Arrow Left Arrow Right Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Twitter Video Camera Youtube
الحوثيين ليسوا حزب الله
الحوثيين ليسوا حزب الله
How All Sides of Yemen’s War Are Weaponising Hunger and Creating a Famine
How All Sides of Yemen’s War Are Weaponising Hunger and Creating a Famine

الحوثيين ليسوا حزب الله

Originally published in Foreign Policy

يريد دونالد ترامب تصعيد الحرب بالوكالة في اليمن ضد إيران، لكن ثمة مشكلة صغيرة هي أن طهران ليس لها فعلياً وكلاء هناك.

إن الساحة الأولى التي اختارتها إدارة ترامب لمواجهة إيران هي اليمن. ما يسعد حلفاء ترامب في الخليج الفارسي، خصوصاً السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة، هو ما يبدو من أن فريق الرئيس لشؤون الأمن القومي ينظر إلى الحوثيين – وهي ميليشيا يمنية متجذرة في التراث الشيعي الزيدي في البلاد تقاتل حالياً إلى جانب شرائح واسعة من الجيش والمجموعات القبلية الشمالية المتحالفة مع الرئيس السابق علي عبد الله صالح ضد طيف من الخصوم المحليين – تماماً كما ينظر إلى حزب الله، أي كجزء من خطة إيرانية كبرى لبناء تحالف شيعي قوي ضد عدوها الأكبر إسرائيل ومنافستها الإقليمية السعودية.

ثمة مشكلة واحدة في هذه الفرضية هي أن الحوثيين ليسوا حزب الله، ورغم أنهم يعبّرون علناً عن تعاطفهم مع الجمهورية الإسلامية، فإنهم لم يطوروا علاقة وثيقة مشابهة لتلك التي طورها الحزب مع طهران. لكن الجهود المتضافرة لواشنطن وحلفائها الخليجيين من شأنها أن تدفع الحوثيين إلى أحضان طهران.

من المفيد مقارنة نشوء الحوثيين مع نشوء حزب الله. ولد حزب الله في لبنان في خضم الغزو الإسرائيلي عام 1982 واحتلاله لذلك البلد. وتغذى على الطيف الواسع من مصادر استياء شيعة لبنان المتمثلة في ضعف تمثيلهم في النظام السياسي اللبناني، ووجود مسلحين فلسطينيين (كانوا يستخدمون جنوب لبنان كمنصة لإطلاق هجماتهم على الأراضي الإسرائيلية)، ورد إسرائيل غير التمييزي عليهم والذي كان الشيعة بين ضحاياه الرئيسيين. حدث هذا بعد ثلاث سنوات فقط من الثورة الإسلامية، عندما بدا الحرس الثوري الإيراني، الذي ارتفعت معنوياته نتيجة النصر السياسي الذي حققه خصوصاً بعد أن صد غزواً عراقياً، حريصاً على نشر أيديولوجيته على مدى اتساع العالم الشيعي.

بدأ حزب الله بوصفه تجربة إيرانية وفرصة يمكن لطهران استغلالها. لكن بمرور الوقت، أصبح شيئاً أكثر جوهرية، أي ممثلاً شعبياً حقيقياً للطائفة الشيعية في لبنان (ولو أنه لا يلقى المديح من جميع أفرادها) وميليشيا مستعدة لمواجهة التعديات الإسرائيلية على السيادة اللبنانية. وقد أكسبه هذا دعماً على مضض من قبل سُنّة ومسيحيي لبنان؛ وطالما أنه لم يقدم نفسه كلاعب طائفي، فقد حظي بإعجاب واسع في العالم العربي أيضاً. على مدى عقود، ظلت حقيقة أن حزب الله كان يتلقى ترسانته من الأسلحة من إيران عبر سورية مصدر قلق ثانوي للعرب – إلى أن أبرزت حرب 2006 بين لبنان وإسرائيل قوته العسكرية المقلقة بالنسبة لبعض الأنظمة العربية.

