icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Youtube
تصوير التعافي الهش في عدن
تصوير التعافي الهش في عدن
Weekend shoppers walk along one of the Crater district’s main thoroughfares, 23 March 2019. CRISISGROUP/Peter Salisbury

تصوير التعافي الهش في عدن

بعد زيارة عدن مع فريق مجموعة الأزمات الذي يقوم بأبحاث ميدانية وأعمال المناصرة في العاصمة المؤقتة لليمن، يعرض بيتر سالزبوري صوره التي التقطها لمدينة تصارع للعودة للوقوف على قدميها من جديد بعد أربع سنوات من إخراج قوات الحوثيين منها.

بعد أربع سنوات من وصول الحرب إلى عدن وإحداث دمار كبير فيها، تشهد المدينة الساحلية في  جنوب اليمن أخيراً تعافياً هشاً.

كانت معركة السيطرة على عدن محورية في المرحلة الأولى من الصراع على اليمن في العام 2015، عندما وصل المقاتلون الحوثيون (المعروفون أيضاً بأنصار الله)، الذين كانوا حينذاك متحالفين مع القوات الموالية للرئيس السابق علي عبد الله صالح، إلى المدينة الساحلية الجنوبية بعد سيطرتهم على العاصمة صنعاء وجزء كبير من شمال البلاد. تواصل القتال لمدة أربعة أشهر في عدن، المدينة التي يقطنها أكثر من 1.5 مليون نسمة، قبل أن تخرجهم منها قوات محلية مدعومة من الإمارات العربية المتحدة، التي تشكل جزءاً من التحالف الذي تقوده السعودية.

انكمشت عدن حتى تحولت إلى ظل لما كانت عليه بسبب معارك الشوارع والقصف والضربات الجوية التي ألحقت دماراً كبيراً بالبنية التحتية للمدينة. تم في النهاية إخراج الحوثيين من المحافظات الجنوبية لليمن؛ إلا أن عدن تعرضت لاحقاً لاختراق كبير من قبل القاعدة، ومن الاقتتال بين الميليشيات المتصارعة ومن ضعف الإدارة.

عند عودتي مع فريق مجموعة الأزمات في آذار/مارس 2019، وجدت أن الوضع الأمني قد تحسن بشكل ملحوظ عما لاحظته في زياراتي السابقة على مدى السنوات الثلاث الماضية، بينما كانت هناك علامات على انتعاش الاقتصاد المحلي بشكل عام. لكن قيل لنا إن هذه المكاسب الأخيرة أقيمت على أساسات هشة. إن الهدنة وتحسن التعاون بين القوات المدعومة إماراتياً والقوات المدعومة من الحكومة اليمنية، والتي اقتتلت في عدن في كانون الثاني/يناير 2018، والمنحة التي تقدمها السعودية لشراء الوقود بقيمة 60 مليون دولار شهرياً، يمكن أن تنهار في أي لحظة.

تظهر هذه المقالة المصورة عودة الأسواق إلى الحياة، واستمتاع الأسر بالنزهات على شاطئ البحر وزيارة الشباب لمجمع تجاري افتتح حديثاً، يحتوي صالة جميلة للعبة البولينغ. لكن هؤلاء لا يمثلون مجمل الحياة التي تعيشها عدن اليوم. لا يزال الفقر مستفحلاً ولا تزال أصوات إطلاق النار جزءاً من الضجيج في الخلفية بشكل أسبوعي على الأقل. لكنهم يشكلون فعلاً بصيص أمل في الحالة الراهنة لليمن.

صيادو السمك يحضرون قواربهم للعمل في مديرية البريقة في عدن، 24 آذار/مارس 2019. مجموعة الأزمات/بيتر سالزبوري

مع التعافي الهش للاقتصاد، ارتفع الطلب على السمك وبات يمكن رؤية عدد متزايد من القوارب في الساحل.

