icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
Violence Threatens Fraying Rule of Law in Lebanon
Violence Threatens Fraying Rule of Law in Lebanon

Le Hezbollah et la crise libanaise

La crise libanaise ne fait plus la une des journaux mais elle est loin d’être terminée. Aujourd’hui, tous les regards se portent sur les élections présidentielles, dernière arène en date du combat sans fin entre les forces pro et anti-gouvernement.

  • Share
  • Save
  • Print
  • Download PDF Full Report

Synthèse

La crise libanaise ne fait plus la une des journaux mais elle est loin d’être terminée. Aujourd’hui, tous les regards se portent sur les élections présidentielles, dernière arène en date du combat sans fin entre les forces pro et anti-gouvernement. Même si un candidat consensuel est choisi, aucun des graves problèmes que connaît le pays ne sera réglé, en particulier celui des armes du Hezbollah. Pour que les élections ne soient pas qu’un préambule à une nouvelle épreuve de force, tous les partis et leurs alliés extérieurs devront renoncer à leurs revendications, dans l’ensemble d’une grande exigence, et négocier un accord global qui tolère, pour le moment, le statut armé du Hezbollah tout en limitant l’usage de ces armes.

Compte tenu des événements survenus ces dix derniers mois, les Libanais peuvent ressentir un certain soulagement. Les manifestations de masse de décembre 2006, suivies d’une grève générale et d’affrontements entre les forces pro et anti-gouvernement à tendance confessionnelle, ainsi qu’une série d’assassinats et d’attentats à la voiture piégée, ont poussé le pays au bord du gouffre. Les institutions politiques sont quasiment paralysées ; le gouvernement gouverne à peine ; la crise économique s’aggrave ; les efforts de médiation ont échoué ; les assassinats politiques se poursuivent et les groupes politiques, qui anticipent un éventuel regain du conflit, se réarment. Néanmoins, conscients du danger que comportent leurs propres actions, les dirigeants de presque tous les bords ont décidé opportunément de prendre du recul.

L’une des principales raisons de cette décision tient à ce que le Hezbollah a pris conscience des dangereuses conséquences que pourrait impliquer le renversement du gouvernement. Face aux appels à désarmer et à la dénonciation de son aventurisme (qui serait d’inspiration étrangère) à l’origine de la guerre de juillet 2006, le Hezbollah a conclu que le gouvernement du Premier ministre Fouad Siniora et ses partisans étaient des acteurs hostiles qui cherchaient à le mettre en échec et à réduire son influence pour aligner le Liban sur les pays occidentaux plus encore qu’il ne l’est déjà. Ainsi, il a mené son combat sur la scène strictement intérieure en incitant les ministres chiites à quitter le gouvernement, en descendant dans la rue et en poussant le gouvernement vers la sortie. Recourir à la rue était risqué et contre-productif. À presque tous les niveaux de la société, le soutien chiite du Hezbollah s’est renforcé, grâce à la fois aux efforts de longue haleine du mouvement pour consolider sa domination sur la communauté et à un contexte d’après-guerre caractérisé par de nombreux clivages. Les anciens adversaires chiites ont, pour l’instant, mis leurs différences de côté, considérant l’armement du Hezbollah comme leur meilleure défense dans un environnement où les chiites se sentent assiégés de l’intérieur comme de l’extérieur.

Mais si le mouvement a prouvé ses capacités de mobilisation et a bénéficié du soutien de nombreux membres de la communauté chrétienne, le fait qu’il se soit appuyé sur une base essentiellement chiite pour renverser un gouvernement dominé par les sunnites a renforcé les affiliations confessionnelles. Les sunnites et de nombreux chrétiens se sont inquiétés de la force du Hezbollah et de sa capacité à déclencher des affrontements à grande échelle de façon unilatérale ; ils l’ont de plus en plus perçu comme un mouvement chiite plutôt que national et poursuivant une stratégie iranienne ou syrienne mais en aucun cas libanaise. En somme, si le mouvement a cherché à souligner les enjeux politiques du conflit, les combats de rue ont rapidement pris une tournure confessionnelle, emprisonnant le Hezbollah dans un carcan sectaire et menaçant de le détourner de ses objectifs principaux.

