icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Youtube
إيران: هل هناك مخرج من المأزق النووي؟
إيران: هل هناك مخرج من المأزق النووي؟
تحولات خطرة في المواجهة الأمريكية - الإيرانية
تحولات خطرة في المواجهة الأمريكية - الإيرانية
Report 51 / Middle East & North Africa

إيران: هل هناك مخرج من المأزق النووي؟

  • Share
  • Save
  • Print
  • Download PDF Full Report

ملخّص تنفيذي

 

ليس هناك مخرج سهل من المأزق النووي الإيراني. إيران التي شد من أزرها الوضع في العراق وأسعار البترول العالية وحفزتها توليفة من الإحساس بعدم الأمان والاعتداد القومي – تصر على حقها في تطوير قدرة لإنتاج دورة وقود نووي كاملة، بما في ذلك القدرة على تخصيب اليورانيوم. إلا أن معظم البلدان الأخرى، وفي الوقت الذي تعترف فيه بدرجات متفاوتة بحق إيران بموجب معاهدة منع انتشار الأسلحة النووية بالحصول على تلك القدرة لأغراض استخدامها السلمي لإنتاج الطاقة، تبدي قلقاً – يعززه افتقار إيران للشفافية في الماضي ودعمها المتواصل لمجموعات قتالية شرق أوسطية وخطابها الرئاسي المهيج – من أنها ما أن تتمكن من تخصيب اليورانيوم بدرجة عالية حتى يصبح بإمكانها ويصبح مغرياً لها إنتاج أسلحة نووية.

ولكن الدبلوماسية التي تقودها أوروبا فشلت حتى الآن في إقناع إيران بأن تتخلى عن طموحاتها بخصوص دورة وقود كاملة، فيما يبدو من غير المرجح أن يوافق مجلس الأمن الدولي على فرض عقوبات قوية بما فيه الكفاية لإرغامها على ذلك، واستخدام حل عسكري وقائي يتميز بأنه خطر وغير منتج على حد سواء.

بيد أنه يبقى هناك سيناريوهان محتملان للوصول إلى تسوية عن طريق التفاوض: الأول والأكثر جاذبية دون شك بالنسبة للمجتمع الدولي هو خيار "تخصيب بدرجة صفر"، وبموجبه تقوم إيران بالتخلي التام عن حقها في تخصيب اليورانيوم مقابل إمدادات مضمونة من هذه المادة من مصادر خارجية وفقاً لمضمون المقترحات الروسية. طهران، ومع أنها لا ترفض كلياً فكرة التزود من الخارج، فقد كشفت عن ترددها في قبول تحديدات كهذه كحل طويل الأمد: ولكي يكون هناك أي فرصة لقبول هذا الاقتراح فلا بد من أن تعرض الولايات المتحدة مزيداً من الحوافز على طاولة المفاوضات.

إذا ما تبين أن هذا الخيار غير ممكن التحقيق –كما يبدو ذلك على الأرجح- فالخيار الدبلوماسي الواقعي المتبقي الوحيد هو، فيما يبدو، "خطة التخصيب المحدود المؤجل" المبينة في هذا التقرير. وسيقبل المجتمع الدولي الأوسع، والغرب على وجه الخصوص، وبصورة لا لبس فيها أنه سيكون بوسع إيران ليس فقط إنتاج طاقة نووية سلمية ولكن سيكون لها أيضاً "الحق في التخصيب" محلياً؛ وسيتعين على إيران مقابل ذلك الموافقة على تأجيل برنامجها للتخصيب لعدة سنوات وفرض تحديدات كبيرة على حجم ومدى هذا التخصيب في المراحل الأولية وقبول نظام للتفتيش المفاجئ في أي وقت.