محمد شيخ القوايتي يقف على نقطة تفتيش في مديرية خورمكسر في عدن. مجموعة الأزمات/بيتر سالزبوري

بعد أربع سنوات من انعدام اليقين، يتمتع سكان عدن الآن بتحسن الوضع الأمني. لقد تحقق هذا جزئياً نتيجة التعاون المتزايد بين حكومة هادي وقوات الأمن المحلية المدعومة إماراتياً. ساعد التنافس بين الطرفين في زعزعة الاستقرار في الماضي وأدى إلى قتال شوارع في كانون الثاني/يناير 2018. وقد انخفض عدد نقاط التفتيش في المدينة بشكل كبير على مدى العام الماضي، وحلت القوات الأمنية بلباسها الرسمي محل الميليشيات المتعددة التي كانت منتشرة في الماضي (رغم أن بعضها ما يزال لاعباً خارج إطار الدولة). تحولت نقاط التفتيش من مصدر للخوف بالنسبة للسائقين إلى مجرد إزعاج أو إلى شكلية. في الصورة هنا محمد شيخ القوايتي، الذي يقف على إشارة مرورية في مديرية خورمكسر وقد أصبح شخصية شعبية في المدينة، يعرف باجتهاده ومزاجه المعتدل.

أمين صندوق يعد رزماً من الريالات اليمنية في المقر الجديد للبنك المركزي اليمني في مديرية كريتر في عدن، 20 آذار/مارس 2019. مجموعة الأزمات/بيتر سالزبوري

بعد سلسلة من البدايات غير المثمرة، أصبح مقر البنك المركزي اليمني، الذي نقلته الحكومة إلى عدن في العام 2017، مركزاً مهماً لتحسين البيئة الاقتصادية في عدن. وصل الريال اليمني إلى أدنى مستوى له في أيلول/سبتمبر، لكن قيمته عادت للارتفاع بشكل كبير منذ ذلك الحين، ما عاد بالفائدة على جميع المدنيين.

يقدر البنك الدولي أن التضخم وصل إلى 55% في العام 2018، وبلغت تكاليف المعيشة أكثر من الضعف في عام 2015. ما تزال فرص العمل شحيحة، خصوصاً في الشمال الغربي الذي يسيطر عليه الحوثيون، والذي يشكل أكبر مركز سكاني في البلاد. العدنيون أفضل حالاً من معظم اليمنيين، لكن أعداداً كبيرة منهم ما تزال تصارع للعثور على العمل أو على ما يكفي من الغذاء. يعاني أكثر 10 مليون نسمة في سائر أنحاء البلاد من مستويات مفرطة من الجوع. ويعاني نحو 238,000 يمني مما يصفه 'التصنيف المرحلي المتكامل للأمن الغذائي' بـ "الجوع الكارثي"، ما يعني أنهم يموتون جوعاً.

مديرية البريقة، 24 آذار/مارس 2019. مجموعة الأزمات/بيتر سالزبوري

ما تزال عدن مليئة بالجدران التي ترك الرصاص آثاره عليها، والمباني المهدمة وغيرها مما يذكّر بقتال الشوارع الوحشي في العام 2015. وما يزال علم دولة اليمن الجنوبي المستقلة ما قبل العام 1990، والذي يشكل رمزاً للمشاعر الانفصالية، معروضاً في أماكن بارزة في جميع أنحاء المدينة. لا ينبغي على المجتمع الدولي تجاهل مثل تلك المشاعر السائدة في الجنوب، خاصة في أوساط قوات الأمن المحلية. إذا لم يأخذ الحل السياسي بعين الاعتبار المظالم الجنوبية، فإن هذه المظالم قد تتنامى وتزرع بذور صراع متجدد.

موظفون في المكاتب التي أعيد تأثيثها في البنك المركزي اليمني، 25 آذار/مارس 2019. مجموعة الأزمات/بيتر سالزبوري

يعود عدد من الشركات اليمنية الكبيرة إلى عدن، بعد أن عملت في الخارج خلال فترة طويلة من الحرب. ويظهر الاقتصاد علامات على التعافي، يدفعه تحسن كبير في إمدادات الكهرباء، التي تأمنت بفضل منحة سعودية لشراء الوقود منذ تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2018 بقيمة 60 مليون دولار شهرياً. لكن استمرار المنحة غير مضمون، وتتجه عدن نحو شهور الصيف الحارة أين يصل الطلب على الكهرباء إلى أشده خلال هذا الوقت من السنة الذي يصبح فيه استعمال المكيفات والمراوح ضرورة.

