الحاجة إلى موقف دولي موحّد لمنع انقسام ليبيا
الحاجة إلى موقف دولي موحّد لمنع انقسام ليبيا
Libya's security forces parade at the Martyrs' Square in the capital Tripoli on February 17, 2022, as Libyans commemorate the 11th anniversary of the uprising that toppled longtime strongman Muammar Kadhafi. Mahmud Turkia / AFP

الحاجة إلى موقف دولي موحّد لمنع انقسام ليبيا

مرة أخرى، في ليبيا إدارتان متنافستان تدّعي كل منهما أنها الحكومة الشرعية. ولكلا الطرفين أنصار مسلحون. ولذلك، ينبغي على القوى الخارجية أن تتوحد للمساعدة على منعهما من الاصطدام مرة أخرى.

تقف ليبيا مرة أخرى على مفترق طرق خطير. ففي 1 آذار/مارس، صوّت برلمان البلاد الذي يتخذ من طبرق مقراً له، مجلس النواب الليبي، بالمصادقة على حكومة مؤقتة جديدة يرأسها وزير الداخلية السابق فتحي باشاغا، ليعطيها بذلك الضوء الأخضر لتولي السلطة بدلاً من رئيس الوزراء الحالي، عبد الحميد الدبيبة. يصر أنصار التصويت أن الإجراء كان سليماً، بينما تقول فصائل في العاصمة طرابلس إنه كان حافلاً بالتزوير. وترفض هذه الفصائل الحكومة الجديدة وتعارض تعيين سلطة تنفيذية جديدة بشكل مطلق. ومع تصلب موقف المعسكرين، باتت نُذُر تجدد القتال واضحة للمرة الأولى منذ أنهى وقف إطلاق النار في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2020 ست سنوات من النزاعات السياسية والصراعات المتقطعة. لقد قامت مجموعات مسلحة متحالفة مع الحكومة التي تتخذ من طرابلس مقراً لها فعلاً بإغلاق المجال الجوي الليبي لمنع الوزراء الحاليين من السفر إلى طبرق للمشاركة في مراسم أداء اليمين لباشاغا. ومع استعداد فصائل أخرى للمواجهة، فإن ما سيحدث تالياً سيعتمد إلى حد بعيد على رد فعل القوى الأجنبية. إذ إن رداً دولياً منقسماً من شأنه أن يشجع على الانقسام المؤسساتي والتعبئة العسكرية. في حين أن إدانة دولية موحدة لاستخدام القوة، مصحوبة بدعوة الليبيين للتوصل إلى مسارٍ توافقي إلى الأمام بمساعدة الأمم المتحدة من شأنها أن تجنبهم هذا السيناريو.

يخاطر تصويت 1 آذار/مارس بتقسيم الحكومة المؤقتة الموحدة التي تشكلت في الأشهر التي تلت وقف إطلاق النار الذي أعلن في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2020. جمعت تلك الحكومة مركزي القوى المتنافسين في البلاد، ذاك الموجود في طرابلس والآخر الموجود في طبرق، اللذان تَشكلا بعد أن أدت انتخابات برلمانية طُعن بنتائجها إلى انقسام البلاد إلى قسمين في عام 2014. ولقد بُذلت جهود لتنصيب حكومة جديدة منذ مطلع عام 2022، لكن المفوضية الوطنية العليا للانتخابات أجّلت انتخابات رئاسية كان من المقرر إجراؤها في 25 كانون الأول/ديسمبر إلى أجل غير مسمى، متذرعة بوجود خلافات قانونية تتعلق بالمرشحين لأعلى منصب في البلاد.

طرح المعسكران السياسيان المتنافسان الرئيسيان أفكاراً متعارضة للخروج من المأزق.

