icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
What Data Says About Herder-Farmer Violence in Nigeria
What Data Says About Herder-Farmer Violence in Nigeria
Report 233 / Europe & Central Asia

Бремя воды для Средней Азии

Краткое Содержание

Вода давно является основной причиной конфликта в Средней Азии. Две страны – Кыргызстан и Таджикистан – имеют ее в избытке; остальные утверждают, что они не получают свою долю от крупных рек Сырдарьи и Амударьи, которые пересекают регион, беря начало в Тянь-Шане, Памире и Гиндукуше и спускаются к тому, что осталосьот Аральского моря. Давление нарастает, особенно в Кыргызстане, Таджикистане и Узбекистане. С 2000 года население Средней Азии увеличилось почти на десять миллионов, при этом ограниченные пахотные земли истощаются в результате чрезмерного использования и устаревших методов ведения сельского хозяйства. Обширная коррупция и слабо развитая инфраструктура наносят дополнительный урон, в то время как изменение климата, вероятно, будет иметь долгосрочные негативные последствия. Поскольку экономики стран слабеют, государства становятся более неустойчивыми, возросший национализм, приграничные споры и напряженные отношения в регионе осложняют поиск взаимоприемлемого решения в обеспечении потребностей региона в воде. Необходимо срочно найти новый подход к решению проблем воды и связанных с этим вопросов, путем заключения серии взаимосвязанных и более умеренных отдельных двусторонних соглашений, а не гнаться за химерой единого всеобъемлющего документа.

Корень проблемы – в дезынтеграции системы совместного использования ресурсов, навязываемой Советским Союзом региону вплоть до его распада в 1991 году. Кыргызстан и Таджикистан предоставляли воду Казахстану, Туркменистану и Узбекистану летом и получали от них уголь, газ и электричество зимой. Система рухнула к концу 1990-х годов, а множество двусторонних и региональных соглашений и резолюций, заключенных в этом десятилетии не смогли ее восстановить. Проблемы, обозначенные Кризисной группой в 2002 году, – такие как неполноценная инфраструктура, неэффективное управлении водными ресурсами и устаревшие методы ирригации, – остались нерешенными, в то время как ситуация в области безопасности становится все острее.

Региональные лидеры, похоже, не стремятся к сотрудничеству ни по одному из этих важных вопросов. Растет недоверие между странами, напрямую затронутыми проблемой – Кыргызстаном, Таджикистаном и Узбекистаном. Личные отношения между президентом Таджикистана Эмомали Рахмоном и президентом Узбекистана Исламом Каримовым остаются холодными на протяжении многих лет, Каримов и его министры все чаще склонны делать воинственные заявления. Международные партнеры, в том числе Россия, Европейский Союз (ЕС) и США, говорят, что они мало что могут сделать, если страны остаются зацикленными на узком толковании национальных интересов. Разногласия по гидроэнергетическим проектам в верховья рек для их разрешения требуют интенсивной работы на высоком уровне. Хотя некоторые локальные усилия по решению проблем водоснабжения – как правило, с помощью доноров – были эффективными, коррупция сорвала наиболее амбициозные из них. Тем не менее, неспособность правительств Кыргызстана, Таджикистана и Узбекистана модернизировать сферы, завязанные на водоснабжении, такие как энергетика и сельское хозяйство, увеличивает их взаимозависимость.

При всей своей сложности проблема воды, вероятно, является единственной имеющей некоторые перспективы разрешения. Как заметил швейцарский специалист по водным вопросам: “Вода может быть причиной конфликта, но она также может быть и фактором мира”. Это объективная проблема, поэтому справедливое распределение и сопутствующий обмен энергоресурсами могут дать ощутимую выгоду для всех. Исключение фактора воды из списка более труднорешаемых проблем границ и анклавов может смягчить конфликты и, возможно, даже помочь их разрешению. Таким образом, улучшение состояния инфраструктуры водоснабжения и проекты по управлению могут иметь решающее значение для построения мира и политической стабильности, а также содействовать развитию и экономическому росту.

Попытки комплексных региональных решений, провалились из-за взаимного недоверия. Кыргызстан, Таджикистан и Узбекистан (и их международные сторонники) должны действовать в приграничных районах Ферганской долины сейчас, чтобы покончить с ежегодным циклом конкуренции и конфликтов вокруг воды. Делать это необходимо путем раскладывания общей проблемы воды на более легко разрешаемые вопросы: искать постепенное, пошаговое решение по концептуальным и географическим линиям, а не включать все в один пакет по урегулированию проблемы ресурсов. Если Узбекистан не будет участвовать, то Кыргызстан и Таджикистан должны работать в двустороннем порядке. Между тем, посредничество на высоком уровне должно способствовать поиску решений, учитывая возражения Узбекистана по гидроэнергетическим проектам в верховьях рек.

Нет никакой гарантии, что это будет эффективным, но может дать возможность этим трем государствам модернизировать инфраструктуру и систему управления водными ресурсами, а также обучить новое поколение технических специалистов. Соглашения также создали бы небольшой прецедент для других сфер, в которых сотрудничество крайне необходимо и могут помочь разрядить напряженность в регионе, а также улучшить тяжелые условия жизни большинства населения региона.

Бишкек/Брюссель, 11 Сентябрь 2014

Video / Africa

What Data Says About Herder-Farmer Violence in Nigeria

In this video, Crisis Group Future of Conflict Fellow Ulrich Eberle discusses the importance of data in understanding climate change and conflict. Africa is especially vulnerable to climate change, as millions are already experiencing record heat, extreme precipitation and rising sea levels. Increasingly, the security implications of changing weather patterns are visible in deadly land resource disputes between farmers and herders across the continent – including in the continent’s most populous country, Nigeria.