’فنجان قهوة‘، وهو مقهى إسبريسو افتتح في العام 2018 في مديرية المُعلا في عدن، 25 آذار/مارس 2019. مجموعة الأزمات/بيتر سالزبوري

يجد العدنيون الأكثر ثراءً وسائل لاستخدام فائض دخلهم. فقد افتتح عدد من رواد الأعمال المحليون مقاهي إسبريسو جديدة، رغم بطء عودة الزبائن. ثمة تناقض صارخ أحياناً بين الديكورات الداخلية الجديدة الأنيقة وندوب الحرب الظاهرة على الجدران الخارجية للمباني.

مطعم في مديرية صيرة، عدن، 25 آذار/مارس 2019. مجموعة الأزمات/بيتر سالزبوري

تزدحم مطاعم عدن أكثر من أي وقت مضى منذ سنوات. وهنا يبدو نادل يحمل الجامبري والسلطة للزبائن المنتظرين في مطعم في مديرية صيرة يحظى بشعبية كبيرة.

رئيس الوزراء اليمني معين سعيد عبد الملك يتحدث إلى المدير التنفيذي لمجموعة الأزمات (الثاني إلى اليمين) وآبريل لونغلي آلي (إلى اليمين)، مديرية صيرة 19 آذار/مارس 2019. مجموعة الأزمات/بيتر سالزبوري

معين سعيد عبد الملك (إلى اليسار)، رئيس الوزراء التكنوقراطي الذي عُيّن في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2018، يريد البناء على التحسينات التي طرأت مؤخراً على الاقتصاد وتقديم الخدمات. على غداء سمك في مديرية صيرة في عدن، يقدم عبد الملك إحاطة لضيوفه من مجموعة الأزمات، بمن فيهم نائب مدير برنامج الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا أبريل لونغلي آلي (إلى اليمين) والمدير التنفيذي لمجموعة الأزمات روب مالي (الثاني إلى اليمين) حول خططه.

مجموعة الأزمات/بيتر سالزبوري

ما تزال إعادة إعمار المدينة في مراحلها الأولى. المعلم البارز، فندق عدن، الذي كان في وقت من الأوقات الفندق الوحيد في المدينة من فئة 5 نجوم والذي اكتسب سمعة سيئة بوصفه الموقع الذي تعرض في العام 1992 لأول محاولة هجوم من قبل القاعدة على هدف غربي. ما يزال الفندق في حالة من الدمار.

رجال أعمال محليون وموظفون عامون في جلسة مضغ قات في مديرية خورمكسر، 18 آذار/مارس 2019. مجموعة الأزمات/بيتر سالزبوري

التعافي الذي تشهده المدينة حالياً مرحب به وطال أمد انتظاره، حيث يحدث بعد نحو أربع سنوات من إخراج القوات المتحالفة مع الحوثيين من عدن. لكن في جلسات مضغ القات بعد الظهر، وفي اجتماعات أخرى، أخبرنا العديد ممن تحدثنا إليهم أن هذه الفورة تقوم على أسس هشة. طبقاً للبعض، كلما نجح رئيس الوزراء الجديد عبد الملك، كلما كان من المرجح أن تجري محاولات لتقويض إدارته من قبل واحد أو أكثر من الفصائل. ويشمل خصومه الحوثيون، والانفصاليون الذين يرون في المدينة عاصمة مستقبلية لجنوب مستقل، وحتى من الأعضاء الآخرين في حكومة هادي، التي سادتها المشاحنات الداخلية والصراع على السلطة طوال مدة الحرب. الانفراج المحلي الحالي بين قوات الأمن والجيش المدعومة إماراتياً وتلك التابعة لحكومة هادي تبدو مجرد هدنة مؤقتة أكثر منها حلاً طويل الأمد لـ "الوضع الميليشياوي" الذي يسود عدن والجنوب إجمالاً.

