إحياء خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة بعد "الضغط الأقصى

يمكن أن يساعد إحياء الاتفاق النووي الإيراني في تخفيف تهديد الانتشار النووي وتهدئة التوترات الإقليمية. في هذا المقتطف من قائمة المراقبة لعام 2021 الخاصة بنا الموجهة لصنّاع السياسات الأوروبيين، تحث مجموعة الأزمات الاتحاد الأوروبي والدول الأعضاء فيه على دعم إدارة بايدن في إعادة الانخراط مع طهران وتيسير التجارة بين أوروبا وإيران.

لم تنجح حملة "الضغط الأقصى" التي شنتها إدارة ترامب، والتي وسمت سياستها تجاه إيران وارتكز عليها جزء كبير من نهجها تجاه الشرق الأوسط الأوسع. كان المقصود من نهجها العقابي تقليص النشاط النووي الإيراني، الذي زاد بدلاً من ذلك، وخفض التوترات الإقليمية التي تصاعدت بشكل كبير. ردت طهران على العقوبات الأمريكية أحادية الجانب بسلسلة من الانتهاكات لخطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة، مما أضعف ببطء الاتفاق النووي التاريخي لعام 2015. وقد يؤدي التآكل الإضافي للاتفاق إلى اندلاع أزمة في مجال حظر الانتشار. كما أدى العداء بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران، والذي تجلى في الاحتكاكات العسكرية الخطيرة في المنطقة، إلى توتر العلاقات بين الجمهورية الإسلامية وحليفتي الولايات المتحدة، السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة. تصاعدت حالة انعدام الثقة المتبادلة لسنوات، وكثيراً ما اقتربت بشكل خطير من درجة الغليان.

بعث انتخاب جو بايدن رئيساً للولايات المتحدة الآمال بانتهاج سياسة أمريكية جديدة تجاه إيران في عام 2021 من شأنها أن تساعد في خفض درجة الحرارة في الشرق الأوسط وتخفيف تهديد الانتشار النووي من خلال إحياء خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة. للمساعدة في هذه المساعي، ينبغي على الاتحاد الأوروبي والدول الأعضاء فيه القيام بما يلي:

  • دعم إدارة بايدن في إعادة التواصل مع طهران وإعادة الولايات المتحدة إلى خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة إذا استعادت إيران امتثالها للاتفاق.
     
  • تشجيع إدارة بايدن على تيسير الدعم الإنساني الدولي لإيران استجابة لجائحة كوفيد-19، بما في ذلك طلب طهران الحصول على قرض من صندوق النقد الدولي.
     
  • تيسير نمو التجارة بين أوروبا وإيران كعنصر حاسم في تقديم الفوائد المتوخاة بموجب الاتفاق النووي وإرساء الأساس للمناقشات مع طهران حول جدول أعمال أوسع، بما في ذلك فرض القوة الإقليمية الإيرانية وبرنامج الصواريخ الباليستية. في الحوار رفيع المستوى بين الاتحاد الأوروبي وإيران في ديسمبر 2020، أكد الجانبان اهتمامهما بتعميق التعاون الثنائي.
     
  • تشجيع دول الخليج العربية وإيران على الدخول في حوار إقليمي شامل يهدف إلى تقليل الاحتكاكات وفتح قنوات اتصال لمنع نشوء حلات خطرة من سوء التفاهم.

انفتاح حيوي للدبلوماسية النووية والإقليمية

وضع انسحاب الولايات المتحدة عام 2018 من خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة الاتفاق النووي تحت ضغط كبير. فبدلاً من تقديم اتفاق محسّن، كما تفاخرت إدارة ترامب، انتهى به الأمر إلى إظهار أهمية الاتفاق الحالي. لقد دفعت العقوبات الشاملة التي فرضتها واشنطن سعياً لتحقيق مطالب قصوى، والتي تفاقمت في عام 2020 بسبب تأثير جائحة كوفيد-19 وسوء إدارة طهران، الاقتصاد الإيراني إلى ثلاث سنوات من الركود على التوالي وقضت على التوقعات الإيرانية بأن الاتفاق سيحقق مكاسب مالية.

