Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Youtube
Report 256 / Asia

阿富汗过渡期之后的叛乱活动

执行摘要及建议

阿富汗战争于2013年进入了新阶段。如今,这场战争愈发演变为叛乱分子与阿富汗国家安全部队(ANSF)之间的争夺战。2014年4月5日,阿富汗举行了相对成功的首轮总统大选,政府内外的许多人士因此对阿富汗的稳定更有信心。然而,人们应当现实地评估2014-2015年过渡期期间卡尔扎伊总统的继任者将要面临的安全挑战,避免过度乐观。如果国际社会不向阿富汗持续提供大量的安全、政治及经济支持,那么喀布尔或许会难以克服这些挑战。

整体而言,阿富汗的暴力活动与叛军袭击事件趋向升级。随着国际部队在阿富汗的逐渐撤离,喀布尔在边远地区的影响力也在衰弱。叛乱分子未能攻占主要城镇,有些地区的局势在国际部队撤出后也变得更加和平与稳定。不过,叛乱分子的信心日益增加,表现为有能力调集更大规模军队来发动袭击,这降低了2014-2015年期间举行有意义的国家级和平谈判的可能性。

仔细审视法利亚布、库纳尔、帕克蒂亚及坎大哈四省的局势,便会发现一些有可能在短期加剧冲突的潜在因素。国际部队驻扎阿富汗期间,历史仇恨与尚未消除的不满情绪受到暂时的压制,但如今这些问题正趋于恶化。法利亚布省主要是民族矛盾,坎大哈省大多是部族不和,但所有过渡地区都存在各种遗留问题,有可能导致2014年后暴力活动加剧。同时,政府军不同部队间最近在帕克蒂亚省发生小规模交火之后,当地的谈判代表预测,亲政府人士内部的冲突可能会变得更加频繁。坎大哈省的局势也表明,在外国军队监督减少的情况下,阿富汗人遭到本国安全部队的苛待,导致仇恨滋生,助长了叛乱活动。最后,巴基斯坦尽管作出了减少为叛乱分子提供避风港及其他支持的承诺,却并未付诸行动,阿富汗——尤其是坎大哈省及库纳尔省——对此耿耿于怀,两国关系可能因此恶化。

这些趋势并不意味着阿富汗注定要重蹈20世纪90年代初苏联撤离后国家崩塌的覆辙,如果国际社会持续向阿富汗提供强有力的支持,这种情况发生的可能性就更小。事实上,阿富汗部队虽然在2013年遭受创建以来最大的伤亡,并因叛乱势力的增强而从某些地区撤离,但在全国大部分地区,他们保持了行动的节奏。阿富汗国家安全部队仍然不乏年轻人入伍,这就抵消了退伍或逃兵人数增加的影响。政府依然有能力通过高速公路向城市中心运送物资。未来几年,阿富汗国家安全部队是否具有凝聚力可能会成为决定性的因素,尽管帕克蒂亚省的政府军内部发生了交火,但2013年报道的阿富汗部队内斗事件规模甚微。只要捐助国仍然愿意为阿富汗支付军饷,庞大的阿富汗安全部队——如今人数可能已超过37万人——就是一道强有力的屏障,可以阻挡叛乱分子攫取大范围的战略收益。

然而,塔利班及其他叛乱组织不会因此而放弃寻求这样的战略利益。尽管叛乱分子在多哈短暂地表示过可以参与和平谈判,但在外国部队撤离的地方,叛乱分子的行为表明他们并没有任何放松战斗的迹象。他们封锁道路,攻占农村地区,企图击垮地区行政中心。叛乱分子受到国际部队打击的风险降低了,于是他们便调集人数更多的军队,与阿富汗安全部队人员进行日趋频繁的面对面的地面战,有时会持续数周之久。不断增加的袭击事件表明,外国部队撤离后叛乱分子仍有借口进行战斗动员,他们改变了宣传辞令:过去的口号是抵抗异教徒占领,现在他们转而强调对抗政府中的“傀儡”或是“伊斯兰教叛徒”。诸如 “敢死队阵线”(Mahaz-e-Fedayeen) 这样的从叛乱组织中分离出来的小团体影响力正在上升,这进一步表明,未来数年内叛乱活动仍将猖獗。

