icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
Burkina Faso : neuf mois pour achever la transition
Burkina Faso : neuf mois pour achever la transition
Lieutenant Colonel Isaac Zida presents the Burkinabe flag to interim civilian President Michel Kafando in Ouagadougou, on 21 November 2014. AFP/Sia Kambou
Report 222 / Africa

Burkina Faso : neuf mois pour achever la transition

Three months after Blaise Compaoré’s departure, Burkina Faso’s transition is moving forward in an uncertain context. The provisional government, with the help of its international partners, should initiate urgent reforms and ensure the October 2015 elections allow for peaceful, democratic change.

Synthèse

C’est en réalité sans surprise que Blaise Compaoré a démissionné le 31 octobre 2014, au lendemain d’une journée insurrectionnelle historique. Vieillissant et déconnecté de la réalité, son régime a fait place à une transition incertaine, dirigée par un pouvoir bicéphale, composé de militaires et de civils, qui s’appuie sur des institutions provisoires et fragiles. Le gouvernement actuel dispose de neuf mois pour organiser des élections générales prévues pour le 11 octobre 2015. Les partenaires internationaux du Burkina Faso doivent l’aider à atteindre cet objectif tout en maintenant le dialogue avec les militaires afin qu’ils quittent le pouvoir à la fin de la transition. Ils doivent aussi tirer les leçons du soutien qu’ils ont apporté au régime Compaoré, fermant les yeux sur sa mauvaise gouvernance en échange de la préservation de leurs intérêts stratégiques.

Les quatre acteurs qui animent la transition – l’armée, l’ancienne opposition politique, la société civile et la rue – ont pour le moment réussi à s’entendre pour stabiliser de manière pacifique et relativement inclusive le pays. C’est le lieutenant-colonel Yacouba Isaac Zida, un membre de l’ancienne garde présidentielle du président Com­paoré, qui détient aujourd’hui la plus grande part du pouvoir. Si les militaires ont montré d’inquiétants signes d’autoritarisme, le Burkina n’est pas pour autant sous la coupe d’une junte. Le pouvoir de l’armée est encadré par une charte qui lui impose de partager l’exécutif et le législatif avec des civils, dont le président Michel Kafando, par une société civile et une rue qui restent mobilisées, et par une communauté internationale vigilante qui fournit une aide financière indispensable à la survie du régime actuel.

Trois points de tension menacent toutefois la stabilisation du Burkina : l’antago­nisme entre aspiration à un changement radical de gouvernance et volonté réaliste ou réformiste de préserver la stabilité ; l’écart entre le temps court de la transition et l’ampleur de la tâche à accomplir ; et la difficulté de préparer des élections et des réformes dans un contexte de finances publiques dégradées. Enfin, la dissolution de l’an­cienne garde présidentielle, le Régiment de sécurité présidentielle (RSP), fait peser, si elle est mal conduite, un sérieux risque de dérapage de la transition. Sans concertation, elle pourrait conduire les éléments de cette unité d’élite, la mieux armée du pays, à réagir violement.

Les fortes attentes de la population, après 27 ans d’un régime semi-autoritaire, et le risque que celles-ci soient déçues, font également peser un risque sur la transition. La population attend que justice soit faite sur l’assassinat en 1998 du journaliste Norbert Zongo, qui enquêtait sur le meurtre non élucidé de David Ouédraogo, le chauffeur du frère cadet de Blaise Compaoré. Cette affaire est emblématique des dérives de l’ère Compaoré et sa résolution est une revendication clé de la société civile. L’amé­lioration du niveau de vie, notamment l’accès à l’emploi et à la santé, est également une revendication importante de la population dans un des pays les plus pauvres du monde.

Le gouvernement ne pourra cependant pas agir sur tous les fronts à la fois. Il semble pour l’instant tenté de satisfaire les exigences de la « rue » en multipliant les promesses. Mais plus celles-ci sont significatives, plus il sera difficile pour le gouvernement de tout entreprendre et de tout régler. Le départ de Blaise Compaoré ne signifie donc pas que le Burkina Faso est tiré d’affaire. Pour garantir la stabilité du pays jusqu’à la fin de la transition, plusieurs mesures doivent être prises.