طهران بدورها تخلت عن التزاماتها بتقييد برنامجها النووي. وبشكل خاص، وسّعت منذ عام 2019 مخزونها من اليورانيوم المخصب، ورفعت مستوى التخصيب، وعززت نشاطها في مجال البحث والتطوير. في 2 كانون الأول/ديسمبر، عقب مقتل العالم النووي الإيراني البارز محسن فخري زاده في الشهر السابق، والذي نسبته وسائل الإعلام وغيرها على نطاق واسع إلى إسرائيل، أصدر البرلمان الإيراني تشريعاً من شأنه أن يسمح بمزيد من الانتهاكات لخطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة. نفذت الحكومة بالفعل أول هذه التعليمات البرلمانية من خلال رفع مستوى تخصيب اليورانيوم إلى 20 بالمئة في أوائل كانون الثاني/يناير. وثمة إجراء آخر يوجه الحكومة الإيرانية إلى التوقف عن السماح بعمليات التفتيش الدولية المعززة بموجب البروتوكول الإضافي لمعاهدة حظر انتشار الأسلحة النووية، والتي كانت طهران تنفذها طواعية كجزء من خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة، بحلول 21 شباط/فبراير، إذا لم يقدم الموقعون الآخرون على خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة الفوائد الاقتصادية المختلفة المنصوص عليها في الصفقة بحلول ذلك الوقت. وقد يكون تقييد الوصول مصدر قلق خطير للمملكة المتحدة، وفرنسا وألمانيا - ما يسمى بمجموعة الثلاث – وهي الدول التي لا تزال مشاركة في خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة، إلى جانب الصين وروسيا وإيران.

لقد لعب الاتحاد الأوروبي، الذي يعقد اجتماعات للدول الموقعة على خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة في إطار اللجنة المشتركة، دوراً محورياً في الجهود الدبلوماسية للإبقاء على الاتفاق حياً، معتبراً إياه أفضل إطار متاح لكبح الأنشطة النووية الإيرانية. ولكن، على الأقل من وجهة نظر طهران، فإن الاتحاد الأوروبي ومجموعة الدول الثلاث فشلا كلاهما حتى الآن في إرفاق التزامهما المعلن بالاتفاق بتخفيف حقيقي للعقوبات.

عندما بدأت خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة في التداعي، تصاعدت التوترات الإقليمية في سلسلة من الحوادث التي هددت بحدوث تصعيد كبير. وشملت بعض هذه الحوادث إيران والولايات المتحدة وحدهما، لكن حالات أخرى، مثل سلسلة الهجمات على السفن التجارية في الخليج، أكدت تورط حلفاءهما أيضاً. يتفاقم الخطر بسبب الغياب شبه التام للتواصل المستمر وعقود من انعدام الثقة المتراكم بين إيران والقوتين الخليجيتين الرئيسيتين، المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة، مما حال دون إجراء حوار أمني ضروري لتخفيف حدة التوترات. تضغط دول الخليج العربية هذه - إلى جانب إسرائيل - أيضاً على الولايات المتحدة لدفعها إلى عدم الانضمام إلى خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة أو رفع العقوبات دون التزامات ملموسة من جانب طهران بشأن الأمور التي تعتبرها ذات أهمية قصوى، مثل برنامج إيران للصواريخ الباليستية وما يعتبرونه دورها المزعزع للاستقرار في اليمن، ولبنان، وسوريا والعراق.

توصيات للاتحاد الأوروبي والدول الأعضاء فيه

يمكن للاتحاد الأوروبي أن يلعب دوراً مهماً في استقرار الاتفاق النووي وتأييد الحوار البناء بين الأطراف الخليجية. فبعد أن أمضى العامين ونصف العام الماضيين في الإشادة بأهمية خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة، يمكن للاتحاد الأوروبي والدول الأعضاء فيه الادعاء بأنهم كانوا محقين في حثهم لكل من واشنطن وطهران على العودة إلى الامتثال للاتفاق. إن الدعم الدبلوماسي القوي لإحياء خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة سيقوي يد إدارة بايدن ضد منتقديها الداخليين الذين يحثونها على عدم التخلي عن النفوذ المتراكم نتيجة لنهج "الضغط الأقصى". ويمكن أن تساعد اللجنة المشتركة أيضاً في وضع خارطة طريق وجدول زمني لاستئناف إيران والولايات المتحدة بالكامل لالتزاماتهما بخطة العمل المشتركة الشاملة.