Le Hezbollah doit faire face à d’autres dilemmes. Le déploiement de l’armée et la présence renforcée d’une force des Nations unies à la frontière israélienne ont réduit significativement sa marge de manœuvre militaire. La base sociale du mouvement chiite est également épuisée et lassée de la guerre, résultat de la campagne intensive menée par Israël. Par ailleurs, les tensions confessionnelles limitent la possibilité pour les chiites de trouver refuge auprès des autres communautés dans l’éventualité d’une nouvelle confrontation avec Israël. Le Hezbollah a ainsi adopté malgré lui un mode défensif, préparé pour un conflit mais peu enclin à y participer.

Le Hezbollah semble être à la recherche d’une solution qui désamorcera les tensions confessionnelles et réfléchit à l’adoption d’une nouvelle position militaire. La posture délicate dans laquelle il se trouve actuellement offre une chance de progresser sur la question de son statut armé. Bien sûr, le Hezbollah n’acceptera de compromis à aucun prix. Ses priorités sont claires : conserver son armement et protéger le Liban ainsi que le Moyen-Orient de l’influence d’Israël et des États-Unis au travers d’un « axe du refus » qui inclut l’Iran, la Syrie et le Hamas. S’il en ressentait le besoin, il n’hésiterait probablement pas à entretenir la paralysie politique au Liban, y compris au prix de l’aliénation d’autres forces non chiites, à mobiliser ses partisans, quitte à s’auto-réduire à un mouvement encore plus sectaire, et à protéger les intérêts syriens ou iraniens, même au prix de sa réputation au niveau national.

Les partis libanais et leurs alliés étrangers devraient chercher à signer au niveau national un accord global qui, tout en remettant à plus tard la question de l’armement du Hezbollah, limiterait l’usage de ses armes. Il s’agirait en d’autres termes d’un accord qui ne résoudrait ni n’ignorerait le problème. Les éléments de l’accord ne seront ni simples à négocier ni une panacée et ils permettront au mieux une accalmie temporaire. Sans réforme politique de fond, le système politique du Liban, qui est fondé sur le principe de partage du pouvoir entre les factions confessionnelles, encouragera inévitablement les crises cycliques, l’impasse gouvernementale, le manque de redevabilité et le sectarisme. Plus important encore, l’avenir du pays est étroitement lié à la confrontation régionale qui l’a plongé dans le conflit armé avec Israël, a bloqué son système politique et l’a mené au bord d’une nouvelle guerre civile. Sans un règlement qui résoudra aussi ces questions, à commencer par les relations entre les États-Unis, Israël, la Syrie et l’Iran, le Liban ne connaîtra aucune solution durable.

Beyrouth/Bruxelles, 10 octobre 2007

Violence Threatens Fraying Rule of Law in Lebanon

Clashes on 14th October over a judicial investigation into the 2020 Beirut port blast evoked the sectarian divisions of Lebanon’s civil war and threatened what's left of the rule of law. Hizbollah must allow the investigation to proceed or risk the further weakening of the state. 

Interview with Heiko Wimmen, Crisis Group's Project Director for Iraq, Lebanon, Syria.

Violence Threatens Fraying Rule of Law in Lebanon CRISISGROUP

icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
Lebanon is on the Brink of Economic Collapse
Lebanon is on the Brink of Economic Collapse

Hizbollah and the Lebanese Crisis

The Lebanese crisis has receded from the headlines but has not gone away. Today, all eyes are on the presidential election, the latest arena in the ongoing struggle between pro- and anti-government forces.

  • Share
  • Save
  • Print
  • Download PDF Full Report

Executive Summary

The Lebanese crisis has receded from the headlines but has not gone away. Today, all eyes are on the presidential election, the latest arena in the ongoing struggle between pro- and anti-government forces. Yet even if a compromise candidate is found, none of the country’s underlying problems will have been addressed, chief among them the status of Hizbollah’s weapons. If the election is to be more than a mere prelude to the next showdown, all parties and their external allies need to move away from maximalist demands and agree on a package deal that accepts for now Hizbollah’s armed status while constraining the ways in which its weapons can be used.