من المؤكد أن الجانبين سيحتاجان إلى خطة كهذه باعتبارها متطرفة للغاية – الغرب لأنها تسمح لطهران بالوصول في نهاية المطاف إلى قدرة دورة وقود نووي كاملة وما يصاحب ذلك من خطورة تخليها عن معاهدة منع انتشار الأسلحة النووية وامتلاكها، وإيران لأن هذه الخطة تؤجل وتحدد بدرجة كبيرة قدرة إيران على تطوير دورة الوقود. إلا أنه وبتقديم كمية جيدة من الحوافز (خصوصاً من جانب الولايات المتحدة) والعقوبات (خصوصاً من جانب الاتحاد الأوروبي) –على أن يتضمن ذلك التطبيق الملائم لحوافز متعاقبة مدعوماً باحتمالات فرض عقوبات قوية موجهة لأهداف مختارة بعناية- فليس من المستحيل توقع نجاح مفاوضات كهذه.

ينبغي عدم مقارنة هذه التسوية المقترحة لا مع الواقع الهش والغير قابل للدوام القائم حالياً ولا مع خاتمة مثالية قد ترضي الجميع. السيناريوهات الأكثر احتمالاً، في حالة فشل الدبلوماسية، هي الانحدار الشديد إلى وضع غير صحي للغاية يشبه وضع كوريا الشمالية بما في ذلك برنامج نووي غير خاضع للإشراف كلياً يؤدي إلى إنتاج أسلحة نووية وما يترتب على ذلك من عواقب إقليمية لا يمكن التنبؤ بها قد تنجم عن ذلك؛ أو التوجه المحفوف بالمخاطر نحو ضربة عسكرية وقائية كما حدث في العراق وما يترتب عليها من عواقب أكثر خطورة سواءً على المستوى الإقليمي أو في سائر أنحاء العالم.

بروكسل/ واشنطن/ طهران، 23 شباط (فبراير) 2006

Iranians in Tehran protest against the killing of Iranian Revolutionary Guards' Quds Force commander Qassem Soleimani in a U.S. air strike in Iraq. 3 January 2020. AFP/Fatemeh Bahrami

تحولات خطرة في المواجهة الأمريكية - الإيرانية

With the assassination of Iranian General Qassem Soleimani, the U.S.-Iran standoff has shifted from attrition toward open conflict. Tehran will retaliate – the only question is how – prompting another response from Washington. Allies of both should intercede to stop the exchange from spinning out of control.

يشكل اغتيال الولايات المتحدة لقاسم سليماني، قائد فيلق القدس في الحرس الثوري الإسلامي الإيراني، نقطة تحول دراماتيكية. فقد وضعت واشنطن سليماني نصب عينيها منذ عدة سنوات، وكان من المحتمل أن يأمر الرؤساء الأمريكيون المتعاقبون باغتياله في الماضي. أما حقيقة أنهم اختاروا عدم القيام بذلك فتشير إلى أنه كانت لديهم هواجس من أن الأثمان التي ستترتب على ذلك تفوق المزايا المتأتية منه. باتخاذ الرئيس دونالد ترامب لهذا القرار فإنه يوضح بجلاء أنه ملتزم بحسابات مختلفة؛ بمعنى أنه بوجود اختلال كبير في توازن القوى، فإن إيران لديها ما تخشاه من الحرب أكثر بكثير مما لدى الولايات المتحدة. طبقاً لهذه الرؤية، كان المقصود أن تشكل الضربة التي قتلت الجنرال الإيراني مع آخرين – أبرزهم أبو مهدي المهندس، القيادي الكبير في ميليشيا شيعية عراقية موالية لإيران – رادعاً يهدف إلى وقف المزيد من الهجمات الإيرانية.