كما يمكن للاتحاد الأوروبي والدول الأعضاء فيه شراء المزيد من الوقت والمساحة لإدارة بايدن القادمة من خلال تقديم بعض الحوافز الاقتصادية الخاصة بها لإيران، مع ضوء أخضر من واشنطن. على سبيل المثال، يمكنهم إحياء مبادرة الرئيس إيمانويل ماكرون لعام 2019 لشراء النفط الإيراني مسبقاً طالما وافقت إيران على وقف أي تصعيد نووي وإقليمي إضافي قبل أن تتحرك الإدارة الأمريكية الجديدة لتفكيك العقوبات بشكل فعلي. ويتعين على الدول الأوروبية أيضاً العمل مع القطاع الخاص لتوسيع التجارة بين أوروبا وإيران، والتي تدهورت على الرغم من مبادرات مثل أداة دعم التبادلات التجارية (إنستكس)، من خلال تقديم حوافز اقتصادية، مثل الإعفاءات الضريبية، للشركات الأوروبية الراغبة في إعادة التعامل مع السوق الإيرانية أو الاستثمار في إيران. وكجزء من انخراطه مع إدارة بايدن الجديدة، ينبغي على الاتحاد الأوروبي الضغط من أجل استخدام أية تدابير من شأنها أن توفر الإغاثة الإنسانية الفورية لإيران، بما في ذلك الموافقة على طلب طهران لقرض من صندوق النقد الدولي للتعامل مع جائحة كوفيد-19.

إن دعم خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة لا يعني تجاهل المخاوف غير النووية. إذ تشعر الحكومات الأوروبية، حالها كحال الولايات المتحدة وبعض حلفائها الإقليميين، بالقلق من تطوير إيران للصواريخ الباليستية، ودعمها لمختلف الجهات الفاعلة المسلحة غير الحكومية، ومن سجلها في مجال حقوق الإنسان. لكن تحقيق الاستقرار لاتفاق قائم يعالج قضية استراتيجية رئيسية يوفر أفضل أساس لمفاوضات المتابعة مع طهران.

بالتوازي مع الملف النووي، يمكن لأوروبا المساعدة في تهدئة التوترات الإقليمية من خلال تشجيع ودعم الحوار بين إيران ودول الخليج العربية والتأكيد على أن الدبلوماسية تقدم أفضل السبل لمنع حوادث العنف من الخروج عن السيطرة وإرساء الأسس لإطار أمني إقليمي دائم. إن إطلاق الحوار كمبادرة دبلوماسية من قبل مجموعة أساسية من الدول الأوروبية، وبدعم من المفوض السامي للاتحاد الأوروبي والأمين العام للأمم المتحدة، ينبغي أن يجعل الجهات الفاعلة الإقليمية على استعداد لامتلاك مثل هذا الحوار من أجل تعظيم فرص نجاحه. بينما ستحتاج إدارة بايدن إلى حث دول الخليج العربية على التحدث مع إيران، يمكن للحكومات الأوروبية إجراء مناقشات تمهيدية لفهم المصالح والاهتمامات والتطلعات، فضلاً عن عرض توفير أماكن للحوار، ربما بالتنسيق مع الولايات المتحدة. كما يمكنها عقد مناقشات فنية بين دول المنطقة، بدعم من وكالات الأمم المتحدة ذات الصلة، لتعزيز التعاون في القضايا ذات الاهتمام المشترك، مثل تغير المناخ والصحة العامة والأمن البحري.

Event Recording / Global

Crisis Group's EU Watch List: 10 Cases Where the EU can Build Peace in 2021

Online Event to launch Crisis Group's EU Watch List 2021 in which Crisis Group’s senior staff were joined by representatives from the European Commission and the European External Action Service to discuss ten cases where the EU can build peace in 2021.

Crisis Group’s Senior staff were joined by representatives from the European Commission and the European External Action Service to analyse the relevance and the policy suggestions of the ten cases presented in the 2021 EU Watch List.

The briefing began with a high-level panel on global conflict trends, followed by a presentation of the Watch List with interventions from EU senior officials and Crisis Group Program Directors. A Q&A with participants concluded the event.