ومنذ ذلك الحين، طرح المعسكران السياسيان المتنافسان الرئيسيان أفكاراً متعارضة للخروج من المأزق. المجموعة التي تتخذ من طبرق مقراً لها، والتي تضم رئيس البرلمان عقيلة صالح، والمشير خليفة حفتر (الذي قاد القوات التي حاصرت طرابلس عام 2019) والفصائل التي تتخذ من طرابلس مقراً لها والتي تريد إسقاط الدبيبة، قالت إنه ينبغي على السياسيين تشكيل حكومة جديدة وتعديل مسودة للدستور قبل الانتخابات الجديدة. أما المجموعة الأخرى، التي تضم الكتل السياسية الرئيسية في غرب ليبيا، فتريد إبقاء الدبيبة في السلطة إلى أن يتم انتخاب هيئة تشريعية جديدة تستطيع اختيار سلطة تنفيذية جديدة. حتى الشخص الذي يسعى للوصول إلى الرئاسة، سيف الإسلام القذافي، ابن الديكتاتور الراحل، المختلف تاريخياً مع المعسكر الثاني، عبّر عن الحاجة إلى إبقاء حكومة الدبيبة في منصبها والمضي قدماً في إجراء انتخابات تشريعية.

تعمق الاستقطاب بين هذين المعسكرين الواسعين بعد 10 شباط/فبراير، عندما عين المجلس باشاغا رئيس وزراء مكلفاً بتشكيل حكومة بحلول نهاية الشهر. وأتى هذا التعيين نتيجة لاتفاق بين باشاغا، وصالح، وحفتر وحلفاء كل منهم في المجلس. في البداية، حظي الاتفاق بموافقة خالد المشري، رئيس المجلس الأعلى للدولة، وهو المجلس الخصم الذي يتخذ من طرابلس مقراً له. إلا أن المشري سحب دعمه في أواخر شباط/فبراير، فيما يبدو تحت ضغوط من عدة أعضاء في المجلس الرئاسي الذي يرأسه، الذين عارضوا التحرك نحو تنصيب حكومة جديدة. رد المعسكر الموالي للدبيبة على مناورات المجلس بإعلان أن الحكومة كانت تعمل بموجب خارطة طريق خاصة بها لإجراء انتخابات تشريعية في حزيران/يونيو. وقالوا إنه لا يحق لبرلمان طبرق تعيين سلطة تنفيذية جديدة وإن الدبيبة سيسلم السلطة فقط لخليفة يحظى بالتأييد في انتخابات شعبية.

وقد عكست الانقسامات بين الجهات الفاعلة الخارجية الانقسامات الليبية. فالقاهرة وموسكو منحتا مباركتهما الأولية لجهود المجلس في تنصيب حكومة جديدة، اعتقاداً منهما على ما يبدو بأن ليبيا ستستفيد من وجود تحالف بين أعداء سابقين مثل باشاغا وحفتر. وبداية بمطلع عام 2022، دعم المسؤولون المصريون بشكل فعال التوصل إلى تفاهم بين المعسكرين والمضي إلى تنفيذ الخطة استناداً إلى اتفاقهما. تركيا، وفي حين أنها تحتفظ بعلاقات ودية مع باشاغا، تمسكت بالدبيبة ودعت إلى إجراء انتخابات جديدة، معوّلة على أن تشكل الانتخابات ضمانة أفضل للاستقرار طويل الأمد. الإمارات العربية المتحدة دعمت الدبيبة، في حين أن خصمها الخليجي، قطر، أجرت اتصالات حذرة مع باشاغا بينما استمرت في تقديم الدعم المالي لحلفائها التقليديين المتحالفين مع الدبيبة. في الواقع، فإن تحالفات الأنظمة الملكية الخليجية تغيرت؛ فقبل ما لا يزيد عن عام، كانت أبو ظبي تدعم حفتر عسكرياً، في حين كانت الدوحة تقدم دعماً دبلوماسياً ومالياً للسلطات التي تتخذ من طرابلس مقراً لها. وسط هذه التغيرات السريعة، تبنت الولايات المتحدة والدول الغربية الأخرى موقف: 'لننتظر ونرى'.