2013年,由叛乱分子造成的阿富汗安全部队伤亡人数几乎与叛军自己的伤亡人数相当,这在历史上尚属首次,有关边远地区战斗的某些记录表明,双方近乎势均力敌。有人担心,随着外国部队继续撤离阿富汗,天平可能向叛乱分子倾斜,尤其是在某些农村地区。卡尔扎伊总统拒绝与美国及北约签署在2014年12月以后继续保留少量国际部队的协议,而进入决胜选举的两位总统候选人则都承诺要与美国签署《双边安全协议》(BSA),这一协议进一步会为北约《驻军地位协议》(SOFA)的签署创造条件。虽然仅仅依靠一批外国驻军还无法抵制叛乱分子,但外国驻军的完全撤离将会导致极为严重的问题。阿富汗国家安全部队仍然需要国际部队的支持,《双边安全协议》与《驻军地位协议》的签署可能会带来间接效应,在这样一个局势脆弱的时期释放出重要的信号,表明国际部队的承诺,从而帮助阿富汗得到持续的资金、发展及外交支持。

无论是否有国际部队作为后援,阿富汗政府都需要更多的直升飞机、装甲车及后勤支持,才能实现其有限的目标。这些额外的军事物资也能让政府更多地依靠相对训练有素的阿富汗军队,而非有伤害平民的斑斑劣迹的非正规部队。

当然,阿富汗政府的未来主要取决于其自身的行为:政府的法治承诺、反腐败措施以及其他能体现出政府对所有阿富汗人福祉的关心的因素。然而,国际社会也有责任:过去12年,国际社会帮助阿富汗恢复和平与稳定的努力并不总是尽如人意;现在,国际社会不能对阿富汗的局势漠不关心,而是应该重续承诺。

Survivors walk after a blast in Kabul, Afghanistan 13 March 2017. REUTERS/Mohammad Ismail
Commentary / Asia

阿富汗暴乱升级的代价

Taliban attacks in Kabul in late January 2018 are part of an escalation in violence in Afghanistan, where the civilian population is bearing the brunt of a particularly intense winter of fighting.

在短短一个星期里,喀布尔遭受双袭击,造成130人丧生,其中大多是平民。塔利班组织宣称对两次袭击负责。1月20日,5名塔利班自杀式袭击者突破大厦的重重保安设施袭击了洲际酒店,造成至少22人死亡,其中大部分是外国人。几乎一半的死者是阿富汗航空公司卡姆航空的员工。在长达14个小时的围困里,被困人员家属和朋友当晚在酒店外面零度以下寒冷的天气里焦急等待亲人的消息。

一周后,塔利班发动了更为致命的攻击,造成100多人死亡,其中大部分又是平民。这次袭击发生在一栋旧的内务部大楼附近,使用了一辆救护车实施袭击。尽管塔利班之前不对对此类袭击承担责任,这次却很快宣称是自己的行动,但否认其中有平民被杀害。国际红十字会发表了一份声明,谴责这次袭击是“无理智的”,指出救护车应该被用来“拯救生命,而不是摧毁生命”。

第三起自杀式袭击事件是发生于1月29日对阿富汗军队一座军事学院的攻击。“伊斯兰国”组织在当地的分支“呼罗珊行省”宣称对此负责。

这些袭击激起了民众对塔利班的广泛愤怒,促使一些阿富汗政治领导人和积极分子敦促政府镇压塔利班叛乱,而不是和他们寻求和平谈判。一些人甚至要求处决塔利班囚犯;政府官员表示他们正在考虑这个选择。阿富汗总统阿什拉夫·贾尼形容1月27日的袭击为阿富汗的“911事件”,发誓要采取针对塔利班的大规模行动。总统贾尼、其他政客和阿富汗民众都对巴基斯坦表达了类似的愤怒,指责巴基斯坦窝藏塔利班领导人,并把巴基斯坦视为塔利班叛乱组织的关键国外促成者。

The attacks have provoked widespread fury at the Taliban [and] have added to Afghans’ mounting frustration with their government.