خلال السنوات الأربع الماضية، تغير التصور الشائع عن حزب الله بشكل جذري. تدخّله في الحرب الأهلية السورية حوله إلى شريك لا غنى عنه لإيران في المحافظة على النظام المجرم للرئيس السوري بشار الأسد، وبالتالي على الشريان الحيوي الذي يمد الحزب بالأسلحة. مع وصول التنافس بين إيران والسعودية إلى نقطة الغليان في مختلف أنحاء الشرق الأوسط، تبنى حزب الله النزعة الطائفية التي يزعم البعض أنها طالما كانت سمته المميزة.

تختلف أصول الحوثيين عن أصول حزب الله، لكن ثمة أوجه شبه مهمة بينهما أيضاً. تدعي المجموعة أنها تحمي الطائفة الزيدية في اليمن – وهم الشيعة الذين يعد معتقدهم الديني أقرب إلى سنة اليمن منه إلى معتنقي الشيعية الاثني عشرية التي تشكل الأغلبية في إيران، والعراق ولبنان – وبدأت المشاركة في الحياة السياسية الوطنية بوصفها حركة قاعدية إحيائية تعارض التوسع السلفي في المناطق الزيدية. في مطلع الألفية، تحول الحوثيون إلى ميليشيا تتعاطف سياسياً مع إيران وحزب الله، وتتخذ موقفاً علنياً معارضاً للولايات المتحدة، والسعودية، وإسرائيل. بين عامي 2004 و2010، انخرطوا في ست جولات من الحرب مع جيش الرئيس اليمني آنذاك علي عبد الله صالح واكتسبوا قوة خلال تلك العملية بفضل استيلائهم على مستودعات أسلحة الجيش.

لربما كان الحوثيون سيستمرون في القتال لولا اندلاع الانتفاضة اليمنية عام 2011، عندما هز الربيع العربي نظام صالح ووصل إلى أوجه في العملية الانتقالية التي توسطت في إنجازها وفرضتها جزئياً السعودية. تم استبدال صالح بنائبه، عبد ربه منصور هادي. وعلى مدى سنتين، شارك الحوثيون في اللعبة السياسية، وشاركوا في الحوار الوطني حتى مع محاولتهم ترجيح كفة التوازن العسكري في الشمال لصالحهم. عندما ترنحت عملية الانتقال السياسي، تحول الحوثيون إلى حمل السلاح وهاجموا العاصمة صنعاء في أيلول/سبتمبر 2014، وبعد بضعة أشهر أقالوا هادي، الذي هرب إلى عدن وبعد ذلك بوقت قصير إلى السعودية.

كما شكل الحوثيون تحالفاً مع عدوهم السابق، صالح. الرئيس السابق رأى في الحوثيين – المقاتلين الأشداء لكن الإداريين السيئين – فرصة للانتقام من أولئك الذين انقلبوا ضده عام 2011، وربما لاستعادة السلطة. تجاوزت القوة المشتركة للحوثيين وأجزاء من القوات المسلحة التي لا تزال موالية لصالح خطاً أحمر سعودياً؛ ففي آذار/مارس 2015، أطلقت السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة، بمساعدة من الولايات المتحدة وبريطانيا، هجوماً جوياً، وبعد ذلك بوقت قصير هجوما برياً لعكس التقدم الذي كان تحالف الحوثي – صالح قد حققه. بعد نحو عامين من ذلك، لا زالوا يقاتلون ملحقين الدمار بأفقر بلدان العالم العربي خلال هذه العملية.

حتى الآن، وبصرف النظر عن خطاب طهران القوي المؤيد للحوثيين، لم يتم العثور على دليل ملموس يذكر على الدعم الإيراني لهم. لقد كان هناك أدلة على بعض شحنات الأسلحة الصغيرة، ومن المرجح أنه كان يتم تقديم المشورة العسكرية من قبل حزب الله وضباط الحرس الثوري الإيراني، الذين ربما ساعدوا الحوثيين في إطلاق الصواريخ على الأراضي السعودية واستهداف السفن السعودية في البحر الأحمر. في هذه الأثناء، فإن الدعم العسكري والاستخباراتي الأمريكي والبريطاني للتحالف الذي تقوده السعودية يتجاوز بعدة مرات الدعم الذي تلقاه الحوثيون من طهران.

