Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Youtube
Au-delà des compromis : les perspectives de réforme en Guinée-Bissau
Au-delà des compromis : les perspectives de réforme en Guinée-Bissau
Guinea-Bissau: Transition after the Coup
Guinea-Bissau: Transition after the Coup
Report 183 / Africa

Au-delà des compromis : les perspectives de réforme en Guinée-Bissau

La résistance victorieuse des autorités de Guinée-Bissau à la tentative de coup d’Etat du 26 décembre 2011 témoigne de la dynamique de stabilisation à l’œuvre depuis les troubles militaires du 1er avril 2010, mais les véritables échéances politiques, militaires et judiciaires sont à venir alors que le pays se prépare pour les élections présidentielles  en mars et pour les législatives d’ici la fin de l’année.

  • Share
  • Save
  • Print
  • Download PDF Full Report

Synthèse

La résistance victorieuse des autorités bissau-guinéennes à la tentative de coup d’Etat du 26 décembre 2011 est encourageante. Si cet épisode témoigne de la dynamique de stabilisation qu’a connue le pays depuis les remous politico-militaires du 1er avril 2010, cette stabilité nouvelle reste le résultat de compromis fragiles, incertains et très ambigus. Les véritables échéances politiques, militaires et judiciaires sont à venir. La mort du président Malam Bacai Sanhá le 9 janvier 2012 accroit l’incertitude. La compétition inter- et intra-partisane présente des risques pour les partis politiques, du communautarisme à l’instrumen­talisation de factions de l’armée. Au plan militaire, la réforme du secteur de la sécurité (RSS) est en suspens. Au plan judiciaire, les meurtres de 2009 continuent de susciter rumeurs, accusations et menaces. Le renforcement du régime du Premier ministre Carlos Gomes Júnior doit encore entrainer des évolutions positives pour l’ensemble du pays. L’engagement international doit se maintenir, résolu, exigeant et critique. L’Angola doit faire un effort tout particulier de communication, de transparence et de coordination avec les autres acteurs internationaux.

A la suite du 1er avril 2010, qui a vu le chef d’état-major Zamora Induta renversé par son adjoint António Injai, et le Premier ministre Carlos Gomes Júnior brièvement arrêté, des compromis ont été passés entre factions politiques et militaires dominantes. La dépendance du pays envers l’assistance internationale, ressentie par l’ensemble des Guinéens, et la réaction ferme de l’Union européenne (UE) et des Etats-Unis ont placé d’autres segments de la communauté internationale et les autorités politiques guinéennes en position de médiation par rapport aux militaires. Les tensions entre le camp du président et celui du Premier ministre, deux figures du Partido Africano da Independência da Guiné e Cabo Verde (PAIGC), se sont progressivement apaisées.

Les autorités politiques ont validé la prise en main de l’armée par les responsables des évènements du 1er avril, le général Injai et l’amiral Bubo na Tchuto longtemps considéré comme étant l’homme fort du trafic de cocaïne en provenance d’Amérique latine, et ont obtenu en échange une soumission affichée. Les troubles militaires du 26 décembre 2011, qui font l’objet de plusieurs interprétations, ont cependant abouti à l’arrestation de na Tchuto, sans que des charges aient été portées contre lui. Dans cette phase sensible, l’Angola s’est montré un opérateur décisif. Luanda a déployé une mission militaire de coopération relativement robuste et a apporté un soutien matériel à l’Etat guinéen, tout cela dans une relative opacité.

Réformes du fonctionnement de l’Etat, conjoncture économique favorable et appui raisonné des bailleurs de fonds ont permis une timide amélioration de la situation économique et un renforcement appréciable des capacités dans les secteurs de la police et de la justice. Cette amélioration a consolidé le compromis entre politiques et militaires et renforcé la légitimité du pouvoir civil. Tout cela a permis la relance du développement ainsi que des avancées dans quelques projets d’investissements dans les prometteuses ressources naturelles du pays.