لم تعارض الأمم المتحدة محاولة استبدال الحكومة. لكن المستشارة الخاصة للأمين العام للأمم المتحدة، ستيفاني ويليامز، فرضت شروطاً للقبول بهذا التحرك. أولاً، قالت إنه ينبغي أن يكون تعيين الحكومة الجديدة "توافقياً" وأن يشارك فيه المجلس الأعلى للدولة. ثانياً، ينبغي أن يكون التصويت بمنح الثقة برئيس الوزراء الجديد شفافاً وأن يحقق المتطلبات القانونية – رغم أن مكتبها لم يوضح ماهية هذه المتطلبات. وقال دبلوماسيون أجانب إن التصويت سيكون شرعياً فقط إذا دعم 50% من أعضاء المجلس زائداً واحداً الحكومة الجديدة. لكن أعضاء المجلس قدموا تفسيراتهم الخاصة. نقطة أخرى تفتقر إلى الوضوح كانت العدد اللازم من أعضاء المجلس لتحقيق النصاب. فالكثير من أعضائه الأصليين البالغ عددهم 200 كانوا قد انشقوا والتحقوا بالسلطات التي تتخذ من طرابلس مقراً لها، وقالوا إنهم سيقاطعون الإجراءات أو كانوا قد استُبدلوا أصلاً. وقدم المشرعون تقديرات متناقضة للأمم المتحدة بشأن العدد المتبقي من البرلمانيين، حيث يتراوح بين 164 و188. ونتيجة لذلك، تراوحت تقديرات النصاب اللازم للتصويت بمنح الثقة بين 82 و94. وبعد أن سحب المجلس الأعلى للدولة دعمه، عرفت وليامز أن شرطها الأول لن يتحقق ولم تكن متأكدة من أن شرطها الثاني سيتحقق أيضاً.

التصويت البرلماني الذي جرى في 1 آذار/مارس لمنح الثقة جعل الأمور أسوأ. طبقاً للعد الذي أجراه رئيس المجلس، بلغ عدد الحاضرين 101 عضواً، صوّت 92 منهم لصالح الحكومة. كان هذا العدد قريباً من التقديرات السابقة للنصاب أو أعلى منها. إلا أن مقطع فيديو أظهر أن عدد الحاضرين كان أقل من 101، وتمت قراءة 88 اسماً فقط خلال المناداة بالأسماء من أجل التصويت. ولم يكن عدد البرلمانيين الذين لفظوا كلمة "ثقة" واضحاً لأنهم لم يتحدثوا في الميكروفونات. في 2 آذار/مارس، أوضح البرلمان أن التباين في الأعداد كان ناجماً عن أن ثمانية أعضاء في البرلمان كانوا قد اتصلوا من مواقع بعيدة لأسباب أمنية أو صحية، في حين فضّل آخرون التصويت دون إعلان أسمائهم بعد تلقيهم تهديدات من مجموعات مسلحة داعمة للدبيبة. كما غيّر المجلس العدد الكلي لأولئك الذين صوتوا لصالح الحكومة الجديدة فرفعه إلى 96، ما أضاف إلى عدم الوضوح. قال باشاغا إن التصويت كان "واضحاً وشفافاً" وتعهد بمباشرة مهام منصبه في طرابلس "بطريقة سلمية". لكن في اليوم التالي، وصف الدبيبة التصويت بمحاولة "انقلاب" جرت من خلال التزوير. في 3 آذار/مارس، أدى باشاغا ومعظم وزرائه اليمين لاستلام مناصبهم في طبرق. وفي تلك المناسبة، ذكر رئيس المجلس أسماء النواب الـ 96 الذين كانوا قد أيدوا الحكومة الجديدة، في محاولة أخيرة لتبديد الشكوك بشأن التصويت بمنح الثقة.

[هذا الصراع على السلطة] يخاطر بتقويض جهود إعادة الإعمار والاقتصاد بشكل عام.

يمكن لهذا الصراع على السلطة أن يعطل الهدوء الذي تمتعت به ليبيا منذ وقّعت الفصائل على اتفاق وقف إطلاق النار في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2020. ويخاطر بتقويض جهود إعادة الإعمار والاقتصاد بشكل عام. كما أن الخصوم السياسيين باتوا أكثر اعتماداً على الولاءات المسلحة. إذ يُذكر أن المسلحين المتحالفين مع حكومة طرابلس احتجزوا وزيرين، ومنعوهما من القيام بواجباتهما. ومن غير الواضح كيف سترد القوات التي يقودها حفتر، والتي تسيطر على شرق البلاد والمتحالفة مع حكومة باشاغا. فخطر الحرب يعتمد على الإجابة على هذا السؤال وعلى ما يقرر الداعمون الخارجيون للطرفين فعله. حتى الآن، يبدو من غير المرجح أن يحمل الخصوم في الحرب الأهلية السلاح من جديد بسبب الإعياء العام من الحرب. ولا يبدو أن القوى الخارجية راغبة بتجدد الصراع. رغم ذلك، فإن العداء المتزايد بين الحكومتين يمكن أن يغير هذه الحسابات.