مجمع عدن التجاري، 26 آذار/مارس 2019. مجموعة الأزمات/بيتر سالزبوري

مجموعات من الرجال والنساء يقضون وقتاً في صالة البولينغ في مجمع عدن التجاري، وهو مركز تسوق فاخر كان مالكوه يأملون في أنه سيحول المدينة إلى مقصد جذاب للسياحة والتسوق قبل الحرب. أعيد افتتاح المجمع في كانون الأول/يناير 2019، فيما يذكّر بطموحات مؤسسات الأعمال اليمنية الكبيرة لعدن، التي كانت ذات يوم إحدى أكثر موانئ العالم ازدحاماً بينما تتراجع الآن إلى ما وراء مراكز نشاط إقليمية مثل دبي. خارج المجمع التجاري، يشعر شباب عدن بدرجة أكبر من الحرية في الاختلاط بأشخاص من خارج أسرهم. مع تراجع الحرب، تتراجع أيضاً قوة المجموعات الدينية المحافظة وقدرتها على منع الرجال والنساء من الاختلاط في الأماكن العامة. يمكن لتجدد الصراع في المدينة أن يعكس بسرعة هذه المكاسب.

لمتسوقون في نهاية الأسبوع يتمشون في أحد الشوارع الرئيسية في مديرية كريتر، 23 آذار/مارس 2019. مجموعة الأزمات/بيتر سالزبوري

مدينة عدن القديمة تعود إلى الازدحام مرة أخرى. مديرية كريتر، الواقعة في تجويف مشكل من الصخور البركانية، والتي كانت قد شهدت أسوأ معارك قتال الشوارع في العام 2015، تقود التعافي الذي تشهده عدن.

مديرية صيرة، عدن، 26 آذار/مارس 2019. مجموعة الأزمات/بيتر سالزبوري

التحسن في الوضع الأمني يعني أنه بات بوسع الأسر الخروج في نزهات على الشاطئ حتى وقت متأخر من الليل. حتى وقت قريب، كان الخوف من الاشتباكات بين المجموعات المسلحة المتخاصمة يدفع العديد من سكان عدن للإسراع إلى منازلهم بعد وقت الغروب. هنا مجموعة من الرجال يدخنون الشيشة (الأركيلة) في مطعم على الشاطئ.

سفن الشحن وناقلات النفط الراسية في ميناء التواهي في عدن كما تبدو عند الغروب، 24 آذار/مارس 2019. مجموعة الأزمات/بيتر سالزبوري

نحو ثلث النقل البحري العالمي يمر من المضيق المجاور على البحر الأحمر، ما جعل من عدن مستودعاً استراتيجياً على مدى قرون. إذا استمر تعافي المدينة الذي طال انتظاره، فإن هذا سيعزز ثقة اليمنيين في قدرة الحكومة على إدارة البلاد، وربما يضغط على الحوثيين للتوصل إلى تسوية سياسية. إلا أن النكوص يبقى خطرا حقيقيا. إن اقتتالاً داخلياً بين الفصائل المتنافسة من النوع الذي أغلق عدن لعدة أيام في كانون الثاني/يناير 2018، يمكن أن يقوض احتمالات تحقق عملية سلام قابلة للحياة.

icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Youtube
Picturing Aden’s Fragile Recovery
Picturing Aden’s Fragile Recovery
Weekend shoppers walk along one of the Crater district’s main thoroughfares, 23 March 2019. CRISISGROUP/Peter Salisbury

Picturing Aden’s Fragile Recovery

After visiting Aden with a Crisis Group team doing field research and advocacy in Yemen’s interim capital, our Yemen expert Peter Salisbury shares his images of a city struggling to get back on its feet nearly four years after Huthi forces were pushed out.

Four years after war reached and devastated Aden, Yemen's southern port city is finally experiencing a fragile recovery.

The battle for Aden was pivotal in the early struggle for Yemen in 2015, when Huthi (aka Ansar Allah) fighters, who were then aligned with forces loyal to former president Ali Abdullah Saleh, reached the southern port city after capturing the capital Sanaa and taking over much of the country’s north. For four months they fought in Aden, a city of more than 1.5 million people, before being pushed back by local forces backed by the United Arab Emirates (UAE), who are part of the Saudi-led coalition.