Mais le plus important reste à venir. D’abord, le pays fait face à une série d’échéances délicates. Le congrès annoncé du PAIGC, parti marqué par un fort factionnalisme, la disparition du président Sanhá provoquant l’organisation d’un scrutin présidentiel d’ici mars 2012, les législatives prévues pour la fin de l’année 2012, les élections locales qui devraient suivre, les premières de l’histoire postcoloniale du pays, sont autant d’incertitudes. Ces échéances verront probablement la consolidation de l’hégémonie du PAIGC autour du Premier ministre Carlos Gomes Júnior. Ceci pose par ailleurs la question du devenir de l’oppo­sition politique, qui se trouve prise entre impuissance et radicalisation, marginalisation et recours militaire. Cette situation difficile a poussé une partie de l’opposition à se saisir des spectaculaires meurtres politiques de 2009, encore non élucidés, pour attaquer le Premier ministre.

Se pose aussi la question des réformes structurelles qui doivent rendre l’Etat viable et capable d’impulser le développement de l’ensemble du pays, et en particulier de la RSS. Mais l’incertitude demeure sur l’état de l’armée : le départ prévu de 2 500 militaires peut-il être mis en œuvre ? Le pouvoir civil, en s’acquittant mieux qu’avant de ses obligations à l’égard des militaires, a-t-il réussi à s’assu­rer de l’obéissance de l’armée ? L’articulation, imposée par la communauté internationale, entre réforme de l’armée et départ des chefs militaires les plus controversés ne fait-elle pas courir un risque au processus ? La présence militaire angolaise et la possibilité d’une intervention internationale plus robuste ont-elles vraiment modifié la perspective des chefs militaires ? Toutes ces interrogations, mais aussi l’inquiétude que suscite la montée en force de l’Angola chez certains partenaires importants, et en particulier le Nigeria et le Sénégal, retardent l’appui international à la réforme, en particulier la mise en œuvre du fonds de pension nécessaire, et affaiblissent sa crédibilité.

L’hégémonie que travaillent à construire le Premier ministre et le chef d’état-major général avec l’appui angolais doit rompre sans ambiguïté avec le narcotrafic et l’impu­nité pour disposer d’une véritable légitimité, répondre aux aspirations de la population civile et à la préoccupation de la communauté internationale, et traiter convenablement l’histoire complexe des relations entre pouvoirs civil et militaire et la politisation de l’ethnicité balante. Il faut une bureaucratie efficace et des contrepouvoirs crédibles et constructifs. Un travail à long terme sur la formation et un renforcement des capacités des partis politiques sont particulièrement importants. L’attention au jeu politique, à la sphère militaire et au trafic de drogue ne doit pas faire oublier des questions de plus long terme, telles que la gouvernance, le contrôle économique et l’articulation entre la capitale et le reste du pays, problèmes éminemment politiques. Les acteurs régionaux et internationaux doivent être attentifs et ouverts mais également fixer des garde-fous à la concentration du pouvoir politique et économique.

Dakar/Bruxelles, 23 janvier 2012

Video / Africa

Guinea-Bissau: Transition after the Coup

On 12 April 2012 a military uprising ousted former prime minister Carlos Gomes Júnior just as he was about to compete in a run-off presidential election that he was poised to win. Gabriela Keseberg Dávalos, Crisis Group's Senior Communications Officer, and Vincent Foucher, West Africa Senior Analyst, were in Bissau to examine the current situation in the country, the reasons for the overthrow and the priorities of the new transitional government.

Guinea-Bissau: Transition after the Coup

In this video, Crisis Group Senior Communications Officer Gabriela Keseberg Dávalos and West Africa Senior Analyst Vincent Foucher interview policy makers and civil society members in Bissau to examine the country’s current situation. CRISIS GROUP

Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Youtube
Guinea-Bissau: Transition after the Coup
Guinea-Bissau: Transition after the Coup
Report 183 / Africa

Beyond Compromises: Reform Prospects In Guinea-Bissau

The ability of the Bissau-Guinean authorities to withstand the 26 December 2011 coup attempt bears witness to the improvements since the previous military turmoil of 1 April 2010, but crucial political, military and judicial developments still lie ahead as the country prepares for presidential elections in March and parliamentary polls later this year.

  • Share
  • Save
  • Print
  • Download PDF Full Report

Executive Summary

The successful resistance of the Bissau-Guinean authorities to an attempted coup on 26 December 2011 is encouraging. It confirms the stabilisation the country has been experiencing since the political and military turmoil of 1 April 2010. However, this relative stability is the outcome of fragile, uncertain and very ambiguous compromises. Crucial political, military and judicial challenges still lie ahead. The death of President Malam Bacai Sanhá on 9 January 2012 raises questions over the country’s future. Political parties will have to manage inter- and intra-party competition and resist the temptation to harp on inter-communal tensions and the manipulation of army factions. Security sector reform (SSR) is pending, while the March and June 2009 assassinations still generate rumours, accusations and threats. Prime Minister Carlos Gomes Júnior’s regime, while solid, has yet to improve the country’s overall situation. International involvement must remain steady, sustained and critical. Angola must do more to improve communication, transparency and coordination with other international actors.