这些袭击加重了阿富汗人民对政府的不满。许多人认为,面临2019年总统大选,阿富汗政府由于深陷与潜在政敌的权力斗争而分身乏术,无法充分预防武装分子的袭击。

这些袭击不仅引起了阿富汗人民的愤怒,而且招致了来自国外的强烈谴责。1月29日,美国总统唐纳德·特朗普表示:“他们在到处杀人”。他似乎排除了与塔利班领导人进行对话的可能性:“我们不想和塔利班对话。我们将完成我们必须完成的任务,其他任何人都无法完成的任务,我们有能力做到这一点。”

在特朗普总统发表声明后第二天,副国务卿约翰·沙利文访问喀布尔,似乎要“收回”特朗普总统的声明,表示这是为了突出塔利班最近恐怖袭击的邪恶本质,并没有反映出政策的转变。沙利文在接受记者采访时说,美国总体上仍希望进行和平谈判。

尽管有沙利文的重新声明,但特朗普的话在阿富汗和周边地区有影响力。他的言论应视作美国在阿富汗的新战略。至今为止这些新措施涉及到加大美军在阿富汗的部署和对塔利班的军事行动升级。美国发放的吸引塔利班——至少是吸引塔利班领导人与阿富汗政府进行会谈——的信号则呈现混杂。原则上,即便有特朗普总统1月29日发表上述讲话,但美国高级官员表示,新战略仍同时包括军事和外交方面的努力,以期实现与塔利班的政治和解。然而,美国的外交政策显然已经落后于军事行动。奥巴马政府后期在与塔利班领导人进行的有限接触似乎已经渐趋消逝。

更为广泛的动乱升级

塔利班最近的袭击是在战争广泛升级的情况下发生的。袭击次数增加在过去几年来并不是第一次。尽管如此,阿富汗现在正遭受着2001年以来暴乱最为严重的一个冬天——而冬天通常是停战的季节。

这些形势伴随着美国公开表示其将对塔利班采取越发强硬的军事姿态——冬天将不会提供喘息的机会,而春天则带来愈发猛烈的行动。事实上,阿富汗安全部队和美国军队对塔利班发动的空袭和袭击次数已经再创记录。他们的明确意图是在战争季节之前占据上风,消弱叛乱,让塔利班领导人相信他们不可能在军事上取得胜利。

The U.S. military has stepped up airstrikes, raids and operations by U.S. Special Forces.

整个12月和1月期间,空袭和地面突袭似乎已经影响到塔利班在全国各地的战场机动性,并给其造成了前所未有的冬季损失。面对日益增加的战场压力,塔利班似乎改变策略,开始向阿富汗政府及其安全部队和美国施压,同时减少暴露自己的部队。最近塔利班警告说,他们将更多的利用渗入阿富汗安全部队及其安全盟友的组织分子进行自杀式袭击和攻击。塔利班还威胁进一步对阿富汗和美国军队进行大规模袭击。攻击杀伤力也会由于使用先进的现代设备而增强,如使用狙击步枪、激光瞄准器和夜视镜。

自杀式袭击长期以来一直是塔利班城市战术的一部分。随着2017年对塔利班的军事行动升级——甚至在新的美国战略正式宣布之前——自杀式袭击也随之升级。去年,这类袭击的次数比2016年上升了50%:塔利班自己的记录为48比32(这可能不包括其没有声称负责的袭击)。由于今年塔利班面临进一步的压力,大规模攻击和城市战斗的节奏可能会继续,因为战场上的压力不大可能从根本上削弱其发动此战术的能力。在喀布尔两次遭到上述塔利班攻击的同一周,南部的赫尔曼德省和坎大哈省的首府也遭到自杀式炸弹袭击。

喀布尔的袭击事件表明塔利班在发出自己的信号:美国不能通过军事行动走向和平之路。塔利班发言人扎比胡拉·穆贾希德在一份声明中表示,塔利班 “要向特朗普和巴结他的人传达一个明确的信息,如果美国继续采取攻击政策,不要指望阿富汗人为其奉上鲜花。”通过把喀布尔变成战场,叛乱分子获得更广泛的关注,动摇公众对政府的信心,同时展示他们有继续发动强势袭击的能力。

美国军方加强了美国特种部队的空袭、袭击和行动。2017年12月,美国和阿富汗军队进行了455次空袭,而在2016年12月只有65次。即使在2012年12月,有近100,000名美军驻在阿富汗,当时空袭也仅有200次。总计来说,去年8月至12月期间进行了2,000次空袭,几乎同2015年和2016年的空袭总和一样多。

频繁的空袭可能伤害到了塔利班。但似乎阿富汗军队没能夺取更多领土的控制,而领土控制是美军为衡量军事进展而定义的一个关键指标(美国国防部官员在1月底的报告中表示,2017年10月的数据显示更多的领土被塔利班从阿富汗政府手中夺取了)。

