Армения и Азербайджан: сезон рисков
Армения и Азербайджан: сезон рисков
Table of Contents
  1. Overview
Briefing 71 / Europe & Central Asia

Армения и Азербайджан: сезон рисков

  • Share
  • Save
  • Print
  • Download PDF Full Report

КРАТКИЙ ОБЗОР

Вялотекущее противостояние между Азербайджаном и Арменией перешло в ту фазу, когда нестабильная ситуация превратилась в крайне взрывоопасную. В 2011 году мирные переговоры по Нагорному Карабаху зашли в тупик, что привело к наращиванию вооружений и усилению жесткой риторики. Планы обеих сторон запестрели выражениями типа «блицкриг», «упреждающий удар» и «тотальная война». Сейчас опасения, прежде всего, вызывают ошибки в военных расчетах, которые могут повлечь за собой последствия, выходящие далеко за рамки локального замороженного конфликта на постсоветском пространстве – ведь Южный Кавказ, регион столкновения интересов крупных держав, сейчас является важным энергетическим коридором. Участились стычки около азербайджано-армянской границы вдали от Нагорного Карабаха – первоначального очага конфликта. Напряженность также охватила районы вдоль границы с азербайджанским эксклавом Нахичеванская Автономная Республика, где в июле прошли совместные азербайджано-турецкие военные учения. Последовавшая перестрелка обернулась жертвами, и в сентябре Армения устроила собственные боевые учения у границы с Азербайджаном. Для того чтобы снизить вероятность эскалации насилия в ближайшие недели и месяцы, необходимо активнейшее участие международного сообщества.

Хотя с момента окончания активных боевых действий, начавшихся в 1990-е годы с распадом СССР, соблюдается неустойчивый режим прекращения огня, нередко происходят провокации. В частности, Баку помиловал офицера, который убил своего армянского коллегу на натовских языковых курсах в Венгрии, а Ереван объявил о планах снова открыть для самолетов аэропорт в Нагорном Карабахе. Неопределенность усугубляется вероятностью внутриполитических волнений в обеих странах. Волнения внутри страны могут подтолкнуть руководство к тому, чтобы обострить вооруженное противостояние и тем самым отвлечь внимание или предпринять рискованные попытки извлечь выгоду из проблем противника. Предстоящая осень сулит испытания руководству обоих государств. В октябре президент Азербайджана Ильхам Алиев будет переизбираться на третий срок. Впервые традиционно разрозненная оппозиция в большинстве своем поддерживает единого кандидата. И хотя советники президента утверждают, что уровень его поддержки среди электората превышает 70%, оппоненты относят его весьма вероятную победу на счет больших административных ресурсов, сосредоточенных в его руках. Тем не менее власти озабочены тем, чтобы не усилились волнения. Армении входит в период неопределенности: на осень оппозиция запланировала акции протеста.

При этом нет того значительного, скоординированного международного давления, которое могло бы вывести стороны из дипломатического тупика. Не только власти обеих стран, но и дипломаты и аналитики из других государств сомневаются в том, что официально назначенные посредники из Организации по безопасности и сотрудничеству в Европе (ОБСЕ) – Минская группа, которой руководят Россия, США и Франция, – способны добиться результатов. Позиция России вызывает особенно много вопросов касательно эффективности такого формата. Она не только сопредседательствует в Минской группе, но и сама имеет большие стратегические интересы на Южном Кавказе и поставляет оружие обеим сторонам конфликта.

На протяжении ряда лет Кризисная группа много писала об опасности, исходящей от неурегулированного азербайджано-армянского конфликта вокруг Нагорного Карабаха. Настоящий брифинг не предсказывает ни неминуемости второй войны, ни того, что она, скорее, начнется, чем нет. В нем, однако, говорится о том, что в краткосрочной перспективе угрозы стабильности станут острее. Мы будем своевременно информировать о тех подходах, которые могли бы помочь посредникам из Минской группы в отыскании долгосрочного решения. Пока же нужно предпринять ряд осторожных профилактических шагов, которые включают в себя следующее.

  • Дипломатические усилия сопредседателей Минской группы, Европейского союза (ЕС) и прочих органов должны быть направлены на то, чтобы подчеркивать важность периода спокойствия и снижения градуса риторики с обеих сторон. Параллельно с этим международное сообщество должно играть активную роль, указывая на риски просчетов и ту огромную цену, которую заплатят обе стороны в случае возобновления боевых действий.
     
  • В свете президентских выборов в Азербайджане и вероятности возникновения политического кризиса в Армении в конце 2013 года крайне важна взаимная сдержанность. Здесь помогло бы учащение регулярных контактов и встреч на уровне министров и парламентариев, и необходимо поддерживать все действия в данном направлении.
     
  • Для снижения вероятности военной эскалации следует восстановить кризисную прямую линию между главами Армении и Азербайджана. Чтобы начать выстраивать доверие, стороны должны также активнее сотрудничать с Международным комитетом Красного Креста (МККК) по вопросу о военнопленных.
     
  • Россия как страна, которая обладает большим влиянием во всех аспектах конфликта и которую, в отличие от других сопредседателей Минской группы, новая война затронет наиболее непосредственно, должна решительнее добиваться урегулирования. Начать это следует с объявления о приостановке поставок оружия обеим сторонам. Прочим поставщикам, включая Южную Корею и Израиль, следует порекомендовать сделать то же самое.

Баку/Ереван/Тбилиси/Брюссель, 26 сентября 2013 г. 