Aden was reduced to a shadow of its former self by street battles, shelling and airstrikes that wrought havoc on the city’s infrastructure. The Huthis were eventually pushed out of Yemen’s southern governorates, but Aden later suffered from heavy infiltration by al-Qaeda, infighting between rival militias and weak governance.

Returning with a Crisis Group team in March 2019, I found that security had improved markedly since previous trips over the past three years, while there were signs all-around of a rejuvenated local economy. We were told, however, that these recent gains are built on shaky foundations. A truce and improved cooperation between rival UAE- and government of Yemen-backed forces, who fought one another in Aden in January 2018, and a $60m-a-month fuel grant from Saudi Arabia, could both crumble at any moment.

This photo essay shows glimpses of markets springing back to life, families enjoying outings to the seafront and young people visiting a newly reopened mall, complete with a fine bowling alley. They do not represent the totality of life in Aden today. Poverty is still rife and the sound of gunfire remains part of the background noise on at least a weekly basis. But they do show one of the few glimmers of hope Yemen currently has to offer.

Fishermen prepare skiffs for work in the Buraiqa district of Aden, 24 March 2019. CRISISGROUP/Peter Salisbury

As the economy experiences a fragile recovery, demand for fish has increased and a growing number of skiffs can be seen off the coast.

Mohammed Sheikh al-Quaiti mans a checkpoint in Aden’s Khormaksar district. CRISISGROUP/Peter Salisbury

After four years of uncertainty, Adenis are now enjoying improvements in security. This has been driven, in part, by growing cooperation between the Hadi government and UAE-backed local security forces. Rivalry between the two helped drive instability in the past and led to street fighting in January of 2018. The number of checkpoints across the city has fallen dramatically over the past year, and uniformed forces have taken over from the old multitude of militias (although some are still in effect non-state actors). Checkpoints have gone from being a source of fear for drivers to an annoyance or formality. Pictured here is Mohammed Sheikh al-Quaiti, who mans a traffic stop in the Khormaksar district and has even become a popular figure in the city, known for his diligence and sunny disposition.

A cashier counts a stack of Yemeni Riyals at the Central Bank of Yemen’s new headquarters in Aden’s Crater district, 20 March 2019. CRISISGROUP/Peter Salisbury

After a series of false starts, the Central Bank of Yemen headquarters, relocated to Aden by the government in 2017, has become an important hub of the improving economic environment in Aden. The Yemeni Riyal hit record lows in September 2018, but its value has since risen significantly to the benefit of all Yemenis.

The World Bank still estimates that inflation hit 55% in 2018, and the cost of living has more than doubled since 2015. Jobs are still scarce, particularly in the Huthi-controlled north west, the country’s largest population center. Adenis are better off than most Yemenis, but large numbers still struggle to get work or enough to eat. More than 10 million people nationwide suffer from extreme levels of hunger. Some 238,000 Yemenis suffer from what the IPC calls “catastrophic hunger”, meaning that they are starving to death.

Buraiqa district, 24 March 2019. CRISISGROUP/Peter Salisbury

Aden is still littered with bullet-riddled walls, broken buildings and other reminders of the brutal street fighting of 2015. The flag of the pre-1990 independent southern Yemeni state, a symbol of secessionist sentiment, is on prominent display across the city. The international community should not ignore such sentiments in the south, not least among local security services. If a political solution does not adequately account for southern grievances, these could only grow and sow the seeds of renewed conflict.

Staff at the newly refurbished offices of the Central Bank of Yemen, 25 March 2019. CRISISGROUP/Peter Salisbury

A number of big Yemeni businesses are returning to Aden, having operated abroad for much of the war. The economy is showing signs of recovery, spurred on by much improved electricity supply, which has been ensured thanks to a $60m-a-month fuel grant from Saudi Arabia since October 2018. But continuation of the grant is not guaranteed, and Aden is heading into the hot summer months when demand for electricity hits a peak as air conditioning and fans become a necessity.