كما يمكن للتحولات الجيوسياسية أن تؤثر أيضاً في التوترات في ليبيا. فالتوازن القلق بين تركيا وروسيا، ولكلتيهما طواقم عسكرية في ليبيا، يمكن أن يتغير بسرعة. تركيا متحالفة مع حكومة طرابلس. وروسيا نشرت طائرات مقاتلة ومتعاقدين عسكريين خاصين من مجموعة فاغنر لدعم القوات التي يقودها حفتر في الحرب التي دارت بين عامي 2019 و2020، وفي حين أنها نقلت لاحقاً بعض أصولها إلى مناطق أخرى، فإنها تحتفظ بوجود على الأرض إلى جانب حفتر. ومع اشتداد حدة القتال في أوكرانيا، يصبح ثمة خطر من امتداد الصراع وجر ليبيا إلى حرب جديدة بالوكالة. حتى الآن، فإن موسكو هي العاصمة الأجنبية الوحيدة التي رحبت رسمياً بحكومة باشاغا. إن مواجهة الكرملين مع الغرب بشأن أوكرانيا تجعل من استراتيجيته في ليبيا غير قابلة للتنبؤ.

أما العواصم الأخرى فقد احتفظت بصمت يصم الآذان، ربما بانتظار معرفة طبيعة ردّ الأمم المتحدة. في 2 آذار/مارس، قال الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة إن التصويت "لم يحقق المعايير المتوقعة في الشفافية والإجراءات وشمل أعمال تخويف قبل انعقاد الجلسة". ومن المرجح أن تدفع هذه الصياغة القوى الأجنبية باتجاه رفض الاعتراف بالحكومة الجديدة، الأمر الذي من شأنه أن يشكل ضربة لداعمي الاتفاق بين باشاغا وحفتر.

رغم انقسامات الجهات الفاعلة الأجنبية، فإنها ينبغي أن تتحدث بصوت واحد في الضغط على جميع الأطراف الليبية لإظهار ضبط النفس وإدانة الاحتجاز القسري لأنصار الحكومة الجديدة. ينبغي أن يكون هذا الحد الأدنى من التوافق الدولي قابلاً للتحقق، بالنظر إلى أن القوى الخارجية لها مصلحة مشتركة في منع العودة إلى ليبيا مقسمة أو الانزلاق إلى حرب أهلية في لحظة تشهد اضطرابات جيوسياسية كبيرة. ينبغي على الطرفين في ليبيا القبول بوساطة الأمم المتحدة للخروج من مأزقهما والعودة إلى التفاوض على خارطة طريق سياسية واقعية للتقدم إلى الأمام. ولا بد من الإقرار بأن التوصل إلى التوافق بين الحكومتين المتنافستين ليس سهلاً، لكن لدى كل منهما أسباب ودوافع تجعلهما يقبلان الوساطة الخارجية. فحكومة باشاغا لن تعمر طويلاً إذا لم تحظَ باعتراف دولي واسع أو تتمكن من الوصول إلى أموال الدولة (وكلا الأمرين سيكون صعباً دون دعم الأمم المتحدة). وتخاطر حكومة الدبيبة بالخسارة إذا بدأت الدول الأعضاء بمنح اعترافها للحكومة الجديدة. ينبغي على مبعوثة الأمم المتحدة ستيفاني ويليامز دعوة الطرفين للامتناع عن ممارسة العنف وحثهما على القبول بمسعاها للوساطة. وعلى الحكومات الأجنبية أن تحذو حذوها في الدعوة إلى المفاوضات.

International Unity is Needed to Prevent a Divided Libya
International Unity is Needed to Prevent a Divided Libya
Libya's security forces parade at the Martyrs' Square in the capital Tripoli on February 17, 2022, as Libyans commemorate the 11th anniversary of the uprising that toppled longtime strongman Muammar Kadhafi. Mahmud Turkia / AFP

International Unity is Needed to Prevent a Divided Libya

Libya again has two rival administrations pressing claims to be the rightful government. Both sides have armed loyalists. Outside powers should join hands to help stop them from clashing once more.

