Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Youtube
Cameroun : la menace du radicalisme religieux
Cameroun : la menace du radicalisme religieux
Video: Elections Fail to Solve Cameroon’s Deepening Crises
Video: Elections Fail to Solve Cameroon’s Deepening Crises
A Cameroonian farmer stands near the mosque where he was praying when Boko Haram militants stormed the town of Fotokol, in northern Cameroon, on 17 February 2015. REUTERS/Bate Felix Tabi Tabe
Report 229 / Africa

Cameroun : la menace du radicalisme religieux

Le développement de l’intolérance religieuse au Cameroun est un risque réel, mais malheureusement sous-estimé par les autorités. Afin d’éviter la propagation de l’extrémisme violent sur son territoire, le Cameroun doit rassembler toutes les confessions religieuses autour d’un nouveau pacte social et l’entériner par une charte de la tolérance religieuse.

  • Share
  • Save
  • Print
  • Download PDF Full Report

Synthèse

Au Cameroun, la pénétration d’un islam fondamentaliste et l’essor d’églises pentecôtistes revivalistes, dites réveillées (born again), bouleversent le paysage religieux et mettent en place les ferments de l’intolérance religieuse. La pénétration de courants fondamentalistes, combinée aux tensions communautaires, constitue un risque spécifique au Nord et génère une concurrence pour les dirigeants de la communauté musulmane qui a parfois abouti à des conflits locaux. De plus, les différentes religions se perçoivent négativement. Face à ce radicalisme émergent, la réponse de l’Etat et des organisations religieuses demeure insuffisante, et dans certains cas porteuse de risques, car elle se limite à la menace posée par Boko Haram. La mise en place d’une réponse globale et cohérente par les pouvoirs publics et les organisations religieuses est nécessaire pour empêcher la détérioration du climat religieux et éviter des violences à connotation religieuse observées dans les pays voisins que sont le Nigéria et la République centrafricaine.

Si, contrairement à ses deux voisins cités, le Cameroun n’a jamais été le théâtre de violences religieuses importantes, l’émergence de poches de radicalisme risque de changer la donne et de porter atteinte au climat de tolérance religieuse. L’islam soufi traditionnel est fortement concurrencé par la montée en puissance d’un islam plus rigoriste dont la forme la plus répandue est le wahhabisme. Les mutations actuelles touchent majoritairement une nouvelle génération de jeunes Camerounais musulmans du Sud, tandis que l’islam soufi, incarné au Nord par les Peul, recule. Ces jeunes du Sud, arabisés et souvent formés au Soudan et dans les pays du Golfe, contestent à la fois la domination peul au sein de la communauté musulmane et le système religieux vieillissant. Les désaccords entre chefs du soufisme, marabouts traditionnels et nouveaux venus ne reposent pas que sur des motifs théologiques : ce conflit « des anciens et des modernes » a pour enjeu l’influence économique et politique des uns et des autres au sein de la communauté musulmane.

Ces transformations ont donné lieu à des clivages intra-religieux et déjà dégénéré en affrontements locaux entre courants islamiques. Dans la partie septentrionale, la pénétration des courants fondamentalistes, combinée aux tensions communautaires locales, est potentiellement source de conflits. Dans le Sud, la compétition pour les dirigeants de la communauté musulmane entre soufis et groupes proches du wahhabisme va s’accentuer et pourrait dégénérer en incidents locaux.

Au sein du christianisme, l’essor des églises de réveil a brisé le monopole de l’Eglise catholique et des églises protestantes historiques. Souvent dépourvues d’existence légale et mal considérées par les catholiques, ces églises prêchent une forme d’into­lérance religieuse, s’auto-excluent du dialogue interreligieux et sont hors de l’espace religieux officiel, bien que soutenant le régime pour la plupart.

Face à ces nouvelles formes d’intolérance religieuse, les initiatives de dialogue interreligieux sont faibles, dispersées et ne touchent qu’une minorité de la population. Pourtant ces transformations du paysage religieux ne sont pas perçues comme problématiques par les autorités politiques et religieuses du Cameroun, qui sous-estiment leur potentiel conflictogène et dont l’attention est focalisée sur Boko Haram. Ce n’est qu’à la suite des attaques de Boko Haram à l’Extrême Nord que le gouvernement a amorcé des initiatives de sensibilisation tardives et peu efficaces, comme en témoigne la stigmatisation et le harcèlement par les forces de sécurité des populations kanuri des villages frontaliers au Nigéria, ainsi que les nombreuses arrestations et détentions arbitraires. Ces évolutions sont d’autant plus préoccupantes que le Cameroun se situe à la confluence de deux conflits à dimension religieuse, la crise en République centrafricaine et Boko Haram au Nigéria, et en subit les contrecoups.

La lutte contre la menace du radicalisme religieux au Cameroun passe par l’élabo­ration d’une stratégie globale et cohérente, incluant l’étude des mutations religieuses actuelles, l’adoption d’une charte de la tolérance, la mise en place d’organes représentatifs de l’islam et des églises de réveil et le développement économique et social des régions fragiles. Dans l’immédiat, le gouvernement doit œuvrer à une meilleure surveillance du prosélytisme fondamentaliste, soutenir les associations de dialogue interreligieux et améliorer la sensibilisation des populations.