Looking back over the past ten months, Lebanese can feel somewhat relieved. The massive demonstrations in December 2006, followed by a general strike and clashes between pro- and anti-government forces with strong sectarian overtones, as well as a series of assassinations and car bombs, brought the nation perilously close to breakdown. State institutions are virtually paralysed; the government barely governs; the economic crisis is deepening; mediation efforts have failed; political murders continue; and militias, anticipating possible renewed conflict, are rearming. Still, fearful of the consequences of their own actions, leaders of virtually every shade took a welcome step back.

An important explanation lies in Hizbollah’s realisation that its efforts to bring down the government carried dangerous consequences. Facing calls for its disarmament and denunciations of its (allegedly foreign-inspired) adventurism in triggering the July 2006 war, the movement concluded that the government of Prime Minister Fouad Siniora and its backers were hostile actors intent on cutting it down to size and further aligning Lebanon with the West. As a result, it carried the fight squarely on the domestic scene, removing Shiite ministers, taking to the streets and pushing for the government’s ouster. This resort to street politics was risky and ultimately self-defeating. At almost every social level, Shiite support for Hizbollah has solidified, a result of both the movement’s longstanding efforts to consolidate its hold over the community and a highly polarised post-war environment. Former Shiite adversaries are, for the time being, silencing their differences, viewing the movement’s weapons as their best defence in an environment where Shiites feel besieged from both within and without.

But while the movement demonstrated its mobilisation capacity and enjoyed support from an important segment of the Christian community, its use of an essentially Shiite base to bring down a Sunni-dominated government reinforced sectarian loyalties. Sunnis and many Christians were alarmed at Hizbollah’s might and ability unilaterally to trigger a devastating confrontation; they increasingly saw it as a Shiite not national movement and as advancing an Iranian or Syrian not Lebanese agenda. In short, while the movement sought to highlight the conflict’s political stakes, the street battles quickly morphed into confessional ones, forcing Hizbollah into a sectarian straitjacket and threatening to distract it from its primary objectives.

Hizbollah faces other dilemmas. Deployment of the army and of a reinforced United Nations (UN) force at the Israeli border have significantly reduced its military margin of manoeuvre. The movement’s Shiite social base also is exhausted and war-weary, a result of Israel’s intensive campaign. Sectarian tensions restrict Shiites’ capacity to take refuge among other communities in the event of renewed confrontation with Israel. Hizbollah thus has been forced into a defensive mode, prepared for conflict but far from eager for it.

Hizbollah appears to be in search of a solution that defuses sectarian tensions and reflects its new military posture. Its discomfort presents an opportunity to make some progress on the question of its armed status. Of course, Hizbollah will not compromise at any price. Its priorities are clear: to maintain its weapons and protect Lebanon as well as the Middle East from Israeli and U.S. influence through a so-called axis of refusal that includes Iran, Syria and Hamas. Should it feel the need, it likely would perpetuate Lebanon’s political paralysis, even at the cost of further alienating non-Shiites; mobilise its constituents, even at the risk of reducing itself ever more to a sectarian movement; and protect Syrian or Iranian interests, even at the expense of its national reputation.

Lebanese parties and their foreign allies should seek a package deal on a domestic arrangement that, while postponing the question of Hizbollah’s weapons, restricts their usage – in other words, that neither resolves nor ignores the problem. The elements of the deal will be neither easy to negotiate nor a panacea, and they will provide at best a temporary reprieve. Without fundamental political reform, Lebanon’s political system – based on power sharing between sectarian factions – inevitably will encourage cyclic crises, governmental deadlock, unaccountability and sectarianism. More importantly, the country’s future is intricately tied to the regional confrontation that plunged it into armed conflict with Israel, paralysed its politics and brought it to the brink of renewed civil war. There can be no sustainable solution for Lebanon without a solution that addresses those issues as well – beginning with relations between the U.S., Israel, Syria and Iran.

Beirut/Brussels, 10 October 2007

Lebanon is on the Brink of Economic Collapse

The accumulation of crises is driving ever greater numbers of Lebanese into absolute poverty. While the COVID-19 lockdown is gradually easing, the loss of jobs and purchasing power triggered new protests that are turning violent and may prefigure the disintegration of state capacity and institutions.

Lebanon is on the Brink of Economic Collapse

CRISISGROUP