الحرب تقوي الحوثيين الذين باتوا يحملون الآن راية الدفاع عن الوطن ضد العدوان الخارجي. في الواقع فإن السعودية احتلت بالنسبة للحوثيين المكانة التي طالما احتلتها اسرائيل بالنسبة لحزب الله. يرى حزب الله اللبناني في إسرائيل محتلاً أجنبياً للأرض العربية وقامعاً لشعبها ويعتبر أنها، إضافة إلى الولايات المتحدة والدول الغربية الأخرى، لديها مخططات أكبر للمنطقة. بالنسبة للحوثيين، فإن السعودية معتد خارجي، وهي أيضاً جزء من مؤامرة أمريكية – إسرائيلية للهيمنة على المنطقة.

إلا أن قصة صعود الحوثيين إلى السلطة تظهر أن دوافعهم تتركز أساساً في أجندة محلية، وليس في أجندة إقليمية. إنهم يتمتعون بدعم قوي ودائم في الشمال الزيدي. وبالتالي فإن تصعيد الحرب لن يغير ذلك، حتى مع وجود دعم أمريكي أكبر للتحالف الذي تقوده السعودية. إذا حدث ذلك في كل الأحوال، فإن الحوثيين سيكونون مستعدين للقبول بدعم عسكري ومالي إضافي يمكن أن تقدمه إيران. بالنسبة لإيران، فإن اليمن كان وسيلة غير مكلفة لاستعداء السعودية، التي أنفقت المليارات على حرب اليمن بينما اكتفت إيران بالإنفاق من موازنة محدودة جداً بالمقارنة مع ما تنفقه السعودية.

قد تنظر إدارة ترامب إلى اليمن بوصفه مجالاً مناسباً لإظهار تصميمها على مواجهة فرض إيران لوجودها دون التسبب بحرب أكبر على امتداد الشرق الأوسط. في سورية، على النقيض من ذلك، ركزت الولايات المتحدة تفكيرها بشكل حصري على تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية بدلاً من تركيزها على الفظائع التي يرتكبها نظام الأسد بحق شعبه؛ كما أن العمل العسكري الأكثر قوة ضد إيران ووكلائها هناك من شأنه أن يحمل مخاطر أكبر، بالنظر إلى تحالف إيران مع روسيا. في العراق، يمكن أن تكون الولايات المتحدة ’بحاجة‘ لإيران – على شكل ميليشيات شيعية تكون شريكاً جوهرياً للجيش العراقي الضعيف بحكم تكوينه في الحرب ضد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية الذي رسخ وجوده في الموصل. في الخليج، من شأن الاحتكاك بالأسطول الإيراني أن يخاطر بمواجهة مباشرة أوسع مع إيران.

وبالتالي فإن واشنطن قد تقدم دعماً عسكرياً متزايداً للتحالف الذي تقوده السعودية، بل يمكن حتى أن توجه ضربات مباشرة للأصول الحوثية في اليمن كي تكون رسالة قوية وغير مكلفة لطهران. من شأن ذلك بالتأكيد أن يسعد السعودية، التي راهن ولي ولي عهدها، محمد بن سلمان، بسمعته على كسب الحرب، وحليفتها الإمارات العربية المتحدة. ربما تأمل هذه الدول أنها بدعم من الولايات المتحدة يمكنها أن تلحق الهزيمة بتحالف الحوثي – صالح أو على الأقل أن تفرض عليه تقديم تنازلات مهمة على طاولة المفاوضات.

قد يتبين أن مثل تلك الحسابات ستشكل خطأ خطيراً. في حين أن الحوثيين مرتبطون بإيران، فإن إيران لا تسيطر على قرارهم؛ فطبقاً لعدة مقابلات أجريت مع مسؤولين أمريكيين ومع الحوثيين أنفسهم، فإن الزعماء الحوثيين تجاهلوا طهران كلياً عندما نصحتهم بعدم الاستيلاء على صنعاء. حتى الآن، يبدو أن إيران فعلت ما يكفي لاستعداء وتخويف السعوديين – وضمنت بذلك غرقهم في المستنقع اليمني، وإنفاقهم مليارات الدولارات على حرب لم يقتربوا حتى من تحقيق الانتصار فيها.