平民苦难不断加重

军事行动的升级显然并没有改善阿富汗民众的安全——这是任何行动是否成功的另一个关键指标,尽管美国政府并未提及。美国阿富汗重建总检察长(SIGAR)在1月下旬的季度报告中表示,从2017年6月1日到2017年11月27日期间的平民伤亡人数(4,474)与去年同期相比增加了13%。由于空袭造成的平民伤亡人数也有所增加。联合国驻阿富汗援助团称,在2017年前9个月的时间里,空袭中平民伤亡人数与2016年同期相比增加了52%。在空袭中伤亡的人口主要来自农村,与塔利班空袭的喀布尔相比,他们的苦难受到的关注要少得多。事实上,塔利班自己宣传的一个重点就是他们声称西方和阿富汗媒体持有双重标准。

并且,尽管代价很高,但军事上的压力并不一定会加强塔利班领导人进行对话的意愿。事实上,情况可能恰恰相反:它会增强塔利班内部更为抵制和解的势力。

The [Taliban] leaders [who have signalled interest in peace talks] may not always be in sync with the mood on the battlefield.

塔利班自己也面临着内部斗争。那些主管政治和民生方面的势力,包括多哈政治办公室的部分领导和代表,近年来似乎已经承认他们不大可能在军事上获胜,并暗示有意和谈。这些领导人的意愿并不总是与战场上的形势相一致。尽管塔利班内部的指挥和控制仍相当连贯,但位于阿富汗之外的领导人发现,越来越难以影响战地指挥官的日常决定,因为这些指挥官在很多情况下享有相当大的自主权,并且他们的部队正在遭受着重大伤亡。这可能意味着倾向谈判的领导人的影响力正在减弱,而态度更强硬的战地指挥官们则掌握更多的权力。

北约领袖延斯·斯托尔滕贝格对塔利班针对喀布尔的袭击发出承诺,北约将继续加大对阿富汗军队的支持。但他也强调了加大外交努力的必要性:“必须加倍努力实现和平与和解。”尽管和平谈判有许多困难,他和美国的其他盟友还是应该敦促华盛顿去做:保持与塔利班领导人进行沟通的渠道敞开,继续与阿富汗的邻国和其他区域大国一起寻求和解方案,最起码要为和平谈判建立基础。

如果不这样做,美国的战略就有可能进一步加剧阿富汗全国范围内的暴乱,使和平之日遥遥无期。位于前线乡村地区的平民遭受战争的苦难最重,但如果塔利班继续实施类似上周的恐怖袭击,首府和其他城镇的民众也也将会被殃及。

Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Youtube
The Cost of Escalating Violence in Afghanistan
The Cost of Escalating Violence in Afghanistan
Report 256 / Asia

Afghanistan’s Insurgency after the Transition

To contain a growing, increasingly confident insurgency as NATO troops withdraw, Afghanistan needs continued international support, including military, and the new government in Kabul will need to reinvigorate the state’s commitment to the rule of law.
 

Executive Summary

The war in Afghanistan entered a new phase in 2013. It now is increasingly a contest between the insurgents and the Afghan National Security Forces (ANSF). Many within and outside the government are more optimistic about stability in the wake of a relatively successful first round of presidential elections on 5 April 2014. However, any euphoria should be tempered by a realistic assessment of the security challenges that President Karzai’s successor will face in the transitional period of 2014-2015. Kabul may find these challenges difficult to overcome without significant and sustained international security, political and economic support.

The overall trend is one of escalating violence and insurgent attacks. Ongoing withdrawals of international soldiers have generally coincided with a deterioration of Kabul’s reach in outlying districts. The insurgents have failed to capture major towns and cities, and some areas have experienced more peace and stability in the absence of international troops. Yet, the increasing confidence of the insurgents, as evidenced by their ability to assemble bigger formations for assaults, reduces the chances for meaningful national-level peace talks in 2014-2015.