EU Watch List: 10 Cases Where the EU can Build Peace in 2021 (Online Event, 2nd February)

icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
Reviving the JCPOA after Maximum Pressure
Reviving the JCPOA after Maximum Pressure
Crisis Group's EU Watch List: 10 Cases Where the EU can Build Peace in 2021
Crisis Group's EU Watch List: 10 Cases Where the EU can Build Peace in 2021

Reviving the JCPOA after Maximum Pressure

Reviving the Iran nuclear deal could help alleviate the threat of nuclear proliferation and cool regional tensions. In this excerpt from our Watch List 2021 for European policymakers, Crisis Group urges the EU and its member states to support the Biden administration in re-engaging with Tehran and to facilitate trade between Europe and Iran.

The Trump administration’s “maximum pressure” campaign, which defined its Iran policy and underpinned much of its approach to the wider Middle East, did not succeed. Its punitive approach was meant to curtail Iranian nuclear activity, which increased instead, and to lower regional tensions, which rose dramatically. Tehran responded to U.S. unilateral sanctions with a series of breaches of the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), slowly weakening the landmark 2015 nuclear accord. The deal’s further erosion could spark a non-proliferation crisis. Enmity between the U.S. and Iran, manifested in risky tit-for-tat military exchanges in the region, additionally strained relations between the Islamic Republic and U.S. allies Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates (UAE). The mutual distrust simmered for years, frequently coming perilously close to a boil.

Joe Biden’s election to the U.S. presidency has raised hopes for a new U.S. Iran policy in 2021 that can help bring down the temperature in the Middle East and alleviate the threat of nuclear proliferation by reviving the JCPOA. To assist in these endeavours, the EU and its member states should: 

  • Support the Biden administration in re-engaging with Tehran and returning the U.S. to the JCPOA if Iran restores its compliance with the deal.
     
  • Encourage the Biden administration to facilitate international humanitarian support to Iran in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, including Tehran’s request for an International Monetary Fund loan.
     
  • Facilitate growth in trade between Europe and Iran as a crucial element in delivering the benefits envisioned under the nuclear agreement and laying the foundation for discussions with Tehran on a broader agenda, including Iran’s regional power projection and ballistic missile program. At the December 2020 EU-Iran High-Level Dialogue, both sides affirmed their interest in deepening bilateral cooperation. 
     
  • Encourage Gulf Arab states and Iran to enter an inclusive regional dialogue aimed at reducing frictions and opening communication channels to prevent dangerous misunderstandings.

A Vital Opening for Nuclear and Regional Diplomacy 

The 2018 U.S. withdrawal from the JCPOA put the nuclear deal under significant stress. Instead of delivering an improved accord, as the Trump administration boasted it would, it ended up demonstrating the importance of the existing one. Sweeping sanctions put in place by Washington in pursuit of maximalist demands, compounded in 2020 by the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic and Tehran’s mismanagement, have driven Iran’s economy into three years of recession in a row and quashed Iranian expectations that the agreement would yield financial rewards. 

Tehran has in turn broken its commitments to restrict its nuclear program. Notably, since 2019 it expanded its enriched uranium stockpile, raised the level of enrichment, and stepped up its research and development activity. On 2 December, following the killing of senior Iranian nuclear scientist Mohsen Fakhrizadeh the previous month, which media outlets and others widely attributed to Israel, the Iranian parliament passed legislation that would enable further breaches of the JCPOA. The government has already implemented the first of these parliamentary instructions by raising the uranium enrichment level to 20 per cent in early January. Another measure instructs the Iranian government to stop allowing enhanced international inspections under the Additional Protocol to the nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty, which Tehran has been voluntarily implementing as part of the JCPOA, by 21 February if the JCPOA’s other signatories do not deliver various economic benefits laid out in the deal by that time. Limiting access would be a serious concern for the UK, France and Germany – the so-called E3 – who, along with China, Russia and Iran, remain JCPOA participants. 

The EU, which convenes the JCPOA signatory states under the Joint Commission, has played a pivotal role in diplomatic efforts to keep the accord alive, viewing it as the best available framework for holding Iran’s nuclear activities in check. But, at least in Tehran’s view, both the EU and E3 have failed so far to match their declared commitment to the deal with meaningful sanctions relief.