إذا اندفع ترامب إلى الحرب اليمنية، فإن هناك مخاطرة حقيقية جداً بأن يخرج الصراع عن السيطرة. يمكن أن توفر اليمن ساحة سهلة لطهران ترد فيها على السعودية. يمكن لأحد السيناريوهات المحتملة أن يكون على شكل انتفاضة بوحي من إيران في المنطقة الشرقية من السعودية، مصحوبة باندفاعة حوثية إلى نجران ومدن أخرى في الجنوب، وإطلاق صواريخ على السفن السعودية التي تعبر مضيق باب المندب. من شأن ذلك أن يشكل تهديداً جدياً للاستقرار الداخلي في السعودية.

يؤكد قادة التحالف الذي تقوده السعودية على أنهم ينبغي أن يستمروا في الحرب لأنهم لا يستطيعون القبول بكيان شبيه بحزب الله على حدودهم. إذا كان ما يشيرون إليه هو وجود ميليشيا من غير الدولة مسلحة تسليحاً ثقيلاً على حدودهم، فإن هذا قد حدث فعلاً ولن يؤدي استمرار الحرب سوى إلى تفاقم هذا الوضع وحسب. لكن إذا كانت الخشية من حليف إيراني، فإنهم ينجحون فقط في دفع مجموعة ذات أجندة تطغى عليها الشواغل المحلية إلى حضن طهران.

إن السبيل إلى التعامل مع الحوثيين لا يكمن في الاستمرار في حرب لا يمكن الانتصار فيها. بدلاً من ذلك، ينبغي دفع الأطراف اليمنية إلى العودة إلى طاولة المفاوضات. إذا كانت السعودية وحلفاؤها يدعمون فعلاً قيام إدارة لا مركزية حقيقية وحكماً تشارك فيه جميع الأطراف، فإن الحوثيين يمكنهم أن يضعفوا أنفسهم وحسب، حيث لأيديولوجيتهم جاذبية محدودة، ولا يمتلكون مهارات في الحكم، ومن المحتم أن حزب صالح والمجموعات المتحالفة مع السعودية ستشكل ثقلاً يحقق التوازن معهم. لا تستطيع الولايات المتحدة والسعودية الخروج من حرب اليمن عن طريق القتال، لكن إذا كانتا تتمتعان بالدهاء الاستراتيجي الذي تتمتع به إيران، فإن بوسعهما السماح للحوثيين بالغرق في العملية السياسية الفوضوية التي ساعدوا هم أنفسهم في إطلاقها.

Contributors

Senior Analyst, Arabian Peninsula
Program Director, Middle East and North Africa
JoostHiltermann

How All Sides of Yemen’s War Are Weaponising Hunger and Creating a Famine

Originally published in World Politics Review

With the world's largest hunger crisis, Yemen sits precariously on the brink of famine. Avoiding it will require all warring parties to desist from weaponising Yemen's increasingly fragile economy and return to the negotiating table.

As the fate of Yemen hangs in the balance, the military coalition led by Saudi Arabia that supports the government of Yemeni President Abed Rabbo Mansour Hadi is about to escalate its two-year-old war by launching a new offensive in the key Red Sea port of Hodeida. The move aims to throttle Hadi’s enemies, Houthi rebels aligned with former President Ali Abdullah Saleh, but it is more likely to choke the country’s population, tipping it from hunger and starvation into outright famine. 

Hodeida, the country’s busiest and most important port, is responsible for 80 percent of northern Yemen’s imports. If the Saudi-led coalition proceeds with an offensive against Houthi and pro-Saleh forces ensconced in the port, it will cut a lifeline sustaining the bulk of Yemen’s population, including in the capital, Sanaa. 

Yemen is almost totally dependent on imports for staple commodities, with 17 million people out of a population of 24 million currently in need of urgent humanitarian assistance. Four million are acutely malnourished. Already in December 2016, Yemeni women and children made up almost two-thirds of those suffering acute malnutrition.

