icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
Guinea-Bissau: Transition after the Coup
Guinea-Bissau: Transition after the Coup
Report 142 / Africa

Guinée-Bissau: besoin d’Etat

La Guinée-Bissau a besoin d’un Etat. Ses structures politiques et administratives ne lui permettent ni de contrôler son territoire, ni d’assurer les services publics minimums, ni de contrebalancer la domination politique de l’armée. Cette faiblesse structurelle est à l’origine de crises politiques récurrentes, de coups à répétition et de la prolifération de réseaux criminels.

  • Share
  • Save
  • Print
  • Download PDF Full Report

Synthèse

La Guinée-Bissau a besoin d’un Etat. Ses structures politiques et administratives ne lui permettent ni de contrôler son territoire, ni d’assurer les services publics minimums, ni de contrebalancer la domination poli­ti­que de l’armée. Cette faiblesse structurelle est à l’origine de crises politiques récurrentes, de coups à répétition et de la prolifération de réseaux criminels. Cependant, la Guinée-Bissau semble être engagée aujourd’hui dans un nouvel élan grâce au pacte de stabilité poli­tique signé par les trois partis politiques les plus importants en mars 2007. Le risque est réel de voir le pays devenir un narco-Etat et un no man’s land politique et administratif, ouvert à tous les trafics et aux réseaux terroristes du Maghreb. La communauté internationale devrait d’urgence soutenir les efforts du gouvernement actuel pour consolider la démocratie, réformer le secteur de la sécurité et construire des structures étatiques viables.

Comme colonisateur, le Portugal n’avait pas construit la charpente d’un système politique, administratif et bureaucratique qui aurait pu constituer la base d’un véritable Etat postcolonial. Le Portugal salazariste ayant réfusé de négocier, la Guinée-Bissau lutta pour son indépendance – le seul pays de la région à obtenir l’indépendance par la force des armes. Aucun des dirigeants qui se succédèrent au pouvoir depuis 1974 ne tenta cependant de mettre en place les structures d’un Etat fonctionnel et démocratique. Par conséquent, les infrastructures, la bureaucratie, l’administration, les institutions politiques et les indices de développement humain et social n’ont pratiquement pas évolué depuis les premières années d’indépendance.

Le premier coup d’Etat, six ans après l’indépendance, fut la conséquence directe du népotisme et du pouvoir clientéliste mis en place par le parti unique, seul modèle de référence pour les dirigeants suivants. Le premier d’entre eux, Bernardo Joao Vieira, réussit à conserver le pouvoir pendant près de vingt ans en intégrant l’armée dans sa stratégie de survie. Après sa chute et une guerre civile (1998-1999), la transition démocratique échouera finalement face à l’influence de l’armée. Le successeur élu de Vieira, Kumba Yala, s’appuya également sur l’armée, jusqu’à ce qu’elle le renverse en 2003. Le retour de Vieira ne fit que con­so­lider le pouvoir politique des militaires. Aujourd’hui, le mouvement démocratique et réformiste fondé sur le pacte de stabilité et mené par le gouvernement de Martinho Ndafa Cabi se heurte à la même résistance militaire et est entravé par l’absence continue d’insti­tu­tions politiques et administratives fonctionnelles.

La création d’un Etat démocratique est de plus en plus urgente alors que le risque de criminalisation aug­mente. Le trafic de cocaïne en provenance d’Amé­ri­que latine a explosé ces dernières années et le pays est devenu un point de transit central sur la route vers les marchés européens. Les quantités de drogue qui y pas­sent s’évaluent en centaines de kilogrammes par semaine. L’argent du trafic a déjà corrompu l’élite militaire et certaines personnalités politiques du pays, ce qui menace le processus démocratique.

Des réformes de fond sur la manière dont le pays est géré sont indispensables. Parmi ces réformes, celle de l’armée est la plus urgente afin que le système poli­ti­que soit libéré du joug des militaires. L’enjeu est con­si­dérable pour le pays et pour toute la région d’Afrique de l’ouest, qui est déjà marquée par les crises poli­tiques à répétition (Guinée) ou de lents processus de consolidation de paix (Sierra Léone, Libéria).

La communauté internationale a pris des mesures hésitantes pour prêter son assistance. Un programme de réformes intégrant les défis majeurs du secteur de la sécurité et de l’administration publique a été adopté en 2007. A la demande du Premier ministre, le pays fut mis à l’agenda de la Commission de la con­so­li­dation de la paix des Nations unies (CCP). Cepen­dant, pour que ces mesures produisent des résultats tangibles pour le peuple de Guinée-Bissau, les par­te­naires étrangers doivent augmenter leurs efforts et saisir cette réelle opportunité de succès.