Libya is at a perilous crossroads – again. On 1 March, the country’s Tobruk-based parliament, the House of Representatives, voted to endorse a new interim government headed by former Interior Minister Fathi Bashagha, giving it the greenlight to take over from the sitting prime minister, Abdulhamid Dabaiba. The vote’s proponents insist that the procedure was sound, but factions in the capital Tripoli say it was fraudulent. The latter reject the new cabinet and oppose appointing a new executive entirely. As the camps square off, omens of renewed fighting are visible for the first time since an October 2020 ceasefire ended six years of political feuds and intermittent conflict. Armed groups allied with the Tripoli-based government have already closed Libyan airspace to prevent incumbent ministers from travelling to Tobruk to take part in Bashagha’s swearing-in ceremony. With others gearing up for confrontation, what happens next will depend largely on how foreign powers react. A splintered international response could encourage an institutional split and military mobilisation. But a united international condemnation of the use of force coupled with a call on Libyans to chart a consensual way forward with UN assistance could avoid this scenario.

The 1 March vote risks breaking apart the unified interim government that formed in the months after a ceasefire declared in October 2020. That government brought together the country’s rival power centres, one based in Tripoli and the other in Tobruk, which formed after contested parliamentary elections cleaved the country in two in 2014. Efforts to instal a new government have been under way since early 2022, after the national electoral commission indefinitely postponed a presidential election that had been slated for 24 December, citing insurmountable legal disputes regarding the candidates running for the country’s top position.

Libya’s main political camps have put forward conflicting ideas for resolving the impasse.

Since then, Libya’s main political camps have put forward conflicting ideas for resolving the impasse. The Tobruk-based group, which includes House speaker Aghila Saleh, Field Marshal Khalifa Haftar (who led forces that besieged Tripoli in 2019) and Tripoli-based factions that want to oust Dabaiba, said politicians should form a new government and amend a draft constitution before new elections. The other, which includes western Libya’s main political blocs, wanted Dabaiba to stay in power until a new legislature is elected and can choose a new executive. Even presidential hopeful Saif al-Islam al-Qadhafi, son of the late dictator, who is historically at odds with the second camp, echoed the need to keep the Dabaiba government in place and proceed with a legislative ballot.

The polarisation between these two broad camps deepened after 10 February, when the House appointed Bashagha as prime minister-designate and tasked him with forming a government by the end of the month. This appointment was the result of a deal among Bashagha, Saleh, Haftar and their respective allies in the House. At first, the agreement also had the approval of Khaled al-Mishri, the chairman of the High State Council, the rival assembly located in Tripoli. But Mishri withdrew his support in late February, seemingly under pressure from several members of the Council he heads, who opposed the move to put a new government in place. The pro-Dabaiba camp responded to the House’s manoeuvres by announcing that the government was working on its own roadmap to hold a legislative ballot in June. They said the Tobruk-based parliament had no right to appoint a new executive and that Dabaiba would hand over power only to a successor backed by a popular vote.

Divisions among foreign actors mirrored Libya’s cleavages. Cairo and Moscow gave their initial blessing to the House’s efforts to instal a new government, seemingly believing that Libya would benefit from an alliance among former enemies like Bashagha and Haftar. Beginning in early 2022, Egyptian officials actively supported reaching an understanding between the two and proceeding with the plan based on their deal. Turkey, while maintaining friendly ties with Bashagha, stuck by Dabaiba and called for fresh elections, banking on polls being a better guarantee of long-term stability. The UAE backed Dabaiba, while its Gulf adversary Qatar, made discreet overtures to Bashagha while still bankrolling its traditional allies aligned with Dabaiba. In effect, the Gulf monarchies’ allegiances have shifted: barely a year ago, Abu Dhabi was aiding Haftar militarily, while Doha was providing diplomatic and financial support to the Tripoli-based authorities. Amid these fast-changing developments, the U.S. and other Western states have adopted a wait-and-see approach.