Avoiding famine—if this is still possible—will require Saudi-backed forces to refrain from what promises to be a protracted and bloody battle for Hodeida that is unlikely to do anything but encourage the Houthi-Saleh alliance to open fronts elsewhere, including even inside Saudi Arabia, and appeal increasingly to Iran for military support. There is no alternative to using the Red Sea port in terms of location and infrastructure to ship food to the Houthi- and Saleh-controlled north.

Since war broke out in March 2015, both Saudi-led forces and the Houthi-Saleh bloc have weaponized Yemen’s economy by hindering the movement of aid and commercial goods to areas they are besieging. Shortages, delays and long queues for food quickly resulted.

Read the full article at World Politics Review.

Contributors

Program Director, Middle East and North Africa
JoostHiltermann
Senior Analyst, Arabian Peninsula

Arrow Left Arrow Right Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Twitter Video Camera Youtube
How All Sides of Yemen’s War Are Weaponising Hunger and Creating a Famine
How All Sides of Yemen’s War Are Weaponising Hunger and Creating a Famine

The Houthis Are Not Hezbollah

Originally published in Foreign Policy

Donald Trump wants to ramp up Yemen's proxy fight against Iran. One small problem: Tehran doesn't really have a proxy there.

The first arena in which the Trump administration confronts Iran is shaping up to be Yemen. To the delight of Trump’s Persian Gulf allies, particularly Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates, the president’s national security team appears to view the Houthis — a Yemeni militia rooted in the country’s Zaydi Shiite tradition that is currently fighting alongside large parts of the army and northern tribal groupings aligned with former President Ali Abdullah Saleh against an array of domestic opponents — much as they view Hezbollah. That is to say, as part of an Iranian grand plan to build a powerful Shiite alliance against arch-foe Israel and regional competitor Saudi Arabia.

There’s only one problem: The Houthis are not Hezbollah and, despite their publicly expressed sympathies for the Islamic Republic, have not developed a similarly tight relationship with Tehran. Yet the combined efforts of Washington and its Gulf allies could still drive the Houthis into Tehran’s arms.

It’s instructive to compare the rise of the Houthis with that of Hezbollah. Lebanon’s “Party of God” was born in the cauldron of Israel’s 1982 invasion and occupation of that country. It fed on the Lebanese Shiite population’s myriad resentments: their under-representation in Lebanon’s political system, the presence of Palestinian militants (who used southern Lebanon as a launching pad for attacks on Israeli soil), and Israel’s indiscriminate response, of which they were among the main victims. This was a mere three years after the Islamic Revolution, when Iranian Revolutionary Guards, buoyed by political victory and having blocked an Iraqi invasion, were keen to spread their ideology across the Shiite world.

[T]he combined efforts of Washington and its Gulf allies could still drive the Houthis into Tehran’s arms.

Hezbollah started out as an Iranian experiment, an opportunity Tehran could exploit. But over time, it became something far more substantial: a true and popular (if not universally lauded) representative of Lebanon’s Shiite community with a militia willing to stand up to Israeli infringements of Lebanese sovereignty. This earned it grudging support among Lebanon’s Sunnis and Christians, and — as long as it didn’t pose as a sectarian actor — broad admiration in the Arab world as well. For decades, the fact that Hezbollah received its arsenal from Iran via Syria remained a minor Arab concern — until the 2006 war between Lebanon and Israel highlighted for some Arab regimes its troublesome military power.

In the last four years, the perception of Hezbollah has changed dramatically. Its intervention in the Syrian civil war transformed it into Iran’s indispensable partner in preserving Syrian President Bashar al-Assad’s murderous regime and, thereby, the party’s own weapons lifeline. As the rivalry between Iran and Saudi Arabia reaches a boiling point across the Middle East, Hezbollah has embraced the sectarianism that some claim has long defined it.

The Houthis’ genealogy differs from Hezbollah’s, but there are important similarities as well. The group professes to protect Yemen’s Zaidi community — Shiites who in religious belief are closer to Yemen’s Sunnis than to adherents of Twelver Shiism predominant in Iran, Iraq, and Lebanon — and started in national politics as a grassroots revivalist movement opposed to Salafi expansion into Zaydi areas. In the early 2000s, they morphed into a militia with a political affinity for Iran and Hezbollah, and a posture explicitly opposed to the United States, Saudi Arabia, and Israel. Between 2004 and 2010, they fought six rounds of war with then-President Ali Abdullah Saleh’s army, gaining strength in the process from captured army depots.

