icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
Haití, Tres Años Después
Haití, Tres Años Después
Report 46 / Latin America & Caribbean

Gouverner Haïti : le temps du consensus national

Sans un pacte national inclusif traitant des problèmes urgents, le président Michel Martelly risque de signer l’échec de sa présidence et Haïti de subir l’abandon de la communauté internationale.

  • Share
  • Save
  • Print
  • Download PDF Full Report

Synthèse

Haïti est lancée dans une course contre la montre pour prouver à ses propres citoyens, aux bailleurs de fonds et aux potentiels investisseurs que le progrès et la stabilité sont possibles. Les retards incessants dans l’organisation d’élections libres et équitables pourraient bien être, dans l’immédiat, le plus grand défi. Cependant, à l’instar de ses prédécesseurs, le président Michel Martelly, qui s’efforce de gouverner le pays depuis un an et demi, ne dispose pas d’une base politique stable pour créer un ralliement autour de sa stratégie de développement des « cinq-E » : emploi, Etat de droit, éducation, environnement, énergie. Afin d’amorcer le changement tant promis, il devra consolider l’accord fragile conclu à la veille de Noël 2012 afin qu’une institution électorale crédible organise rapidement les élections sénatoriales, municipales et locales, maintes fois repoussées. Il devra également réunir les principaux acteurs dans le cadre d’un dialogue national autour de trois questions : la sélection des membres du Conseil constitutionnel ; une solution au problème de la nomination peu crédible du président de la Cour suprême et du Conseil supérieur du pouvoir judiciaire ; et la poursuite d’autres politiques publiques essentielles de court et long terme.

S’il est crucial de mettre fin à l’imbroglio autour des élections, cela ne suffira pas. Des réformes supplémentaires sont indispensables pour éviter l’immo­bi­lisme politique durant le mandat de Martelly. Le chemin long et sinueux qui a mené au processus d’amendement constitutionnel qui vient de s’achever, et le débat sans issue sur la formation du Conseil électoral permanent (CEP), sont la preuve du manque de confiance et de l’absence d’un consensus politique. A l’aube d’une période électorale difficile, dont le calendrier n’est toujours pas défini, Haïti a besoin, plus que jamais, d’un accord national pour permettre la reconstruction et le développement. De nombreux secteurs soutiennent en théorie le dialogue national, mais peu le poursuivent dans la pratique. Pourtant, l’intensification du débat autour de l’organisation des élections sénatoriales, municipales et locales de 2013 peut offrir une nouvelle chance. En effet, un accord de gouvernance pourrait enfin créer une mobilisation générale au niveau national et assurer le soutien des bailleurs de fonds en faveur des changements mis en avant depuis le tremblement de terre de 2010. Après l’échec des nombreux efforts pour arriver à un consensus national sur des questions fondamentales, même les bailleurs les plus importants sont frustrés par le manque de capacités de direction, de gouvernance et de responsabilité.

Des décennies d’inaction du gouvernement, de frustration grandissante et de diminution du seuil de tolérance des citoyens laissent peu de place à l’erreur. La majorité des Haïtiens est en pratique quasiment exclue du système politique, et il est de plus en plus difficile pour n’importe quelle administration de gouverner efficacement. Le calendrier électoral prévu par la Constitution n’est jamais respecté, les mandats des élus prennent donc fin sans que leur succession soit assurée, entrainant l’instabilité institutionnelle. Les élections sont ni plus ni moins qu’une lutte entre des élites politiques et économiques avec une myriade de partis peu représentatifs qui peinent à mobiliser l’électorat et divisent le parlement. Depuis 2006, la participation électorale ne cesse de chuter, à l’image de la confiance de l’opinion publique.

Un jeu politique à somme nulle ne permet pas de répondre à l’insécurité et l’in­stabilité. Il est préférable d’atteindre un consensus sur les priorités et de définir la stratégie pour y parvenir. Il est de plus en plus évident qu’une gouvernance efficace est impossible sans accord entre les dirigeants économiques, religieux, professionnels et politiques, au risque de voir une multiplication des troubles internes. L’Amérique latine est riche d’exemples intéressants quant à la manière de conclure des accords stables et efficaces qui peuvent être progressivement appliqués à travers des politiques concrètes et durables. La « Concertación por la Democracia » au Chili, l’Accord pour la justice et la sécurité au Guatemala, l’« Acuerdo Nacional » au Pérou et, plus récemment, le « Pacte pour le Mexique », illustrent comment des priorités communes ont été définies et des engagements ont été pris par les partis politiques et la société civile. Ils ont prouvé que le dialogue doit dès le début être inclusif pour parvenir à une prise de décision efficace et une mise en œuvre efficace.

Les défis auxquels Haïti est confrontée ne sont pas difficiles à percevoir. Il s’agit principalement de l’exigence d’une bonne gouvernance, de la construction d’un consensus parmi les élites, de la mise en place effective de stratégies de réduction de la pauvreté et du renforcement de l’Etat de droit. Malheureusement, ces défis n’ont jamais été abordés efficacement. Aujourd’hui, il est difficile d’être optimiste pour Haïti. Pour chaque pas en avant sur une de ces questions, plusieurs pas en arrière se sont produits – ou, au mieux, le statuquo a prévalu. Le changement provient néanmoins des bailleurs, qui, las, commencent à exiger que l’impasse prenne fin. Si Haïti souhaite s’en sortir, ses dirigeants doivent montrer, rapidement, le meilleur d’eux-mêmes. C’est un vœu pieux sur lequel le pays s’appuie, mais c’est sûrement tout ce qu’il lui reste. Sans un pacte national, le président Martelly risque malheureusement de signer l’échec de sa présidence et Haïti de subir l’abandon de la communauté internationale.