من شبه المؤكد أن هذه الضربة يمكن أن تكون أي شيء، لكنها لن تكون رادعاً. قد تخاف إيران من الرد الأمريكي، لكن مخاوفها من إظهار ذلك الخوف أكبر بكثير. من منظورها، لا تستطيع أن تسمح بأن يمر ما تعتبره إعلان حرب دون رد. فهي سترد، وعليها أن تقرر الآن ما إذا كان رد فعلها سيكون مباشراً أو من خلال جملة من الوكلاء والقوات الحليفة التي ساعد سليماني في بنائها؛ أو هل سيكون فورياً أو مؤجلاً؛ في العراق أو في مكان آخر – في الخليج، أو سورية أو أبعد من ذلك. الوجود الأمريكي في العراق، المهتز أصلاً بعد ضربة 29 كانون الأول/ديسمبر التي قتلت نحو 20 من أفراد إحدى الميليشيات العراقية الموالية لإيران، بات الآن معلقاً بخيط واهٍ؛ قد تقرر إدارة ترامب الرحيل، كإجراء وقائي، بدلاً من أن يفرض عليها الرحيل بأوامر من بغداد. كما أن الهدنة في اليمن بين السعودية والمقاتلين الحوثيين المدعومين إيرانياً في خطر أكبر. ولنراقب على نحو خاص إعلان إيران لخطواتها التالية على الجبهة النووية، التي تُتخذ رداً على انتهاك واشنطن لاتفاق العام 2015. وقد كان من المتوقع اتخاذ خطوة خطرة في 6 كانون الثاني؛ ومن المرجح أن تكون تلك الخطوة قد أصبحت أكثر خطورة.

A U.S. president ... has just brought war one step closer ... many across the region will pay the price.

لقد تغيرت اللعبة الأمريكية – الإيرانية. فقد كانت خصومتهما في معظمها تتكشف في الماضي على شكل مواجهة استنزافية؛ فواشنطن تحاصر الاقتصاد الإيراني على أمل أن تؤدي المصاعب الاقتصادية إما إلى استسلام الحكومة لمطالب الولايات المتحدة أو إلى سقوطها؛ وترد طهران بأفعال حافظت على غطاء من إمكانية إنكار المسؤولية على نحو قابل للتصديق. أما استهداف سليماني فمن المرجح أن يشكل تحولاً من الاستنزاف إلى المواجهة المفتوحة.

باختصار، فإن رئيساً أمريكياً ادعى مراراً وتكراراً بأنه لا يرغب بجر بلاده إلى حرب أخرى في الشرق الأوسط قد اتخذ فعلياً خطوة باتجاه تلك الحرب. وإدارة أمريكية تجادل بأنها قتلت الجنرال الإيراني من أجل تفادي هجمات أخرى جعلت وقوع مثل تلك الهجمات أكثر ترجيحاً. إيران سترد؛ والولايات المتحدة سترد على الرد؛ وكثيرون في سائر أنحاء المنطقة سيدفعون الثمن.

عمل مجموعة الأزمات يتمثل في تقديم توصيات سياساتية تهدف إلى تفادي الصراع. كما أن منهج عملها هو الواقعية. الآن، بات نشوب شكل من أشكال الصراع مضموناً؛ ولا شك أن الصراع يسّرته سلسلة من الأفعال الإيرانية التي كانت من تدبير سليماني، لكنها كانت متجذرة في قرار الرئيس ترامب المتهور والقائم على مشورة خاطئة بالخروج من الاتفاق النووي. كما أن إطلاق سياسة ممارسة "أقصى درجات الضغط" أدت لا محالة، وبشكل من شبه المؤكد أنه كان متوقعاً، إلى أزمة اليوم. والحصيلة أكثر مأساوية لأن خطوط الحل كانت واضحة منذ شهور، وتتمثل في هدنة تكتيكية تعود إيران بموجبها إلى الالتزام بالاتفاق النووي، وتضع حداً لاستفزازاتها الإقليمية، مقابل تعليق الأثر الكاسح للعقوبات الأمريكية.