Dakar/Bruxelles, 2 juillet 2008

Video / Africa

Guinea-Bissau: Transition after the Coup

On 12 April 2012 a military uprising ousted former prime minister Carlos Gomes Júnior just as he was about to compete in a run-off presidential election that he was poised to win. Gabriela Keseberg Dávalos, Crisis Group's Senior Communications Officer, and Vincent Foucher, West Africa Senior Analyst, were in Bissau to examine the current situation in the country, the reasons for the overthrow and the priorities of the new transitional government.

Guinea-Bissau: Transition after the Coup

In this video, Crisis Group Senior Communications Officer Gabriela Keseberg Dávalos and West Africa Senior Analyst Vincent Foucher interview policy makers and civil society members in Bissau to examine the country’s current situation. CRISIS GROUP

icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Youtube
Guinea-Bissau: Transition after the Coup
Guinea-Bissau: Transition after the Coup
Report 142 / Africa

Guinea-Bissau: In Need of a State

Guinea-Bissau needs a state. Its political and administrative structures are insufficient to guarantee control of its territory, assure minimum public services or counter-balance the army’s dominance. This core weakness has been at the root of recurrent political crises, coups d’etat and the proliferation of criminal networks.

  • Share
  • Save
  • Print
  • Download PDF Full Report

Executive Summary

Guinea-Bissau needs a state. Its political and administrative structures are insufficient to guarantee control of its territory, assure minimum public services or counter-balance the army’s political dominance. This core weakness has been at the root of recurrent political crises, coups d’état and the proliferation of criminal networks. However, despite making little progress in 35 years of independence, Guinea-Bissau now appears to have gained new momentum thanks to the signing of a stability pact by the three most important political parties in March 2007. Nevertheless, there is real risk of it becoming a narco-state and a political and administrative no-man’s-land, attractive to trafficking and terrorist networks in the Maghreb. The international community should urgently support the government’s efforts to consolidate democracy, reform the security sector and construct viable state structures.

In Portuguese Guinea the colonial power never built the political, administrative or bureaucratic systems capable of establishing the foundations from which a true post-colonial state could emerge. Salazar’s Portugal refused to grant independence, forcing Guinea-Bissau to fight for self-rule – the only country in the region to gain independence through armed force. No leader since 1974 has tried to establish the necessary structures for a functioning democratic state. Consequently, the country’s infrastructure, bureaucracy, administration, political institutions and human- and social-development indicators remain largely unaltered since the first years of independence.

The first coup d’état, after six years of independence, was a direct result of nepotism and a client-based power structure created by the one-party state. This remained the model of reference for future leaders. The first, Bernardo Joao (“Nino”) Vieira, kept power for almost twenty years by incorporating the army into his survival strategy. After his fall and subsequent civil war (1998-1999), the transition to democratic rule finally broke down due to the army’s influence. Nino Vieira’s elected successor, Kumba Yala, also relied heavily on the army, until it overthrew him in 2003. Vieira’s return secured the army’s political power. Presently, the movement towards greater reform and democracy, driven by the Stability Pact and promoted by the government of Martinho Ndafa Cabi, faces the same military resistance and is hampered by the continued absence of functioning political and administrative institutions.

The creation of a democratic state is increasingly urgent as the risk of criminalisation is growing. Cocaine trafficking from Latin America has increased tremendously in recent years, and the country has become a pivotal transit point in the route to European markets. Hundreds of kilograms of the drug are estimated to pass through each week. Revenue from the illicit trade has already corrupted military leaders and political personalities, threatening the democratic process.

Fundamental changes to the way in which the country is run are required. Above all, army reform is needed most urgently to free the political system from military interference. The stakes are considerable both for the country and the West African region, already touched by repeated political crises (Guinea) and drawn-out peace-consolidation processes (Sierra Leone, Liberia).

The international community has taken tentative steps to lend its assistance. A program of reforms addressing major security sector and public administration challenges was adopted in 2007 and, at the request of the prime minister, the country was added to the agenda of the United Nations Peacebuilding Commission (PBC). However, for these steps to have tangible results for the people of Guinea-Bissau, foreign partners must galvanise their efforts and seize this real opportunity for success.

Dakar/Brussels, 2 July 2008

Video / Africa

Guinea-Bissau: Transition after the Coup

On 12 April 2012 a military uprising ousted former prime minister Carlos Gomes Júnior just as he was about to compete in a run-off presidential election that he was poised to win. Gabriela Keseberg Dávalos, Crisis Group's Senior Communications Officer, and Vincent Foucher, West Africa Senior Analyst, were in Bissau to examine the current situation in the country, the reasons for the overthrow and the priorities of the new transitional government.

Guinea-Bissau: Transition after the Coup

In this video, Crisis Group Senior Communications Officer Gabriela Keseberg Dávalos and West Africa Senior Analyst Vincent Foucher interview policy makers and civil society members in Bissau to examine the country’s current situation. CRISIS GROUP