Coffee Cup, an espresso bar that opened in 2018 in Aden’s Mualla District, 25 March 2019. CRISISGROUP/Peter Salisbury

Wealthier Adenis are finding new ways to make use of their disposable income. Local entrepreneurs have opened up new espresso bars, even if customers are sometimes slow to appear. Polished new interiors often contrast with the war scars on the walls of the buildings outside.

Restaurant in Seera district, Aden, 25 March 2019. CRISISGROUP/Peter Salisbury

Aden’s restaurants are the busiest they have been in years. Here a waiter carries jamburi (shrimp) and salads to waiting customers at a popular Seera restaurant.

Yemen’s prime minister Maen Saeed Abdulmalek speaks to Crisis Group’s Rob Malley (2nd from R) and April Longley Alley (R), Seera district, 19 March 2019. CRISISGROUP/Peter Salisbury

Maen Saeed Abdulmalek (L), the new technocrat prime minister appointed in October 2018, wants to build on recent improvements in the economy and service delivery. Over a fish lunch in Aden’s Seera district, Maen briefs Crisis Group guests including Middle East and North Africa Deputy Program Director April Longley Alley (R) and President and CEO Rob Malley (second from R) on his plans.

CRISISGROUP/Peter Salisbury

Reconstruction of the city is still at an early stage. The landmark Aden Hotel, once the city’s only 5-star accommodation and notorious as the site in 1992 of one of the first attempted al- Qaeda attacks on a Western target, is still in ruins.

Local businessmen and civil servants at a qat chew in Aden’s Khormaksar district, 18 March 2019. CRISISGROUP/Peter Salisbury

The current recovery is welcome and long overdue, coming as it does almost four years after Huthi-aligned forces were pushed out of Aden. But in afternoon qat chewing sessions (qat is a mildly narcotic leaf), and in other meetings, many interlocutors told us that the uptick is built on shaky foundations. According to some, the more successful the new Prime Minister Abdulmalek is, the more likely it is that attempts will be made to undermine him by one or more factions. Rivals include the Huthis, separatists who see the city as the future capital of an independent south, and even other members of the Hadi government, which has been beset by internal wrangling and power struggles throughout the war. The present local détente between UAE-backed and Hadi government-aligned security and military forces is seen more as a temporary truce than a long-term solution to the “militia-isation” of Aden and the wider south.

Aden Mall, 26 March 2019. CRISISGROUP/Peter Salisbury

Groups of men and women hang out at the bowling alley of Aden Mall, an upscale shopping center whose owners hoped would help turn the city into an attractive tourism and shopping destination before the war. The mall reopened in January 2019, a reminder of big Yemeni businesses’ ambitions for Aden, once one of the busiest ports in the world but now lagging far behind regional powerhouses like Dubai. Outside of the mall, young Adenis feel a greater freedom to mingle beyond their family circles. As the war recedes, so does the power of conservative religious groups to prevent men and women from mixing in public spaces. Renewed conflict in the city could quickly reverse these gains.

Weekend shoppers walk along one of the Crater district’s main thoroughfares, 23 March 2019. CRISISGROUP/Peter Salisbury

Aden’s old city is once again bustling on weekends. The center of some of the worst street fighting of 2015, Crater – which lies in a bowl formed of volcanic rock – has led Aden’s recovery.

Seera district, Aden, 26 March 2019. CRISISGROUP/Peter Salisbury

The improvement in security means that families picnic along the seafront, even late into the night. Until recently, fear of clashes between rival armed groups had many Adenis hurry home after dusk. Here a group of men smoke shisha at a seaside restaurant.

Freighters and oil tankers ride at anchor at sunset off Aden’s Tawahi port, 24 March 2019. CRISISGROUP/Peter Salisbury

Nearly one third of global shipping passes by the mouth of the nearby Red Sea, which has made Aden a strategic entrepôt for centuries. If the city’s long overdue recovery continues, it could increase confidence among Yemenis in the government’s ability to run the country, possibly putting pressure on the Huthis to reach a political settlement. But backsliding is a real risk. Infighting between rival factions of the kind that shut Aden down for several days in January 2018, it could serve to undermine prospects of a viable peace process.