Crisis Group's President & CEO Robert Malley sits alongside Board of Trustees members Ayo Obe and Thomas R. Pickering at a board meeting in Berlin, Germany, in April 2018. CRISISGROUP/ Jorge Gutierrez Lucena
Media Release

Crisis Group Welcomes New Members to Board of Trustees

The International Crisis Group is pleased to announce the appointment of twelve new members to its Board of Trustees. The board, which plays an important role in Crisis Group’s global mission of preventing, mitigating and resolving deadly conflict, now consists of 41 members from 27 countries.

“The newly constituted Board of Trustees reflects our determination to see Crisis Group be as active and influential as possible, a source of diverse, creative and innovative ideas, and an organisation with both global reach and the ability to conduct advocacy at all levels”, said Crisis Group’s President & CEO Robert Malley. “This is all the more crucial at a time when conflicts are growing deadlier, rivalries are escalating and international trends are taking an alarming turn”.

The new board members include individuals with experience in the senior echelons of government, business and philanthropy from the U.S., Europe, sub-Saharan Africa, the Middle East, North Africa, and the Asia-Pacific.

“It is a privilege to welcome twelve new members who collectively bring to Crisis Group a wealth of experience, wisdom and influence”, said Lord Mark Malloch-Brown, Crisis Group’s Chair of the Board of Trustees. “Their addition will ensure that Crisis Group continues to have one of the most influential boards of any non-governmental organisation in the world”.

Crisis Group expresses its deep gratitude to the board members who have departed. The organisation has greatly benefited from their unique expertise and strong leadership.

New Members of the Board of Trustees

Nasser al-Kidwa
Chairman of the Yasser Arafat Foundation; Former UN Deputy Mediator on Syria

Nathalie Delapalme
Executive Director and Board Member of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation

Alexander Downer
Former Australian Minister of Foreign Affairs and former High Commissioner to the United Kingdom

Robert Fadel
Former Member of Parliament in Lebanon; Owner and Board Member of the ABC Group

Sigmar Gabriel
Former Minister of Foreign Affairs and Vice Chancellor of Germany

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
Former President of Liberia

Ramtane Lamamra
Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Algeria; former Commissioner for Peace and Security, African Union  

Tzipi Livni
Former Foreign Minister and Vice Prime Minister of Israel

Ahmed Rashid
Author and Foreign Policy Journalist, Pakistan

Wendy Sherman
Former U.S. Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs and Lead Negotiator for the Iran nuclear deal

Hu Shuli
Founder and Publisher of Caixin Media; Professor at Sun Yat-sen University

Jake Sullivan
Former Director of Policy Planning at the U.S. Department of State, Deputy Assistant to President Obama and National Security Advisor to Vice President Biden

See the full list of Crisis Group’s Board of Trustees

Subscribe to Crisis Group’s Email Updates

Receive the best source of conflict analysis right in your inbox.