يمكن للمرء أن يأمل وحسب أنه، وبتشجيع وضغوط من حلفاء الطرفين، فإن هذه المبادلات الخطرة سيتم احتواؤها نسبياً ولفترة قصيرة نسبياً. وأنه بعد بضع جولات من الهجمات والهجمات المضادة، فإن رغبة واشنطن بتحاشي انجرارها إلى حرب شرق أوسطية جديدة ومصلحة طهران في تحاشي ضربات أمريكية مدمرة، ستدفعان كلا الطرفين نحو خفض التصعيد. يمكن للمرء أن يأمل وحسب. أما البديل فهو مرعب لدرجة تجعل من الصعب التفكير به.

icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Youtube
Iran: Is There a Way Out of the Nuclear Impasse?
Iran: Is There a Way Out of the Nuclear Impasse?
Table of Contents
  1. Executive Summary
A Perilous Turning Point in the U.S.-Iran Confrontation
A Perilous Turning Point in the U.S.-Iran Confrontation
Report 51 / Middle East & North Africa

Iran: Is There a Way Out of the Nuclear Impasse?

There is no easy way out of the Iranian nuclear dilemma. Iran, emboldened by the situation in Iraq and soaring oil prices, and animated by a combination of insecurity and assertive nationalism, insists on its right to develop full nuclear fuel cycle capability, including the ability to enrich uranium.

  • Share
  • Save
  • Print
  • Download PDF Full Report

Executive Summary

There is no easy way out of the Iranian nuclear dilemma. Iran, emboldened by the situation in Iraq and soaring oil prices, and animated by a combination of insecurity and assertive nationalism, insists on its right to develop full nuclear fuel cycle capability, including the ability to enrich uranium. Most other countries, while acknowledging to varying extents Iran’s right under the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) to acquire that capability for peaceful energy purposes, have a concern – reinforced by Iran’s lack of transparency in the past, continuing support for militant Middle East groups and incendiary presidential rhetoric – that once able to highly enrich uranium, it will be both able and tempted to build nuclear weapons.

But EU-led diplomacy so far has failed to persuade Iran to forego its fuel cycle ambitions; the UN Security Council seems unlikely to agree on sanctions strong enough to force it to do so; and preventive military force is both a dangerous and unproductive option.

Two possible scenarios remain, however, for a negotiated compromise. The first, and unquestionably more attractive for the international community, is a “zero enrichment” option: for Iran to agree to indefinitely relinquish its right to enrich uranium in return for guaranteed supply from an offshore source, along the lines proposed by Russia. Tehran, while not wholly rejecting offshore supply, has made clear its reluctance to embrace such a limitation as a long-term solution: for it to have any chance of acceptance, more incentives from the U.S. need to be on the table than at present.

If this option proves unachievable – as seems, regrettably, more likely than not – the only realistic remaining diplomatic option appears to be the “delayed limited enrichment” plan spelt out in this report. The wider international community, and the West in particular, would explicitly accept that Iran can not only produce peaceful nuclear energy but has the “right to enrich” domestically; in return, Iran would agree to a several-year delay in the commencement of its enrichment program, major limitations on its initial size and scope, and a highly intrusive inspections regime.

Both sides inevitably will protest that this plan goes too far – the West because it permits Tehran to eventually achieve full nuclear fuel cycle capability, with the risk in turn of breakout from the NPT and weapons acquisition, and Iran because it significantly delays and limits the development of that fuel cycle capability. But with significant carrots (particularly from the U.S.) and sticks (particularly from the EU) on the table – involving the appropriate application of sequenced incentives, backed by the prospect of strong and intelligently targeted sanctions – it is not impossible to envisage such a negotiation succeeding.

This proposed compromise should be compared neither to the fragile and unsustainable status quo, nor to some idealised end-state with which all sides might be totally comfortable. The more likely scenarios, if diplomacy fails, are for a rapid descent into an extremely unhealthy North Korea-like situation, with a wholly unsupervised nuclear program leading to the production of nuclear weapons and all the dangerously unpredictable regional consequences that might flow from that; or a perilous move to an Iraq-like preventive military strike, with even more far-reaching and alarming consequences both regionally and world-wide.