Related Content

The dominant political and military factions reached a tacit agreement in the wake of the overthrow of army Chief of Staff Zamora Induta by his deputy António Injai and the brief arrest of Prime Minister Carlos Gomes Júnior on 1 April 2010. The country’s dependence on international assistance, which is recognised by ordinary Guineans, and the firm response of the European Union (EU) and the U.S., have strengthened the hand of other international actors and the Guinean authorities to negotiate with the military. Tensions between the late president’s and the prime minister’s camps, both members of the Partido Africano da Independência da Guiné e Cabo Verde (PAIGC), have gradually diminished.

The leaders of the 1 April 2010 events, General Injai and Admiral Bubo na Tchuto – long regarded as the strongman of cocaine trafficking from Latin America – have both recognised the legitimacy of the civilian rule, in exchange for a validation of their leadership over the army. The 26 December 2011 military unrest, which is subject to several interpretations, has, however, led to the arrest of na Tchuto without charges being brought against him. Angola has proven a key player during this delicate period. Luanda has deployed – albeit with a crucial lack of transparency – a robust military cooperation mission and provided material support to the Guinean state.

State reforms, favourable economic conditions and significant donor support have also slightly improved the economy and strengthened police and justice capacities. This has consolidated the tacit agreement between politicians and the army top brass and the legitimacy of the civilian leadership. A resumption of development has ensued, as well as some progress in investment plans in a promising natural resource sector.

But the most important developments have yet to come. The country faces daunting political hurdles: the PAIGC’s forthcoming congress and its factionalism; the death of President Sanhá and presidential elections which should be held by March 2012; the legislative elections scheduled for the end of the year; and the subsequent local elections – the first in the country’s post-colonial history. These milestones will likely consolidate the hegemony of the PAIGC and the prime minister. The future of a marginalised opposition hangs in the balance, as it may be tempted by radicalisation and resort to force. Some opposition parties are using recent tensions to capitalise on the unresolved political assassinations of 2009 and defy the prime minister.

Structural reforms to strengthen the state and foster development, especially SSR, represent another challenge. The future of the army is uncertain. Can 2,500 soldiers demobilise as scheduled? Will the military abide by rule by civilians who have fulfilled their obligations better than before with regards to the army? Does the international community’s condition that controversial military leaders step down endanger reforms? Have the Angolan military presence and the likelihood of more robust international intervention really changed those leaders’ calculations? All these questions, combined with concerns, notably from Nigeria and Senegal, about Angola’s growing leadership, delay and weaken international support for wider reforms, particularly regarding the much needed pension fund.

The Angola-backed domination of the prime minister and the army chief of staff must make a clean break from drug trafficking and impunity. Doing so will win them legitimacy, meet the aspirations of the population, relieve international concerns, and address both the complex history of civilian-military relations and the politicisation of the Balanta ethnic identity. An efficient bureaucracy and credible checks and balances are urgently needed. Education and capacity building of the political parties are particularly important over the long-term. Political and military woes and drug trafficking should not obscure other prominent, structural problems, such as governance, economic control and the inequality between the capital and the rest of the country. Regional and international actors should keep a critical eye on the concentration of political and economic power by Guinean elites.

Dakar/Brussels, 23 January 2012

Video / Africa

Guinea-Bissau: Transition after the Coup

On 12 April 2012 a military uprising ousted former prime minister Carlos Gomes Júnior just as he was about to compete in a run-off presidential election that he was poised to win. Gabriela Keseberg Dávalos, Crisis Group's Senior Communications Officer, and Vincent Foucher, West Africa Senior Analyst, were in Bissau to examine the current situation in the country, the reasons for the overthrow and the priorities of the new transitional government.

Guinea-Bissau: Transition after the Coup

In this video, Crisis Group Senior Communications Officer Gabriela Keseberg Dávalos and West Africa Senior Analyst Vincent Foucher interview policy makers and civil society members in Bissau to examine the country’s current situation. CRISIS GROUP