Subscribe to Crisis Group’s Email Updates

Receive the best source of conflict analysis right in your inbox.

icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
Armenia and Azerbaijan: A Season of Risks
Armenia and Azerbaijan: A Season of Risks
Table of Contents
  1. Overview
Armenia and Azerbaijan: The Waters of Joghaz Reservoir
Armenia and Azerbaijan: The Waters of Joghaz Reservoir
Briefing 71 / Europe & Central Asia

Armenia and Azerbaijan: A Season of Risks

Stronger international engagement is needed to help prevent the deadly conflict between Armenia and Azerbaijan from escalating gravely at a time of internal political tensions in both.

  • Share
  • Save
  • Print
  • Download PDF Full Report

I. Overview

Confrontation, low-intensity but volatile, between Azerbaijan and Armenia has entered a period of heightened sensitivity. Peace talks on Nagorno-Karabakh bogged down in 2011, accelerating an arms race and intensifying strident rhetoric. Terms like “Blitzkrieg’’, “pre-emptive strike’’ and ‘‘total war” have gained currency with both sides’ planners. An immediate concern is military miscalculation, with implications that could far exceed those of a localised post-Soviet frozen conflict, as the South Caucasus, a region where big powers meet and compete, is now also a major energy corridor. Clashes increasingly occur along the Azerbaijani-Armenian frontier far from Nagorno-Karabakh, the conflict’s original focus. Tensions have also spread to areas along the border with the Azerbaijani exclave of Nakhichevan where Azerbaijani and Turkish exercised in July. A subsequent firefight produced casualties, and Armenia staged its own war games near the Azerbaijan border in September. Vigorous international engagement is needed to lessen chances of violent escalation during coming weeks and months.

While a shaky ceasefire has been in place since the war that flared in the 1990s as the Soviet Union collapsed, provocative acts are frequent: for example, Baku’s pardon for an officer who killed an Armenian colleague during a NATO-sponsored language course in Hungary, and Yerevan’s declared plan to reopen the airport in Nagorno-Karabakh to fixed-wing flights. Moreover, the possibility of internal political unrest in both countries increases the uncertainty. Unrest at home might tempt leaders to deflect attention by raising military tensions or to embark on risky attempts to capitalise on their adversary’s troubles. Both countries’ leaderships face a testing autumn. Azerbaijan’s President Ilham Aliev stands for a third term in October. Most of the traditionally fragmented opposition backs a single candidate for the first time. Though the president’s aides claim support levels of above 70 per cent of the electorate, critics attribute his highly likely victory to the massive administrative resources firmly in his grip. Still, the authorities are concerned lest any unrest gather momentum. Armenia faces a period of uncertainty, with opposition groups planning an autumn of protests.

The strong and coordinated international pressure needed to break the diplomatic deadlock is lacking. There is scepticism in both capitals, as well as among third-country diplomats and analysts, that the officially designated mediators from the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), the Minsk Group – led by Russia, the U.S. and France – can deliver results. Russia’s position raises particular questions about the format’s effectiveness. It is not only a Minsk Group co-chair but also has major strategic interests in the South Caucasus and supplies arms to both sides of the conflict.

Crisis Group has written extensively for years on the dangers posed by this unresolved conflict between Azerbaijan and Armenia over Nagorno-Karabakh. This briefing does not predict a second war is either imminent or more likely than not. It does suggest the near-term threats to stability are becoming more acute. We will report in due course on approaches that might complement the Minsk mediation mechanism in the search for a long-term solution. In the meantime, prudent, prophylactic action is required, including the following:

  • Diplomacy by the Minsk Group co-chairs, the European Union (EU) and others should stress need for a quiet period during which both sides dial down rhetoric. This should be accompanied by energetic international engagement highlighting the risk of miscalculations and the huge costs for both sides of resumed hostilities.
     
  • Azerbaijan’s presidential election and Armenia’s susceptibility to political crisis in late 2013 make mutual restraint the immediate priority. Intensified regular contacts as well as meetings between ministers and parliamentarians can help in this regard and should be supported.
     
  • A crisis hotline should be reestablished between Yerevan and Baku to lessen chances of a military escalation. As a modest confidence builder, the two sides should also step up efforts via the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) to address prisoner of war issues.
     
  • Russia, which is highly influential in all aspects of the conflict and would be the most directly affected of the Minsk co-chairs by a new war, should act more decisively to broker an agreement. It could advance this by announcing a suspension of arms supplies to both sides. Other suppliers, including South Korea and Israel, should be encouraged to do the same.

Baku/Yerevan/Tbilisi/Brussels, 26 September 2013

Armenia and Azerbaijan: The Waters of Joghaz Reservoir

Water was once abundant in the border between Armenia and Azerbaijan, thanks to a network of reservoirs and irrigation pipes, but today shortages are chronic.

Water was once abundant in the border between Armenia and Azerbaijan, thanks to a network of reservoirs and irrigation pipes, but today shortages are chronic. After the 1992-1994 war over Nagorno Karabakh, it became too dangerous to maintain the water supply system, which criss-crosses the front lines, and it fell into disrepair. Villagers began blocking supply channels to satisfy their own needs. Today, a mere handful of households draw their water from reservoirs fed by mountain rivers.

A more strategic approach to the water problem in the region would help, but ultimately neither side can resolve the water supply problems without the other. While decades of tensions have prevented cross-border cooperation, some tentative steps might serve the two nations’ interests. One might be the resumed use of the Joghaz reservoir. Built in the early 1970s, the Joghaz reservoir once supplied water to almost 30 Armenian and Azerbaijani villages. Now it services only a few nearby households. Trenches stretch along the shores, and soldiers face off mere metres from each other on the dam. Three derelict pumping stations need to be fixed in order to restore water supplies to adjacent Armenian and Azerbaijani villages. Engineering works are impossible, however, without a clear, detailed accord and a commitment from both sides.

Armenia and Azerbaijan: The Waters of Joghaz Reservoir

CRISISGROUP