان كيما يضمنون تدفق النفط مرة أخرى. بيد أنَّ من شأن ذلك أن يقود إلى كسب مزيدٍ من الوقت، لكنَّه لن يؤدي إلى حل أسباب النزاع المزمن أو وقف الحرب الأهلية المتسعة.

على المجتمع الدولي أن يعي دروس مبادرات التسوية السابقة الفاشلة: يحتاج السودان إلى اتفاقية سلامٍ شامل حقاً، وليس تسوية جزئية تخدم تكتيكات "فرِّق تسد" التي تتبعها الحكومة، وتُطيل من أمد الوضع القائم غير المقبول. وفي الوقت عينه، يحتاج حزب المؤتمر الوطني لأن يكون جزءً من أي عملية انتقالية. ذلك أنَّ ثمن إبعاده تماماً سيكون مُكلفا. فنخبة الحزب أقوى من أن يتم تجاهلها، والمعارضة منقسمة على نفسها وتفتقد الخبرة اللازمة كيما تَحكُم منفردة. وهكذا، يكون السبيل الوحيد للخروج من مصيدة النزاع الدائم هو ايجاد حلٍ شامل واصلاح سياسي حقيقي، بما في ذلك مصالحة وطنية مقبولة لجميع الأطراف، بما فيها حزب المؤتمر الوطني.

على الرئيس ورفاقه أن يدركوا أنَّ الأزمة الراهنة تتطلَّب تعديلات أكثر جذرية من تلك التي كانوا يستخدمونها من أجل البقاء سابقا. إن فعلوا ذلك، يُمكن للمجتمع الدولي، من خلال تقديم الحوافز، أن يساعدهم على تحقيق تلك التعديلات تباعاً وبمسؤولية. ينبغي ربط ذلك، بعناية، بما يفي به عمر البشير وحزب المؤتمر الوطني من استحقاقات محددة غير قابلة للنقض، كتلك التي اوصت بها مجموعة الأزمات الدولية، بواكير العام 2009، ومواصلة العملية الانتقالية بشكلٍ يُمْكِنُ التحقُّقُ منه. قد يكون مثل هذا التعاون غير مستساغ لكثيرين ممَّن يُحمِّلون البشير مسؤولية جرائمٍ وحشية، لكنَّه سيكون ضرورياً للحيلولة دون احتدام النزاع والأزمات الإنسانية في السودان وجنوب السودان على السواء. إنَّ البشير مُهِمٌّ جداً لفترة انتقالية مُتحكَّمٌ فيها تَضُم كلاً من قيادات المؤتمر الوطني والمعارضة – المدنية والمسلحة – والتي يُمكنها وضع السودان على طريقٍ أكثر شمولاً واستدامة. عدا ذلك، سيكون البديل هو استمرار الوضع الراهن، مع تَشَبُّثِ المؤتمر الوطني بالسلطة مهما كانت الكُلفة الإنسانية، في الوقت الذي تُتابع فيه المعارضة استراتيجية عسكريةً تُنذر بمزيدٍ من التشظي الوطني.

 يُدرِكُ جلُّ السودانيين ما هو ضروري لإنهاء عقود من النزاع. فقد كان واضحاً – حتى قبل الاستقلال في العام 1956 – أنَّه ينبغي تقاسم السلطة والموارد مع المناطق المُهمَّشة على نحو أكثر عدلا. تاريخياً، كان التركيز، في الغالب، على جنوب السودان، لكنَّ مناطق أخرى عانت كذلك. ففي أوقاتٍ مختلفة، هبَّت جُلُّ المناطق الطرفية في ثوراتٍ مسلَّحة كيما تطالب بتمثيل أكبر ومزيد من التنمية. لن تتغير هذه الديناميكية ما لم تكن هناك اصلاحات هيكلية أساسية لكيفية حكم البلاد، وأن تعمل قواها السياسية كافة – المؤتمر الوطني، والأحزاب التقليدية، والجبهة الثورية السودانية، ومجموعات الشباب – معاً لتشكيل حكومة أكثر شمولاً وتمثيلاً؛ تقبل وتحترم التنوع الهائل للشعب السوداني.

نيروبي/بروكسل، 29 نوفمبر 2012

Podcast / Africa

Sudan's U.S. Terror Delisting: Too Little, Too Late?

Sudan's transition is in deep trouble, and Crisis Group’s Sudan expert Jonas Horner explains why on this week’s episode of The Horn. President Trump’s recent promise to remove Sudan from the U.S. list of state sponsors of terrorism may not be enough to mitigate the spiralling economic crisis.

Almost eighteen months after a popular revolution ousted President Omar al-Bashir, Sudan’s transition remains on shaky ground. While the Juba peace agreement signed in August and President Trump’s recent announcement that Sudan will be removed from the U.S. State Sponsors of Terrorism (SST) list are welcome developments, the economic crisis and societal frustrations persist in the absence of substantial support from the international community. 

On his return from Khartoum, Crisis Group’s Senior Analyst for Sudan, Jonas Horner, joins Alan to explain how this lack of buy-in endangers these initial signs of progress, why the way political alignments are currently shifting in the capital is cause for concern, what post-Bashir Sudan looks like on the ground and where it may be headed.

For more information, explore Crisis Group's Sudan page.

Click here to listen on Apple Podcasts or Spotify.

Contributors

Senior Analyst, South Sudan
alanboswell
Deputy Project Director, Horn of Africa & Senior Analyst, Sudan

icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
Sudan's U.S. Terror Delisting: Too Little, Too Late?
Sudan's U.S. Terror Delisting: Too Little, Too Late?
Report 194 / Africa

Sudan: Major Reform or More War

Last week’s arrests of senior security figures for allegedly plotting a coup showed how close Sudan is to even greater violence and disintegration. Only managed but fundamental governance reform can help it escape chronic conflict and humanitarian misery.