Brussels/Washington/Tehran, 23 February 2006

Iranians in Tehran protest against the killing of Iranian Revolutionary Guards' Quds Force commander Qassem Soleimani in a U.S. air strike in Iraq. 3 January 2020. AFP/Fatemeh Bahrami

A Perilous Turning Point in the U.S.-Iran Confrontation

With the assassination of Iranian General Qassem Soleimani, the U.S.-Iran standoff has shifted from attrition toward open conflict. Tehran will retaliate – the only question is how – prompting another response from Washington. Allies of both should intercede to stop the exchange from spinning out of control.

The killing by the U.S. of Qassem Soleimani, the head of Iran’s Islamic Revolutionary Guards Corps Quds Force, marks a dramatic turning point. Soleimani had been in Washington’s crosshairs for many years, and successive U.S. presidents could likely have ordered his assassination in the past. That they chose not to do so suggests that they worried the costs would outweigh the benefits. With his decision, President Donald Trump is making clear that he abides by a different calculus: that, given the vast power imbalance, Iran has far more to fear from war than does the U.S. The strike that killed the Iranian general along with others – notably Abu Mahdi al-Muhandis, a senior commander of the pro-Iranian Iraqi Shiite militia – was, in accordance with this view, meant as a deterrent to further Iranian attacks.

It is almost certain to be anything but. Iran may fear U.S. retaliation, but it fears projecting that fear even more. From its perspective, it cannot allow what it views as a declaration of war to remain unanswered. It will respond and now must decide whether its reaction will be direct or through the array of proxies and allied forces Soleimani helped build; immediate or deferred; in Iraq or elsewhere – in the Gulf, Syria or beyond. The U.S. presence in Iraq, already shaky after the 29 December strike that killed two dozen members of a pro-Iranian Iraqi militia, is now hanging by a thread; the Trump administration may decide to depart preemptively rather than be forced to leave on Baghdad’s orders. The truce in Yemen between Saudi Arabia and Iran-backed Huthi fighters also is in greater jeopardy. Watch in particular for Iran’s announcement of its next steps on the nuclear front, taken in response to Washington’s violation of the 2015 deal. A serious step on 6 January had been predicted; in all likelihood, it just got far more serious.

A U.S. president ... has just brought war one step closer ... many across the region will pay the price.

The U.S.-Iranian game has changed. Their rivalry for the most part played out as an attritional standoff: Washington laying siege to Iran’s economy in hopes that financial duress would lead either to its government’s capitulation to U.S. demands or to its ouster; and Tehran responding with actions that maintained a veneer of plausible deniability. Targeting Soleimani is liable to mark a shift from attrition toward open confrontation.

In short, a U.S. president who repeatedly claimed that he does not wish to drag the country into another Middle East war has just brought that war one step closer. And a U.S. administration that argues it killed the Iranian general in order to avert further attacks just made those attacks more likely. Iran will retaliate; the U.S. will avenge the retaliation; and many across the region will pay the price.

Crisis Group is in the business of policy recommendations aimed at averting conflict. It is also in the business of realism. Some kind of conflict is now all but guaranteed, facilitated no doubt by a series of Iranian actions of which Soleimani was a mastermind, but rooted in President Trump’s ill-advised and reckless decision to exit the nuclear deal and embark on a policy of “maximum pressure” that led, almost inexorably and certainly predictably, to today’s crisis. The outcome is all the more tragic because the contours of a solution have been apparent for months: a tactical détente whereby Iran fully restores its compliance with the nuclear deal, and ends its regional provocations, in return for a reprieve from the crushing impact of U.S. sanctions.

One can only hope that, with encouragement and pressure from the two sides’ respective allies, this perilous tit-for-tat will be relatively contained and of relatively short duration. That, after a few rounds of attack and counter-attack, Washington’s desire to avoid getting sucked into another Middle East war and Tehran’s interest in averting devastating U.S. strikes, will drive both toward de-escalation. One can only hope. The alternative is too horrific to contemplate.