Board of Trustees

International Crisis Group’s Board of Trustees consists of 45 individuals from 32 countries. They bring a wide array of perspectives drawn from their experience at the highest levels of government, business and philanthropic institutions. Their wisdom, influence and global reach lend weight to Crisis Group policy recommendations to prevent, manage and resolve deadly conflict.

Watch our Board Members explain why they act to support conflict prevention, to end Yemen's civil war and to resolve Venezuela's crisis.


Susana Malcorra

Former Foreign Minister of Argentina; Former Chef de Cabinet of the UN Secretary-General
Susana Malcorra was Minister of Foreign Affairs and Worship of the Argentine Republic from December 2015 until July 2017. After stepping down, she became Minister Adviser to the President until December 2017. She has 25 years’ professional experience in the private sector in IBM and Telecom Argentina, where she became CEO. She joined the United Nations World Food Programme (WFP) in 2004. In May 2008, the United Nations Secretary-General appointed her Under-Secretary-General for the Department of Field Support. In April 2012, Ms. Malcorra became Chief of Staff to Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon.
Frank Giustra

Frank Giustra

Founder of The Giustra Foundation and Acceso
Frank Giustra is President and CEO of the Fiore Group, a private firm managing a broad portfolio of private equity investments and companies, specialising in food and lifestyle, art and entertainment, and natural resources. Mr. Giustra's entrepreneurial success includes founding Lionsgate Entertainment, and since then is a major shareholder of Thunderbird Entertainment Group. Mr. Giustra is a strong believer in philanthropy, and devotes much of his time to a variety of causes both locally through The Giustra Foundation and globally with Acceso. Since 2005, Mr. Giustra has been an active Board Trustee with the International Crisis Group. Mr. Giustra sits on a variety of non-profit, private and public boards.


Fola Adeola

Founder and Chairman, FATE Foundation

Hushang Ansary

Chairman, Parman Capital Group LLC; Former Iranian Ambassador to the U.S and Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs

Gérard Araud

Former Ambassador of France to the U.S.

Zeinab Badawi

President of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) University of London

Carl Bildt

Former Prime Minister and Foreign Minister of Sweden

Sandra Breka

Member, Executive Committee and Board, European Endowment for Democracy

Maria Livanos Cattaui

Member of the Board of Directors, Open Society Foundations; Former Secretary-General of the International Chamber of Commerce

Ahmed Charai

Chairman and CEO of Global Media Holding

Miriam Coronel-Ferrer

Former Senior Mediation Adviser to the UN. and founding member of the Southeast Asian Women Peace Mediators

Nathalie Delapalme

Executive Director and Board Member of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation

Comfort Ero

President & CEO International Crisis Group

Maria Fernanda Espinosa

Former President of the UNGA’s 73rd Session, former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Minister of National Defence, and Coordinating Minister of Natural and Cultural Heritage of Ecuador, and the chief negotiator at COP16 and COP17

Sigmar Gabriel

Former Minister of Foreign Affairs and Vice Chancellor of Germany

Stephen Hadley

Former U.S. Assistant to President George W. Bush for National Security Affairs (2005-2009); Principal of RiceHadleyGates LLC

Mo Ibrahim

Founder and Chair, Mo Ibrahim Foundation; Founder, Celtel International

Mahamadou Issoufou

Former President of Niger

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf

Former President of Liberia

Kyung-wha Kang

Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Korea

Rima Khalaf-Hunaidi

Former UN Under-Secretary General and Executive Secretary of the UN Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA)

Wadah Khanfar

Co-Founder, Al Sharq Forum; Former Director General, Al Jazeera Network

Nasser al-Kidwa

Chairman of the Yasser Arafat Foundation; Former League of Arab States Special Representative for Libya; Former Joint Deputy Representative for Syria; Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Palestinian Authority; Former Permanent Observer of Palestine to UN

Bert Koenders

Former Dutch Minister of Foreign Affairs and Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations

Andrey Kortunov

Director General of the Russian International Affairs Council

Ivan Krastev

Chairman of the Centre for Liberal Strategies (Sofia); Founding board member of European Council on Foreign Relations

Tzipi Livni

Former Foreign Minister and Vice Prime Minister of Israel

Helge Lund

Former Chief Executive BG Group (UK) and Statoil (Norway)

Lord (Mark) Malloch-Brown

Former UN Deputy Secretary-General and Administrator of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

William H. McRaven

Retired U.S. Navy Admiral who served as 9th Commander of the U.S. Special Operations Command

Shivshankar Menon

Former Foreign Secretary of India; Former National Security Advisor

Naz Modirzadeh

Director of the Harvard Law School Program on International Law and Armed Conflict

Federica Mogherini

Former Vice President of the European Commission and High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy

Saad Mohseni

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of MOBY Group

Nadia Murad

President and Chairwoman of Nadia’s Initiative

Ayo Obe

Chair of the Board of Gorée Institute (Senegal); Legal Practitioner (Nigeria)

Meghan O'Sullivan

Former U.S. Deputy National Security Adviser on Iraq and Afghanistan; Professor of Practice, Harvard University

Kerry Propper

Managing Partner of ATW Partners; Founder and Chairman of Chardan Capital

Ahmed Rashid

Author and Foreign Policy Journalist, Pakistan

Juan Manuel Santos Calderón

Former President of Colombia; Nobel Peace Prize Laureate 2016

Abdulaziz Sager

Chairman and founder of the Gulf Research Center and President of Sager Group Holding in Saudi Arabia
George Soros

George Soros

Founder, Open Society Foundations and Chair, Soros Fund Management

Alexander Soros

Deputy Chair of the Global Board, Open Society Foundations

Alexander Stubb

Director of the School of Transnational Governance, Italy; Former Prime Minister of Finland

Darian Swig

Founder and President, Article 3 Advisors; Co-Founder and Board Chair,

Chairmen Emeriti


Martti Ahtisaari

Former President of Finland

George J. Mitchell

Former U.S. Senate Majority Leader
Thomas R. Pickering

Thomas R. Pickering

Former U.S. Under Secretary of State and Ambassador to the UN, Russia, India, Israel, Jordan, El Salvador and Nigeria

President Emeritus

Gareth Evans

Former Foreign Affairs Minister of Australia

Founder and Trustee Emeritus

Mort Abramowitz

Former U.S. Assistant Secretary of State and Ambassador to Turkey

Founder and Chairman Emeritus

Lord (Mark) Malloch-Brown

Former UN Deputy Secretary-General and Administrator of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

Subscribe to Crisis Group’s Email Updates

Receive the best source of conflict analysis right in your inbox.