Executive Summary

The “Sudan Problem” has not gone away with the South’s secession. Chronic conflict, driven by concentration of power and resources in the centre, continues to plague the country. The solution is a more inclusive government that addresses at least some of the peripheries’ grievances, but pledges to transform governance remain unfulfilled. A key hurdle – though not the only one – is President Bashir, who has further concentrated authority in a small circle of trusted officials and is unwilling to step aside. Many hope for regime change via coup but have not considered the dangers. The goal should be managed transition to a government that includes, but is not dominated by his National Congress Party (NCP). He might be willing to go along if he concludes greater disorder or even a coup is growing more likely, but only if the right incentives are in place. The international community should contribute to these provided a credible and inclusive transitional government, a meaningful national dialogue on a new constitution and a roadmap for permanent change in how Sudan is governed are first put firmly in train.

The regime in Khartoum is in crisis, faced with multiple challenges that, combined, profoundly threaten its existence and Sudan’s stability. The economy is in a freefall that any oil deal with South Sudan will only slow, not arrest. NCP members are deeply unhappy with the leadership, its policies and massive corruption. Feuding factions within the ruling party and the Islamic movement are jockeying to present an acceptable alternative to the NCP government. At the same time, political opposition forces are growing more assertive, and the war with the Sudan Revolutionary Front (SRF) is slowly expanding, bleeding the military dry and draining the treasury.

Many hope a coup, or popular uprising, could force Bashir and the NCP regime out, but there is a great risk that either event could trigger more violence. Since he came to power in a military coup in 1989, he has deliberately fragmented the security services and frequently rotated commanders to make an army takeover more difficult. Unless commanders are united, the army could easily split into competing factions. There are also a host of other security services and armed militias loyal to different NCP leaders. Added to this combustible mix are numerous armed tribes outside of Khartoum that would seek to take advantage of turmoil in the capital to create facts on the ground difficult for a new regime to reverse.

Bashir and the NCP likely recognise that the dangers of the present phase are greater than the social and economic troubles they have survived in the past. Their instincts are to cut a deal with the fractured opposition (ceding some power and resources to one or two of the political parties and/or a major armed group) and take advantage of the partial settlement with South Sudan to get the oil flowing again. But that can only buy more time, not resolve the causes of chronic conflict or stop the spreading civil war.

The international community should learn the lessons of past failed settlement initiatives: Sudan needs a truly comprehensive peace agreement, not a partial settlement that serves the government’s divide-and-rule tactics and perpetuates the unacceptable status quo. At the same time, the NCP needs to be part of any transition. Leaving it out in the cold would be costly. Its elites are too powerful to ignore, and the opposition is too divided and inexperienced to rule alone. A comprehensive solution and genuine political reform including national reconciliation acceptable to all, with the NCP on board, is the only way out of the trap of endless conflict.

The president and his colleagues will have to reach their own conclusion that the present crisis requires more radical adjustments than those they used for survival previously. If they do, however, the international community, by providing incentives, can help them to act on that conclusion consequentially and responsibly. These should be carefully tied to Bashir and the NCP meeting specific, irreversible benchmarks, such as those Crisis Group set out as early as 2009, and verifiably continuing the transition process. Such cooperation might be unpalatable to many who hold Bashir responsible for atrocity crimes, but it would be necessary to prevent further conflict and continued humanitarian crises in Sudan as well as South Sudan. He is crucial to a managed transition that incorporates both the NCP and opposition leaders – civil and armed – and that could put Sudan on a more inclusive, sustainable path. The alternative would be continuation of the status quo, with the NCP desperately clinging to power at whatever humanitarian cost, and the opposition pursuing a military strategy that risks more national fragmentation.

Most Sudanese know what is necessary to end decades of conflict. Even before independence in 1956, it was clear that power and resources should be shared more equitably with marginalised regions. The historical focus was often on South Sudan, but other areas have suffered as well. At different times, most peripheral regions have risen in armed revolt to demand greater representation and more development. This dynamic will not change unless there is fundamental structural reform of how the country is governed, and all its political forces – the NCP, the traditional parties, the SRF and youth groups – work together to create a more inclusive and representative government that accepts and respects the tremendous diversity of the Sudanese peoples.

Nairobi/Brussels, 29 November 2012

Podcast / Africa

Sudan's U.S. Terror Delisting: Too Little, Too Late?

Sudan's transition is in deep trouble, and Crisis Group’s Sudan expert Jonas Horner explains why on this week’s episode of The Horn. President Trump’s recent promise to remove Sudan from the U.S. list of state sponsors of terrorism may not be enough to mitigate the spiralling economic crisis.

Almost eighteen months after a popular revolution ousted President Omar al-Bashir, Sudan’s transition remains on shaky ground. While the Juba peace agreement signed in August and President Trump’s recent announcement that Sudan will be removed from the U.S. State Sponsors of Terrorism (SST) list are welcome developments, the economic crisis and societal frustrations persist in the absence of substantial support from the international community. 

On his return from Khartoum, Crisis Group’s Senior Analyst for Sudan, Jonas Horner, joins Alan to explain how this lack of buy-in endangers these initial signs of progress, why the way political alignments are currently shifting in the capital is cause for concern, what post-Bashir Sudan looks like on the ground and where it may be headed.

For more information, explore Crisis Group's Sudan page.

Click here to listen on Apple Podcasts or Spotify.

Contributors

Senior Analyst, South Sudan
alanboswell
Deputy Project Director, Horn of Africa & Senior Analyst, Sudan