A close examination of four provinces – Faryab, Kunar, Paktia and Kandahar – reveals underlying factors that may aggravate the conflict in the short term. Historical feuds and unresolved grievances are worsening after having been, in some cases, temporarily contained by the presence of international troops. In Faryab, these are largely ethnic tensions; in Kandahar they are mostly tribal; but in all transitional areas there is a variety of unfinished business that may result in further violence post-2014. Similarly, clashes among pro-government actors may become more frequent, as predicted by local interlocutors after recent skirmishing between government forces in Paktia. The situation in Kandahar also illustrates the way mistreatment of Afghans at the hands of their own security forces, operating with less supervision from foreign troops, breeds resentment that feeds the insurgency. Finally, despite its rhetoric, Pakistan has not reduced safe havens and other support for the insurgency, while Afghanistan’s hostile responses – especially in Kandahar and Kunar – risk worsening cross-border relations.

None of these trends mean that Afghanistan is doomed to repeat the post-Soviet state collapse of the early 1990s, particularly if there is continued and robust international support. In fact, Afghan forces suffered record casualties in 2013 and retreated from some locations in the face of rising insurgency but maintained the tempo of their operations in most parts of the country. Afghanistan still has no shortage of young men joining the ANSF, offsetting the rising number of those who opt to leave them or abandon their posts. The government remains capable of moving supplies along highways to urban centres. ANSF cohesiveness, or lack of it, may prove decisive in the coming years, and Paktia notwithstanding, only minor reports emerged in 2013 of Afghan units fighting each other. As long as donors remain willing to pay their salaries, the sheer numbers of Afghan security personnel – possibly in the 370,000 range today – are a formidable obstacle to large-scale strategic gains by the insurgents.

That will not stop the Taliban and other insurgent groups from pushing for such gains, however. Despite a short-lived gesture toward peace negotiations in Doha, the insurgents’ behaviour in places where the foreign troops have withdrawn shows no inclination to slow the pace of fighting. They are blocking roads, capturing rural territory and trying to overwhelm district administration centres. With less risk of attack from international forces, they are massing bigger groups of fighters and getting into an increasing number of face-to-face ground engagements with Afghan security personnel, some of which drag on for weeks. The rising attacks show that the insurgents are able to motivate their fighters in the absence of foreign troops, shifting their rhetoric from calls to resist infidel occupation to a new emphasis on confronting the “puppets” or “betrayers of Islam” in the government. The emerging prominence of splinter groups such as Mahaz-e-Fedayeen is a further indication the insurgency will not lack ferocity in the coming years.

For the first time, the insurgents inflicted almost as many casualties on Afghan security forces in 2013 as they suffered themselves, and several accounts of battles in remote districts suggested the sides were nearly matched in strength. There are concerns that the balance could tip in favour of the insurgency, particularly in some rural locations, as foreign troops continue leaving. President Karzai has refused to conclude agreements with the U.S. and NATO that would keep a relatively modest presence of international troops after December 2014. The two presidential runoff candidates have vowed to sign the Bilateral Security Agreement (BSA) with the U.S., which would in turn allow for a NATO Status of Forces Agreement (SOFA). While retaining a contingent of foreign soldiers would not be sufficient on its own to keep the insurgency at bay, its absence could prove extremely problematic. The ANSF still needs support from international forces, and signing a BSA and a SOFA would likely have knock-on effects, sending an important signal of commitment at a fragile time, thus encouraging ongoing financial, developmental and diplomatic support.

With or without backup from international forces, the Afghan government will need more helicopters, armoured vehicles, and logistical support to accomplish that limited objective. Such additional military tools would also permit the government to rely increasingly on the relatively well-disciplined Afghan army rather than forcing it to turn to irregular forces that have a dismal record of harming civilians.

Certainly, the future of the Afghan government depends primarily on its own behaviour: its commitment to the rule of law, anti-corruption measures and other aspects of governance must demonstrate its concern for the well-being of all Afghans. However, responsibility also rests with the international community; its patchy efforts over a dozen years to bring peace and stability must now be followed not with apathy, but with renewed commitment.

Survivors walk after a blast in Kabul, Afghanistan 13 March 2017. REUTERS/Mohammad Ismail
Commentary / Asia

The Cost of Escalating Violence in Afghanistan

Taliban attacks in Kabul in late January 2018 are part of an escalation in violence in Afghanistan, where the civilian population is bearing the brunt of a particularly intense winter of fighting.

Over one week, as many as 130 people, the overwhelming majority civilians, were killed in twin attacks claimed by the Taliban in Kabul. On 20 January, five Taliban suicide bombers attacked the Intercontinental Hotel, killing at least 22 people, mostly foreigners, after breaching the security of the heavily guarded building. Almost half the dead were employees of Afghan airline carrier, Kam Air. Families and friends of civilians trapped in the fourteen-hour siege spent the night in the sub-zero temperature outside the hotel waiting for news of their loved ones.