Port-au-Prince/Bogotá/Bruxelles, 4 février 2013

Haití, Tres Años Después

Originally published in Reforma

Tres años después del terremoto que sacudió a Haití, el país se encuentra en una carrera contra el tiempo para convencer a sus ciudadanos, a donantes y a posibles inversionistas de que el progreso y la estabilidad son realmente factibles y no sólo una ilusión.

De todos los desafíos, el continuo retraso en llevar a cabo elecciones libres y justas representa el más urgente de todos. El Presidente Michel Martelly lucha desde hace 18 mesespor gobernar una nación dividida. Carece de una base política estable para obtener la aprobación a su estrategia de desarrollo de cinco puntos: empleo, Estado de Derecho, educación, medio ambiente y energía.

Ahora Martelly debe partir sobre la base del tenue acuerdo de Nochebuena de 2012 con el fin de que un órgano electoral creíble desarrolle prontamente las demoradas elecciones al senado, municipales y locales.

Para leer el resto del artículo haga clic aquí

icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
It’s Time for a National Consensus in Haiti
It’s Time for a National Consensus in Haiti
Report 46 / Latin America & Caribbean

Governing Haiti: Time for National Consensus

Without an inclusive national pact on critical priorities, President Michel Martelly faces the spectre of a failed presidency, and Haiti risks international abandonment.

  • Share
  • Save
  • Print
  • Download PDF Full Report

Executive Summary

Haiti is in a race against time to convince its own people, donors and potential investors that progress and stability are achievable. Continued delay in holding free and fair elections may well pose the greatest immediate challenge, but President Michel Martelly, already struggling to govern the broken and divided nation for one and a half years, lacks the stable political base (also denied to his predecessors) to obtain buy-in to his proposed Five-E development strategy: employment, état de droit (rule of law), education, environment and energy. To finally start the long-promised transformation, he should build on the tenuous Christmas Eve 2012 agreement for a credible electoral body to hold much delayed Senate, municipal and local polls quickly. He also should bring key actors into a national dialogue on selecting the Constitutional Council and resolving credibility questions about the appointment of the president of the Supreme Court and the Superior Judicial Council, as well as on pursuing other critical short- and longer-term public policies.

Related Content

Ending the elections imbroglio is essential but insufficient. Follow-on reforms are required to avoid political paralysis during Martelly’s term. The long and difficult path to the recently concluded constitutional amendment process and still inconclusive debate over formation of the Permanent Electoral Council (CEP) are testament to the deficit of confidence and absence of political consensus. Haiti needs a national accord to manage reconstruction and development, particularly as it enters a difficult electoral period, whose calendar is still unknown. Many sectors espouse national dialogue rhetorically but do not pursue it seriously. The intensifying debate around organisation of Senate, municipal and local elections in 2013, however, may offer an opportunity to pursue a governance accord that could finally mobilise domestic forces and better secure donor support for the transformation that has been touted ever since the 2010 earthquake. After several failed efforts to reach domestic agreement on basic issues, even strong donor supporters are becoming frustrated by the lack of leadership, governance and accountability.

Decades of government inaction, growing frustration and decreasing citizen tolerance leave little margin for error. The Haitian brand of politics in effect virtually excludes the majority of citizens, and it is becoming increasingly difficult for any administration to govern effectively. The electoral calendar laid down in the constitution is never respected, so the terms of elected officials expire without replacement, giving rise to institutional instability. Elections are largely a contest between political and economic elites, as a myriad of parties give voice to few, fail to mobilise the electorate and fragment parliament. Voter participation has been falling since 2006, along with public confidence.

Zero-sum politics is not the answer to the country’s fragile security and stability. Rather, consensus is required on priorities and the strategy for achieving them. It is increasingly evident that functional governance is unlikely until and unless the business community, religious, professional and political leaderships can reach an accord. Otherwise Haiti faces increasing internal unrest. The Latin American region offers useful experience about how to build sustainable, effective agreements that can progressively be translated into concrete and sustainable policies. The National “Concertación por la Democracia” in Chile, the Agreement for Justice and Security in Guatemala, the “Acuerdo Nacional” in Peru and, most recently, the “Pact for Mexico” are examples of how to identify shared priorities and extract commitments from political parties and civil society. They demonstrate that the initial dialogue must be inclusive, if there is to be effective decision-making and efficient implementation.

The challenges facing Haiti are not difficult to divine. In essence they focus on a need for good governance, consensus-building among the elites, poverty reduction strategies effectively implemented and strengthened rule of law. Sadly, these challenges have never been confronted effectively. Haiti today presents little cause for optimism. For every instance of progress on any of these fronts, there are multiple instances of regression or, at best, stasis. What has changed, though, are the recent signs of a genuine demand for an end to that stalemate from donors who are also showing strong signs of fatigue. If Haiti is to pull through, the better angels in the natures of its leaders are going to have to prevail for once and prevail soon. This is a thin reed on which to float the country’s future; but it might be all it has. Without a national pact, President Martelly unfortunately faces the spectre of a failed presidency, and Haiti risks international abandonment.

Port-au-Prince/Bogotá/Brussels, 4 February 2013

It’s Time for a National Consensus in Haiti

Delayed elections, mistrust and public protests against Haitian President Michel Martelly threaten the country’s chance to end decades of political conflict and to recover from the 2010 earthquake. Without a national accord, the country risks ongoing crises. Javier Ciurlizza, Crisis Group Program Director for Latin America and the Caribbean, tells us more on the current challenges Haiti is facing.

In this podcast, Javier Ciurlizza tells us more on the current challenges Haiti is facing. CRISIS GROUP