As the JCPOA began to unravel, regional tensions ratcheted upward in a series of incidents that risked major escalation.

As the JCPOA began to unravel, regional tensions ratcheted upward in a series of incidents that risked major escalation. Some of these incidents involved Iran and the U.S. alone, but others, such as a string of attacks on commercial shipping in the Gulf, underscored the entanglement of their respective allies as well. The danger is heightened by the near absence of consistent communication and decades of accumulated distrust between Iran and the two major Gulf Arab powers, Saudi Arabia and the UAE, which have precluded a security dialogue needed to mitigate tensions. These Gulf Arab states – along with Israel – are also pressing the U.S. not to rejoin the JCPOA or lift sanctions without concrete commitments from Tehran on matters that they consider of paramount concern, such as Iran’s ballistic missile program and what they view as its destabilising role in Yemen, Lebanon, Syria and Iraq. 

Recommendations for the EU and its Member States

The EU can play an important role in stabilising the nuclear agreement and championing constructive dialogue among Gulf actors. Having spent the past two and a half years hailing the JCPOA’s importance, the EU and its member states can claim vindication as they urge both Washington and Tehran to return to compliance with the agreement. Strong diplomatic support for reviving the JCPOA will strengthen the Biden administration’s hand against domestic critics urging it not to relinquish the leverage purportedly accumulated as a result of the “maximum pressure” approach. The Joint Commission can also help develop a roadmap and a timetable for Iran’s and the U.S.’s full resumption of their JCPOA obligations.

The EU and member states could buy more time and space for the incoming Biden administration by offering Iran, with Washington’s green light, some economic incentives of their own. For instance, they could revive President Emmanuel Macron’s 2019 initiative to pre-purchase Iranian oil as long as Iran agrees to halt any additional nuclear and regional escalation before the new U.S. administration moves to effectively dismantle the sanctions. European states should also work with the private sector to expand trade between Europe and Iran, which has deteriorated despite initiatives such as the Instrument in Support of Trade Exchanges (INSTEX), through providing European firms willing to re-engage with the Iranian market or invest in Iran with economic incentives, such as tax breaks. As part of its engagement with the new Biden administration, the EU should press for any measures that can provide immediate humanitarian relief to Iran, including approval of Tehran’s International Monetary Fund loan request for dealing with the COVID-19 pandemic.

European states should also work with the private sector to expand trade between Europe and Iran.

Shoring up the JCPOA does not mean dismissing non-nuclear concerns. European governments, like the U.S. and some of its regional allies, are apprehensive about Iran’s ballistic-missile development, its support of various armed non-state actors, and its human rights record. But stabilising an existing agreement that addresses a key strategic issue offers the best foundation for follow-on negotiations with Tehran.

In parallel to the nuclear file, Europe can help de-escalate regional tensions by encouraging and supporting dialogue between Iran and Gulf Arab states and emphasising that diplomacy offers the best way to both prevent violent incidents from spinning out of control and lay the foundations for a durable regional security framework. Launched as a diplomatic initiative by a core group of European states, with support from the EU high commissioner and the UN secretary-general, regional actors should be prepared to take ownership of such a dialogue to maximise the chances of success. While the Biden administration would need to nudge the Gulf Arab states to talk to Iran, European governments can hold preparatory discussions to understand interests, concerns and aspirations, as well as offer to provide venues for the dialogue, possibly in coordination with the U.S. They could also convene technical discussions among regional states, backed by the relevant UN agencies, to foster cooperation on issues of common interest, such as climate change, public health and maritime security.

Event Recording / Global

Crisis Group's EU Watch List: 10 Cases Where the EU can Build Peace in 2021

Online Event to launch Crisis Group's EU Watch List 2021 in which Crisis Group’s senior staff were joined by representatives from the European Commission and the European External Action Service to discuss ten cases where the EU can build peace in 2021.

Crisis Group’s Senior staff were joined by representatives from the European Commission and the European External Action Service to analyse the relevance and the policy suggestions of the ten cases presented in the 2021 EU Watch List.

The briefing began with a high-level panel on global conflict trends, followed by a presentation of the Watch List with interventions from EU senior officials and Crisis Group Program Directors. A Q&A with participants concluded the event.

EU Watch List: 10 Cases Where the EU can Build Peace in 2021 (Online Event, 2nd February)