Crisis Group's Nigeria Senior Adviser, Nnamdi Obasi, explains the Nigerian government's actions to address the issue. In 2019, Nigerian authorities launched a ten-year National Livestock Transformation Plan to curtail the movement of cattle, boost livestock production and quell the country’s lethal herder-farmer conflict. The new Plan represents Nigeria’s most comprehensive strategy yet to encourage pastoralists to switch to ranching and other sedentary livestock production systems. Modernising the livestock sector is key to resolving the herder-farmer conflict, which threatens Nigeria’s political stability and food security.

View the interactive publication here and read the full report here.

CRISISGROUP

icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
What Data Says About Herder-Farmer Violence in Nigeria
What Data Says About Herder-Farmer Violence in Nigeria
Report 233 / Europe & Central Asia

Water Pressures in Central Asia

Growing tensions in the Ferghana Valley are exacerbated by disputes over shared water resources. To address this, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan urgently need to step back from using water or energy as a coercive tool and focus on reaching a series of modest, bilateral agreements, pending comprehensive resolution of this serious problem.

Executive Summary

Water has long been a major cause of conflict in Central Asia. Two states – Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan – have a surplus; the other three say they do not get their share from the region’s great rivers, the Syr Darya and Amu Darya, which slice across it from the Tien Shan, Pamir Mountains, and the Hindu Kush to the Aral Sea’s remains. Pressures are mounting, especially in Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. The population in Central Asia has increased by almost ten million since 2000, and limited arable land is being depleted by over-use and outdated farming methods. Extensive corruption and failing infrastructure take further toll, while climate change is likely to have long-term negative consequences. As economies become weaker and states more fragile, heightened nationalism, border disputes, and regional tensions complicate the search for a mutually acceptable solution to the region’s water needs. A new approach that addresses water and related issues through an interlocking set of individually more modest bilateral agreements instead of the chimera of a single comprehensive one is urgently needed.

The root of the problem is the disintegration of the resource-sharing system the Soviet Union imposed on the region until its collapse in 1991. Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan provided water to Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan in summer and received Kazakh, Turkmen and Uzbek coal, gas and electricity in winter. The system had broken down by the late-1990s, and a plethora of bilateral and regional agreements and resolutions concluded in that decade failed to fix it. The concerns Crisis Group identified in 2002 – inadequate infrastructure, poor water management and outdated irrigation methods – remain unaddressed, while the security environment is bleaker.

Regional leaders seem disinclined to cooperate on any of their main problems. Suspicion is growing between the most directly affected countries, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. Personal relations between Tajik President Emomali Rahmon and Uzbek President Islam Karimov have been icy for years, and Karimov and his ministers are increasingly prone to make bellicose statements. International partners, including Russia, the European Union (EU) and the U.S., say they can do little if the countries remain fixated on a narrow interpretation of national interests. Differences over upstream hydropower projects require intensive, high-level resolution. Though some localised efforts to improve water supply have worked, usually with donor aid, corruption has undermined more ambitious ones. Yet, the failure of the Kyrgyz, Tajik and Uzbek governments to modernise water-dependent sectors such as energy and agriculture increases their mutual dependence.

For all its complexity, the water issue is probably the one that offers some opportunity for solution. As a Swiss water specialist observed, “water can be a driver of conflict but it can also be a driver of peace”. It is an objective problem, and equitable distribution and a concomitant energy exchange would produce tangible benefits for all. Removal of the water factor from the more intractable problems of borders and enclaves, meanwhile, might mitigate conflicts and perhaps even help solve them. Improved water infrastructure and management projects could thus be crucial for building peace and political stability, while promoting development and economic growth.

Attempts at comprehensive regional solutions have foundered on mistrust. Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan (and their international backers) should act now in the border areas of the Ferghana Valley to end the annual cycle of competition and conflict over water by dividing the water issue into more manageable portions – seeking gradual, step-by-step solutions along conceptual and geographical lines rather than one all-inclusive resource settlement. If Uzbekistan will not participate, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan should work bilaterally. Meanwhile, high-level mediation should be sought to address Uzbekistan’s objections to upstream hydropower projects.

There is no guarantee this would work, but it could give these three states an opportunity to modernise infrastructure and the management of water resources as well as train a new generation of technical specialists. The agreements would also set a modest precedent for other spheres in which cooperation is sorely needed and might help defuse tensions in the region, while improving the grim living conditions of most of its population.

Video / Africa

What Data Says About Herder-Farmer Violence in Nigeria

In this video, Crisis Group Future of Conflict Fellow Ulrich Eberle discusses the importance of data in understanding climate change and conflict. Africa is especially vulnerable to climate change, as millions are already experiencing record heat, extreme precipitation and rising sea levels. Increasingly, the security implications of changing weather patterns are visible in deadly land resource disputes between farmers and herders across the continent – including in the continent’s most populous country, Nigeria.

Crisis Group's Nigeria Senior Adviser, Nnamdi Obasi, explains the Nigerian government's actions to address the issue. In 2019, Nigerian authorities launched a ten-year National Livestock Transformation Plan to curtail the movement of cattle, boost livestock production and quell the country’s lethal herder-farmer conflict. The new Plan represents Nigeria’s most comprehensive strategy yet to encourage pastoralists to switch to ranching and other sedentary livestock production systems. Modernising the livestock sector is key to resolving the herder-farmer conflict, which threatens Nigeria’s political stability and food security.

View the interactive publication here and read the full report here.

CRISISGROUP