A week later the Taliban launched a deadlier attack, killing over 100 people, again mostly civilians. This attack, near an old interior ministry building, was carried out using an ambulance. Despite their reluctance to accept responsibility for such attacks in the past, the Taliban this time were quick to claim the attack, but denied civilians were killed. An International Committee of the Red Cross statement condemned the attack as “senseless”, noting that ambulances should be used “for saving lives, not destroying them”.

A third suicide attack, this one claimed by the Islamic State’s local branch, Islamic State – Khorasan Province (IS-KP) hit a military academy of the Afghan army on 29 January.

The attacks have provoked widespread fury at the Taliban, prompting some Afghan political leaders and activists to press the government to crush the insurgency instead of pursuing peace talks. Some have even called for the execution of Taliban prisoners; government officials said they were considering the option. Afghan President Ashraf Ghani described the 27 January attack as “our 9/11” and vowed to order massive operations against the Taliban. Similar anger was directed by Ghani, other politicians and the public at Pakistan, which hosts Taliban leaders and is widely perceived as a key external enabler of the insurgency.

The attacks have provoked widespread fury at the Taliban [and] have added to Afghans’ mounting frustration with their government.

The attacks have added to Afghans’ mounting frustration with their government. Many view the government as bogged down in micromanagement and too distracted by a power struggle against potential rivals ahead of the 2019 presidential elections to adequately protect against insurgent attacks.

The attacks not only provoked rage among Afghans, but attracted sharp condemnation from abroad. On 29 January, U.S. President Donald Trump said: “They’re killing people left and right”. He appeared to rule out engaging insurgent leaders: “We don’t want to talk to the Taliban. We’re going to finish what we have to finish, what nobody else has been able to finish, we’re going to be able to do it”.

The day after President Trump’s statement, Deputy Secretary of State John Sullivan, visiting Kabul, appeared to walk it back, saying it was meant to highlight the depravity of the Taliban’s recent attacks and did not reflect a policy shift. Talking to reporters, Sullivan argued that the U.S. overall still hopes to move toward peace talks.

Despite Sullivan’s recalibration, Trump’s words matter in Afghanistan and the region. His rhetoric should be seen in the light of a new U.S. strategy in Afghanistan that thus far has mostly involved committing further U.S. forces and an escalating military operation against the Taliban. U.S. signals on engaging the Taliban – or at least on encouraging the movement’s leaders to enter talks with the Afghan government – have been mixed. In principle, and notwithstanding President Trump’s 29 January remarks, top U.S. officials say the new approach includes both military and diplomatic efforts to achieve a political settlement with the Taliban. Yet U.S. diplomacy has clearly taken a back seat to military operations. U.S. contacts with insurgent leaders, which were ongoing, albeit limited, in the latter years of the Obama administration, appear to have petered out.

A Wider Escalation

The recent Taliban strikes take place amid a wider escalation of the war. The uptick in attacks is not the first such increase over the past few years. Nonetheless, Afghanistan is suffering more intense violence now than during any other winter – winters usually see a lull in fighting – since 2001.

This comes alongside U.S. public messaging that its military posture against the Taliban will be increasingly aggressive, winter will offer no respite and spring will bring ever fiercer operations. Indeed, the Afghan security forces and U.S. military are already conducting record numbers of airstrikes and raids against the Taliban. Their stated intention is to gain the upper hand before the fighting season starts, undermine the insurgency and convince its leaders they cannot win militarily.

The U.S. military has stepped up airstrikes, raids and operations by U.S. Special Forces.

Throughout December and January, airstrikes and ground raids appear to have affected the Taliban’s battlefield mobility across the country and have inflicted losses on the insurgency at a level unprecedented for a winter season. Facing increasing battlefield pressure, the Taliban seem to be shifting toward tactics that pressure the Afghan government, its security forces and the U.S. while reducing insurgents’ exposure. Recent Taliban statements warn of an increase in suicide strikes and attacks by insurgents that have infiltrated security forces or related security partners. Taliban sources also threaten further massive attacks against Afghan and U.S. troops. The lethality of the attacks has increased, in part thanks to sophisticated modern equipment such as sniper rifles, laser sights and night-vision goggles.