The UN did not oppose the attempt to replace the government. But the UN Secretary-General’s special adviser, Stephanie Williams, imposed conditions for accepting the move. First, she said, the new government’s appointment should be “consensual” and have the High State Council’s buy-in. Secondly, the confidence vote in a new interim premier should be transparent and meet legal requirements – though her office never clarified what these might be. Foreign diplomats said the vote would be valid only if at least 50 per cent of House members plus one supported the new government. But House members advanced their own interpretations. Another point lacking clarity was how many lawmakers the House would need for a quorum. Many of its original 200 members had defected to the Tripoli-based authorities, said they would boycott the proceedings or been replaced. Legislators gave the UN conflicting estimates of the remaining number of parliamentarians, ranging from 164 to 188. As a result, estimates of the quorum for a valid confidence vote varied between 82 and 94. After the High State Council withdrew its support, Williams knew her first condition would not be met and could not be sure her second condition would be, either.     

The 1 March parliament confidence vote made matters worse. The House speaker counted 101 members in attendance, and 92 voted in favour. This number was close to or higher than the earlier quorum estimates. But video footage showed fewer attendees than 101, and only 88 names were read out during the roll call for the vote. The number of parliamentarians who pronounced the word “confidence” (thiqqa) was unclear because they did not speak into microphones. On 2 March, parliament clarified that the discrepancy in numbers came about because eight lawmakers had dialled in from remote locations for security or health reasons, while others preferred to cast their votes anonymously after receiving threats from pro-Dabaiba armed groups. The House also changed the total number of those in favour of the new government to 96, adding to the confusion. Bashagha said the ballot was “clear and transparent” and vowed to take office in Tripoli in “a peaceful manner”. The next day, however, Dabaiba called the vote a “coup” attempted through fraud. On 3 March, Bashagha and most of his ministers took the oath of office in Tobruk. On that occasion, House speaker Saleh listed all 96 names of the lawmakers who had supported the new executive, in one last attempt to dispel doubts about the vote of confidence.

[The power struggle] risks undermining reconstruction efforts and the wider economy.

The power struggle could disrupt the calm Libya has enjoyed since factions signed the October 2020 ceasefire agreement. It risks undermining reconstruction efforts and the wider economy. Political rivals are also becoming more dependent on armed loyalists. Gunmen allied with the Tripoli-based government reportedly detained two new ministers, preventing them from assuming their duties. It is unclear how Haftar-led forces, who control the east of the country and are allied with the Bashagha cabinet, will respond. The risk of war depends both on the answer to this question and on what the sides’ foreign backers decide to do. For now, the foes in the civil war appear unlikely to take up arms again, due to general war fatigue. Neither do outside powers seem eager for renewed conflict. That said, rising animosity between the two governments could change this calculation.

Geopolitical shifts could also affect tensions in Libya. The precarious balance between Turkey and Russia, both of which have military personnel in Libya, could be rapidly upended. Turkey is allied with the Tripoli-based government. Russia deployed fighter jets and the Wagner Group’s private military contractors to support Haftar-led forces in the 2019-2020 war, and while it has subsequently sent some of its assets elsewhere, it retains a presence on the ground alongside Haftar. As fighting in Ukraine intensifies, there is a risk of spillover that could drag Libya into a new proxy war. For now, Moscow is the only foreign capital to officially welcome the Bashagha government. The Kremlin’s confrontation with the West over Ukraine makes its strategy in Libya unpredictable.

Other capitals have thus far kept a deafening silence, perhaps waiting to see how the UN responds. On 2 March, the UN Secretary-General said the vote “fell short of the expected standards of transparency and procedures and included acts of intimidation prior to the session”. This wording is likely to push foreign powers in the direction of refusing the new government recognition, which would be a blow to those backing the Bashagha-Haftar deal.

Notwithstanding their divisions, external actors should speak with one voice in pressing all Libyan parties to show restraint and condemning the forcible detention of the new government’s supporters. Such a minimum international consensus should be attainable, given that outside powers have a common interest in preventing a return to a divided Libya or a relapse into civil war at a moment of already great geopolitical upheaval. The two sides in Libya should accept UN mediation to break their deadlock and return to negotiating a realistic political roadmap for the way forward. Finding a consensus between the two rival governments admittedly will not be easy, but for each there are good reasons and incentives to accept external mediation: the Bashagha government will be short-lived if it does not receive broad international recognition or, alternatively, gain access to state funds (both of which will be difficult without the UN’s support); the Dabaiba government risks losing out if member states begin to gradually flip their recognition in favour of the new executive. The UN’s Williams should call on the parties to refrain from violence and urge them to accept her good offices for mediation. Foreign governments should follow her lead in calling for negotiations.