The Houthis might have fought on but for the outbreak of the Yemeni uprising in 2011, when the Arab Spring shook the Saleh regime and culminated in a transition brokered and enforced in part by Saudi Arabia. Saleh was replaced by his deputy, Abed Rabbo Mansour Hadi. For two years, the Houthis played politics, participating in a national dialogue even as they worked to turn the military balance in the north in their favor. When the political transition faltered, the Houthis reverted to arms, storming capital of Sanaa in September 2014 and, a few months later, ousting Hadi, who fled to Aden and, shortly after, Saudi Arabia.

The Houthis also forged an alliance with their former enemy, Saleh. The ex-president saw in the Houthis — strong fighters but poor administrators — an opportunity to exact revenge on those who had turned against him in 2011, and possibly to regain power. The combined strength of the Houthis and parts of the armed forces still loyal to Saleh crossed a Saudi red line: In March 2015, Saudi Arabia and the UAE, with assistance from the United States and United Kingdom, launched an air and, soon after, ground assault to reverse advances by the Houthi-Saleh alliance. Almost two years later, they are still fighting — laying waste to the Arab world’s poorest country in the process.

Saudi Arabia has become to the Houthis what Israel has long been to Hezbollah.

Until now, and apart from Tehran’s strong pro-Houthi rhetoric, very little hard evidence has turned up of Iranian support to the Houthis. There has been evidence of some small arms shipments and, likely, military advice from Hezbollah and Revolutionary Guard officers, who may have helped the Houthis in firing missiles into Saudi territory and targeting Saudi vessels in the Red Sea. Meanwhile, U.S. and British military and intelligence support to the Saudi-led coalition exceeds by many factors any amount of support the Houthis have received from Tehran.

The war is strengthening the Houthis, who have has now taken up the banner of defending the nation against external aggression. In fact, Saudi Arabia has become to the Houthis what Israel has long been to Hezbollah. The Lebanese “Party of God” sees Israel as an alien occupier of Arab land and oppressor of its people that, along with the United States and other Western countries, has larger designs on the region.  For the Houthis, Saudi Arabia is an external aggressor, and likewise part of a U.S-Israeli plot to dominate the region.

But the story of the Houthis’ rise to power shows that they are motivated primarily by a domestic agenda, rather than a regional one. They enjoy strong and durable support in the Zaydi north. Escalating the war will not change that, even with greater U.S. support for the Saudi-led coalition. If that were to happen anyway, the Houthis would readily accept additional Iranian military and financial support, which Iran may offer. For Iran, Yemen has been a cost-effective way of antagonizing Saudi Arabia, which has spent billions on Yemen’s war while Tehran has operated on a shoestring budget by comparison.

The Trump administration may view Yemen as an opportune area to demonstrate its resolve to counter Iranian assertiveness without triggering a larger war across the Middle East. In Syria, by contrast, the United States is single-mindedly focused on the Islamic State rather than the Assad regime’s depredations against its own people; more forceful action against Iran or its proxies there would carry greater risks, given Iran’s alliance with Russia. In Iraq, the United States may well need Iran — in the form of Shiite militias — as an essential partner of the congenitally weak Iraqi army in the fight against that same Islamic State, which has entrenched itself in Mosul. In the Gulf, tangling with the Iranian navy would risk a broader direct confrontation with Iran.

Washington might thus see increased military support for the Saudi-led coalition and even direct strikes against Houthi assets in Yemen as a strong, low-cost message to Tehran. It would certainly be greeted with delight by Saudi Arabia, whose deputy crown prince, Mohammad bin Salman, has staked his reputation on winning the war, and its ally the United Arab Emirates. These states may hope that with U.S. backing they can defeat the Houthi-Saleh alliance, or at least compel it to make significant concessions at the negotiating table.

If Trump rushes headfirst into the Yemeni war, there is a very real risk that the conflict will spiral out of control.