Soldiers stand on the beach on March 13, 2016 in Grand Bassam, during a commemoration ceremony for the first anniversary of the 2016 Grand Bassam beach terrorist attack, resulting in the death of 19 people. AFP/Issouf Sanogo
Briefing 149 / Africa

L’Afrique de l’Ouest face au risque de contagion jihadiste

Face à la percée jihadiste au Burkina Faso, porte ouverte sur les pays du Golfe de Guinée, ceux-ci craignent des attaques sur leurs territoires. Les Etats de la région devraient améliorer le partage du renseignement, renforcer les contrôles aux frontières et renouer un lien de confiance avec la population.

Arrow Left Arrow Right Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Twitter Video Camera Youtube
Burkina Faso: Nine Months to Complete the Transition
Burkina Faso: Nine Months to Complete the Transition
Table of Contents
  1. Executive Summary
Burkina Faso Goes to the Polls
Burkina Faso Goes to the Polls
Lieutenant Colonel Isaac Zida presents the Burkinabe flag to interim civilian President Michel Kafando in Ouagadougou, on 21 November 2014. AFP/Sia Kambou
Report 222 / Africa

Burkina Faso: Nine Months to Complete the Transition

Three months after Blaise Compaoré’s departure, Burkina Faso’s transition is moving forward in an uncertain context. The provisional government, with the help of its international partners, should initiate urgent reforms and ensure the October 2015 elections allow for peaceful, democratic change.

Executive Summary

Blaise Compaoré’s resignation on 31 October 2014, the day after a historic insurrection, came as no surprise. Growing old and out of touch with reality, his regime has given way to an uncertain transition, led by a military-civilian government that must work with provisional, weak institutions. The government has nine months to organise presidential and legislative elections scheduled for 11 October 2015. International partners must help Burkina Faso achieve this goal, while maintaining a dialogue with the army to ensure it does not remain in power at the end of the transition. They also must not repeat the mistake of turning a blind eye to poor governance and supporting the Compaoré regime to safeguard their own strategic interests.

Burkina’s four key actors – the army, the former political opposition, civil society and citizens – have agreed on the necessity of a peaceful and inclusive transition to stabilise the country. Lieutenant-Colonel Yacouba Isaac Zida, a member of Compaoré’s former presidential guard, is the most powerful figure. Although the military has shown worrying signs of authoritarianism, Burkina is not governed by a junta. The army’s power is limited by a charter that requires it to share executive power with civilians, including President Michel Kafando. The military must also take into account a mobilised civil society and population as well as a vigilant international community that is providing the financial aid necessary for the survival of the current government.

However, three contradictions threaten the future stability of Burkina Faso: the tension between aspirations for a radical change of governance and the realistic or reformist desire for stability; the contrast between the short time available to complete the transition and the enormity of the task at hand; and the difficulty of organising elections and implementing reforms at a time when the government lacks funds. Finally, poor management of the dissolution of the former presidential guard, the Presidential Security Regiment (RSP), could pose a serious threat to the transition. Without consultation on this issue, elements from this elite unit, the best armed in the country, could react with violence.

After 27 years under a semi-authoritarian regime, popular expectations for change are high. Another risk that could derail the transition is increasing discontent if these expectations are not met. Justice should be served in the 1998 murder of Norbert Zongo, a journalist who was investigating the unresolved murder of David Ouédraogo, the driver of Blaise Compaoré’s brother. This case symbolises the abuses of the Compaoré regime and its resolution has been a longstanding demand of civil society. The improvement of living conditions is also a key demand of the people in one of the poorest countries in the world.

The government will not be able to simultaneously act on all fronts. As of late, it has pandered to popular demands by promising future reforms, but the more significant the promises, the harder it will be for the government to abide by them. Blaise Compaoré’s departure does not mean that Burkina Faso is out of the woods. Several measures are needed to guarantee the country’s stability during the transition.

Video / Africa

Burkina Faso Goes to the Polls

Crisis Group's West Africa Analyst Cynthia Ohayon explains the challenges of the upcoming elections in Burkina Faso and measures how to mitigate the country's tensions after the failed coup in September 2015.

Burkina Faso Goes to the Polls

In this video, Crisis Group's Cynthia Ohayon explains the challenges of the upcoming elections in Burkina Faso and measures how to mitigate the country's tensions after the failed coup in September 2015. CRISIS GROUP