Video / Africa

Video: Elections Fail to Solve Cameroon’s Deepening Crises

Richard Moncrieff, Crisis Group’s Central Africa Project Director, says the crisis over Cameroon's 7 October election is the worst for 25 years, adding new risks in a country already on the brink of civil war due to the Anglophone crisis. Tensions may rise further once the election results are officially announced.

Video: Elections Fail to Solve Cameroon’s Deepening Crises

CRISISGROUP

Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Youtube
Cameroon: The Threat of Religious Radicalism
Cameroon: The Threat of Religious Radicalism
Table of Contents
  1. Executive Summary
Video: Elections Fail to Solve Cameroon’s Deepening Crises
Video: Elections Fail to Solve Cameroon’s Deepening Crises
A Cameroonian farmer stands near the mosque where he was praying when Boko Haram militants stormed the town of Fotokol, in northern Cameroon, on 17 February 2015. REUTERS/Bate Felix Tabi Tabe
Report 229 / Africa

Cameroon: The Threat of Religious Radicalism

​Religious intolerance is a growing but seriously underestimated risk in Cameroon, both between and inside the major faiths. To halt the spread of violent extremism in the country, Cameroon needs to bring all sects into a new social compact and within the bounds of a charter for religious tolerance.

  • Share
  • Save
  • Print
  • Download PDF Full Report

Executive Summary

In Cameroon, the rise of Christian revivalist (born again) and Muslim fundamentalist movements is rapidly changing the religious landscape and paving the way for religious intolerance. Fundamentalist groups’ emergence, combined with communal tensions, creates a specific risk in the North and increases competition for leadership of the Muslim community: such competition has already led to local conflicts. Moreover, the various religious groups have negative perceptions of each other. The state and the mainstream religious organisations’ response to the emerging radicalism is limited to the Boko Haram threat and therefore inadequate, and in some cases carries risk. A coherent and comprehensive response has to be implemented by the government and religious organisations to preserve religious tolerance and to avoid the kind of religious violence seen in neighbouring Nigeria and the Central African Republic.

Unlike these two countries, Cameroon has never experienced significant sectarian violence. However, the emergence of radical religious groups risks destabilising its climate of religious tolerance. Traditional Sufi Islam is increasingly challenged by the rise of more rigorist Islamic ideology, mostly Wahhabism. The current transformation is mainly promoted by young Cameroonian Muslims from the South, whereas the Sufi Islam of the North, dominated by the Fulani, seems on the decline. These southern youths speak Arabic, are often educated in Sudan and the Gulf countries, and are opposed both to Fulani control of the Muslim community and to the ageing religious establishment. Disagreements between Sufi leaders, traditional spiritual leaders and these newcomers are not only theological: the conflict between “ancients” and “moderns” is also a matter of economic and political influence within the Muslim community.

These changes have divided Muslim communities and already degenerated into localised clashes between Islamic groups. Fundamentalist groups’ growth in the North, combined with local communal tensions, is a potential source of conflict. In the South, the competition between Sufi members and Wahhabi-inspired groups over leadership of the Muslim community will increase and could lead to localised violence.

Within Christian communities, the rise of Revivalist Churches has ended the monopoly of Catholic and Protestant Churches. Most Revivalist Churches have no legal status and are poorly-regarded by Catholics. Born again pastors often preach religious intolerance, stay away from interreligious dialogue and are kept out of official religious spheres, although they mostly support the regime.

In the face of these new forms of religious intolerance, interreligious dialogue initiatives are weak, dispersed and only reach a small fraction of the population. Yet, the religious changes are not perceived as problematic by Cameroonian political and religious authorities. They underestimate their conflict potential as their attention is focused only on Boko Haram. It was only after Boko Haram launched attacks in the Far North that the government launched awareness initiatives, but they were late and ineffective, as seen in the harassment and stigmatisation of Kanuri populations from border villages, as well as arrests and arbitrary detentions by the security forces. The religious developments are worrying in the present regional environment as both Central African Republic and Nigeria are experiencing conflicts with religious dimensions, and the consequences are having impact on Cameroon.

The struggle against the threat of religious radicalism in Cameroon requires a coherent and comprehensive strategy including a better understanding of the current religious changes, support for a charter on religious tolerance, the creation of representative bodies for the Muslim communities and Revivalist Churches, and the economic and social development of fragile regions. More immediately, the government must improve its monitoring of fundamental proselytisation, support interreligious dialogue and improve communities’ awareness of the dangers of radicalism.

Video / Africa

Video: Elections Fail to Solve Cameroon’s Deepening Crises

Richard Moncrieff, Crisis Group’s Central Africa Project Director, says the crisis over Cameroon's 7 October election is the worst for 25 years, adding new risks in a country already on the brink of civil war due to the Anglophone crisis. Tensions may rise further once the election results are officially announced.

Video: Elections Fail to Solve Cameroon’s Deepening Crises

CRISISGROUP