Suicide attacks have long been part of the movement’s urban warfare. As military operations against the Taliban escalated over 2017 – even before the new U.S. strategy was formally announced – so too did suicide attacks. Last year saw a 50 per cent increase in the number of such attacks compared to 2016: 48 versus 32, according to the Taliban’s own records (this may exclude attacks it did not claim). As the movement faces further pressure this year, the pace of spectacular attacks and urban warfare may well continue as pressure on the battlefield is unlikely to radically undermine insurgents’ ability to stage them. The same week Kabul suffered the two Taliban attacks described above, the provincial capitals of Helmand and Kandahar provinces in the south were also struck by suicide bombers.

The Kabul attacks suggest the Taliban is sending signals of its own: that the U.S. cannot fight its way to peace. Taliban spokesman Zabihullah Mujahid said in a statement that the movement “has a clear message for Trump and his hand kissers that if you go ahead with a policy of aggression and speak from the barrel of a gun, don’t expect Afghans to grow flowers in response”. By turning Kabul into a battlefield, insurgents gain wider attention, shake public confidence in the government, while showing their continued ability to strike hard.

The U.S. military has stepped up airstrikes, raids and operations by U.S. Special Forces. In December 2017, U.S. and Afghan forces conducted 455 airstrikes, compared with just 65 in December 2016. Even in the same month in 2012, when nearly 100,000 U.S. troops were present in Afghanistan, barely 200 strikes took place. All told, 2,000 airstrikes were carried out between August and December of last year, nearly as many as in all of 2015 and 2016 combined.

The increased battlefield tempo might have hurt the Taliban. But it does not yet appear to have translated into increased territorial control for Afghan forces, which the U.S. military has defined as a key metric for measuring progress (U.S. Defense Department officials reported in late January, with data from October 2017, that more territory had slipped from government to Taliban control).

Increasing Civilian Suffering

The escalation clearly has not improved security for the population – another critical metric for any campaign’s success, though not one referred to by the U.S. administration. The U.S. Inspector General for Afghan Reconstruction (SIGAR) reported in its quarterly report in late January that the number of civilian casualties (4,474) from 1 June to 27 November 2017 increased by 13 per cent compared to the same period during the previous year. Civilian casualties due to airstrikes have increased too. According to UNAMA, civilian casualties by airstrikes increased 52 per cent in first nine months of 2017, compared to the same period in 2016. The toll from airstrikes is mostly borne by rural populations, whose suffering receives considerably less attention than that of those affected by the Taliban’s strikes in Kabul. Indeed, a striking feature of the Taliban’s own propaganda is what they charge as the double standard in reporting by Western and Afghan media.

Nor is it clear that a military build-up, despite its tragic costs, will necessarily make insurgent leaders more willing to talk. In fact, the opposite may be true: it risks empowering elements within the movement more resistant to reconciliation.

The [Taliban] leaders [who have signalled interest in peace talks] may not always be in sync with the mood on the battlefield.

The Taliban faces its own internal struggle. Those on the political-civil front, including parts of the leadership and representatives in the Doha political office, appear to have already accepted in recent years that they are unlikely to win the war militarily and have quietly signalled interest in peace talks. These leaders may not always be in sync with the mood on the battlefield. Although command and control within the movement is still fairly coherent, leaders outside the country find it increasingly hard to shape the daily decisions of their on-the-ground commanders, who in any case enjoy considerable autonomy and whose units are suffering high casualties. This could mean a gradual erosion of influence among insurgents who are more inclined toward talking and more power for harder line fighters on the ground.

NATO chief Jens Stoltenberg reacted to the Taliban’s Kabul attacks by vowing that the alliance will continue and increase support to the Afghan forces. But he highlighted too the need to ramp up diplomatic efforts: “It is essential to redouble efforts to achieve peace and reconciliation”, he said. Notwithstanding the many difficulties peace talks would pose, he and the U.S.’s other allies should press Washington to do exactly that: keep channels of communication to insurgent leaders open and at least lay the ground for peace talks by continuing to test with Afghanistan’s neighbours and other regional powers what a settlement might look like.

Absent that, U.S. strategy risks further increasing the intensity of violence across the country, with no foreseeable end in sight. Civilians on rural front lines will bear the brunt of much of the fighting, but those in the capital and other towns will suffer too if the Taliban continues to perpetrate horrific attacks like those last week.