Such a calculation might prove to be a serious mistake. While the Houthis are tied to Iran, Iran does not control their decision-making; according to multiple interviews with U.S. officials and the Houthis themselves, Houthi leaders flatly ignored Tehran when the latter advised them not to take Sanaa. Until now, Iran appears to have done just enough to antagonize and frighten the Saudis — thus ensuring that they are bogged down in Yemen’s quicksand, spending billions of dollars on a war they are nowhere close to winning.

If Trump rushes headfirst into the Yemeni war, there is a very real risk that the conflict will spiral out of control. Yemen would offer an easy place for Tehran to strike back at Saudi Arabia: A possible scenario could be an Iran-inspired uprising in Saudi Arabia’s Eastern Province, combined with a Houthi push into Najran and other cities in the south, and rockets fired at Saudi vessels seeking to cross the Bab al-Mandab strait. This could seriously threaten Saudi Arabia’s internal stability.

Leaders of the Saudi-led coalition argue that they must continue the war because they cannot accept a Hezbollah-like entity on their border. If what they are referring to is a heavily armed and hostile nonstate militia on their border, that ship has sailed and the situation is only aggravated by continued war. But if the fear is an Iranian ally, they are only succeeding in pushing a group with a predominantly domestic agenda into Tehran’s arms.

The way to handle the Houthis is not to continue an unwinnable war. Instead, it is to push Yemeni parties back to the negotiating table: If Saudi Arabia and its allies support genuine decentralization and inclusive governance, the Houthis can only weaken themselves, as their ideology has limited appeal, they are unskilled at governing, and they will inevitably be balanced by Saleh’s party and Saudi-aligned groups. The United States and Saudi Arabia can’t shoot their way out of the war in Yemen — but if they are as strategically astute as Iran, they could allow the Houthis to get mired in the messy political process they themselves helped bring about.

Contributors

Senior Analyst, Arabian Peninsula
Program Director, Middle East and North Africa
JoostHiltermann

How All Sides of Yemen’s War Are Weaponising Hunger and Creating a Famine

Originally published in World Politics Review

With the world's largest hunger crisis, Yemen sits precariously on the brink of famine. Avoiding it will require all warring parties to desist from weaponising Yemen's increasingly fragile economy and return to the negotiating table.

As the fate of Yemen hangs in the balance, the military coalition led by Saudi Arabia that supports the government of Yemeni President Abed Rabbo Mansour Hadi is about to escalate its two-year-old war by launching a new offensive in the key Red Sea port of Hodeida. The move aims to throttle Hadi’s enemies, Houthi rebels aligned with former President Ali Abdullah Saleh, but it is more likely to choke the country’s population, tipping it from hunger and starvation into outright famine. 

Hodeida, the country’s busiest and most important port, is responsible for 80 percent of northern Yemen’s imports. If the Saudi-led coalition proceeds with an offensive against Houthi and pro-Saleh forces ensconced in the port, it will cut a lifeline sustaining the bulk of Yemen’s population, including in the capital, Sanaa. 

Yemen is almost totally dependent on imports for staple commodities, with 17 million people out of a population of 24 million currently in need of urgent humanitarian assistance. Four million are acutely malnourished. Already in December 2016, Yemeni women and children made up almost two-thirds of those suffering acute malnutrition.

Avoiding famine—if this is still possible—will require Saudi-backed forces to refrain from what promises to be a protracted and bloody battle for Hodeida that is unlikely to do anything but encourage the Houthi-Saleh alliance to open fronts elsewhere, including even inside Saudi Arabia, and appeal increasingly to Iran for military support. There is no alternative to using the Red Sea port in terms of location and infrastructure to ship food to the Houthi- and Saleh-controlled north.

Since war broke out in March 2015, both Saudi-led forces and the Houthi-Saleh bloc have weaponized Yemen’s economy by hindering the movement of aid and commercial goods to areas they are besieging. Shortages, delays and long queues for food quickly resulted.

Read the full article at World Politics Review.

Contributors

Program Director, Middle East and North Africa
JoostHiltermann
Senior Analyst, Arabian Peninsula