icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
يمكن لتوترات الخليج أن تشعل فتيل صراع لا يريده أحد
يمكن لتوترات الخليج أن تشعل فتيل صراع لا يريده أحد
The Security Council Chamber in New York, October 2018. UN PHOTO/Manuel Elias

يمكن لتوترات الخليج أن تشعل فتيل صراع لا يريده أحد

خاطب رئيس مجموعة الأزمات ومديرها التنفيذي روبرت مالي في 20 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2020 مجلس الأمن الدولي بشأن خطر الصراع في الخليج وسائر أنحاء الشرق الأوسط. وقال إن حواراً شاملاً بشأن الأمن الإقليمي قد لا يكون مرجحاً، لكن سيكون من قبيل انعدام المسؤولية عدم محاولة إجراء مثل ذلك الحوار.

السيد الرئيس، السيد الأمين العام، أعضاء الوفود الأكارم

مجموعة الأزمات منظمة تكرس نفسها لمنع وتسوية الصراعات المهلكة. وقد نشطنا مؤخراً في التحذير من مخاطر المواجهة في منطقة الخليج واقترحنا أفكاراً عملية تستند إلى الانخراط الدبلوماسي لتفادي مثل تلك المخاطر. إننا نؤمن بضرورة التحدث إلى جميع الأطراف والاستماع إليها جميعاً، وبالتالي فإننا نرحب بمبادرة الاتحاد الروسي التي تأتي في وقتها لتنظيم هذا النقاش المفتوح.

دعوني أبدأ ببيان ينبغي أن يكون مبعثاً لمخاوف كبيرة لكن في الوقت نفسه لا ينبغي أن يكون موضع جدل، وهو أن صراعاً يشمل المنطقة بأسرها ويلوح بشكل واضح في الأفق وعلى نطاق العالم هو صراع لا يبدو أن أحداً يريده، صراع تشعل فتيله التوترات الجارية في منطقة الخليج. يمكن القول إن الظروف المواتية لنشوب حرب ستؤثر ليس في الخليج وحسب بل في منطقة الشرق الأوسط الأوسع باتت أنضج من أي وقت مضى في ذاكرتنا الحديثة ويمكن أن تندلع في أي من الأماكن العديدة المؤهلة لذلك – في مضيق هرمز، في العراق، أو في اليمن. لكن نشوب مثل تلك الحرب ليس أمراً محتوماً؛ إذ إن أياً من الأطراف لا يرغب بها؛ وحتى الآن، أظهرت جميع الأطراف على الأغلب قدرة على معايرة أفعالها لتحاشي حدوث تصعيد. لكن حتى الأفعال المحسوبة بدقة يمكن أن يكون لها تداعيات غير مقصودة. وفي عدة مرات على مدى العامين الماضيين – خصوصاً الهجمات على منشآت أرامكو السعودية واغتيال الجنرال سليماني – بدا أن نشوب صراع إقليمي أمر محتمل.

إن صراعاً يشمل المنطقة بأسرها ويلوح بشكل واضح في الأفق وعلى نطاق العالم هو صراع لا يبدو أن أحداً يريده.

وفي كل واحدة من هذه المرات، تراجعت الأطراف خطوة إلى الوراء. ومنذ تلك الأيام التي سادتها تهديدات قصوى، انخفضت حدة التوترات إلى حد ما. لكننا لا نستطيع أن نكون واثقين من أن جميع الأطراف ستظهر دائماً ذلك القدر من ضبط النفس. إن هجوماً واحداً بصاروخ، أو طائرة مسيرة أو لغم بحري من شأنه أن يطلق تصعيداً عسكرياً بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران والحلفاء الإقليميين والمجموعات الوكيلة لكل منهما قد يتبين أن من المستحيل احتواءه.

وثمة بيان ثانٍ لا ينبغي أن يكون موضع جدل أيضاً، وهو أن هذا الوضع لا يخدم مصالح أي طرف. لا مصالح دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي مثل المملكة العربية السعودية أو الإمارات العربية المتحدة، التي استُهدفت سُفنها التجارية وأراضيها بهجمات تشك الدولتان، كما يشك آخرون، بقوة أنها انطلقت من إيران. كما أنه لا يخدم مصالح الجمهورية الإسلامية الإيرانية، التي وجدت نفسها ضحية حملة ضغوط شرسة ألحقت ضرراً واضحاً باقتصادها ورفاه مواطنيها، وكلّفتهم حياة أحد أهم قادتهم في غارة جوية أميركية. كما أنه لا يخدم مصالح الولايات المتحدة، التي لم يتحقق أي من أهدافها المعلنة لانتهاك خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة، والتي تتعرض قواتها في العراق الآن للتهديد. ولا يخدم هذا الوضع مصالح أطراف ثالثة ترغب بوجود منطقة خليج مستقرة لأسباب استراتيجية أو اقتصادية. كما أنه، وقد يكون هذا الأكثر أهمية، لا يخدم مصالح مواطني المنطقة – اليمنيين والليبيين، الذين عانوا أكثر من غيرهم من التوترات الخليجية الداخلية، ولا شعوب الشرق الأوسط بأسره – الذين تقوضت تطلعاتهم إلى حياة لائقة وسلمية بسبب الخصومات وغياب التعاون بين حكوماتهم.

والسؤال الأول الذي أرغب بطرحه في ملاحظاتي اليوم هو: لماذا يكون الوضع على ما هو عليه. والسؤال الثاني، ما الذي يمكن فعله حيال ذلك. ولا شك لدي أن جميع الأطراف سيكون لها اعتراضات على أجزاء مما سأقوله، وهو ما أعتقد أنه يحقق غرضي من تناوله.

ثمة العديد من الأسباب الكامنة خلف الاستقطاب الحاد الذي أصاب منطقة الخليج وتفسر الخلافات العديدة فيها – بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران، وبين إيران والسعودية، وكذلك بين دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي نفسها – وهي الخلافات التي تتقاطع بأشكال خطيرة وقد تكون انفجارية. وسأركز على أحد هذه الأشكال، أي الرؤى المتباينة جداً لمصادر التوترات، طبقاً لما إذا كنت جالساً في واشنطن، أو طهران، أو الرياض، أو أبو ظبي، أو الدوحة أو في مكان آخر.

السعودية وحلفاؤها يرون في سياسات إيران – في سورية، أو العراق، أو لبنان أو اليمن – طموحات لقوة ترغب في أن تكون مهيمنة؛ ويرون في الجمهورية الإسلامية تهديداً متنامياً لا بد من كبح جماح تطلعاته الإقليمية خشية أن تطوقهم بشركائها ووكلائها. طهران من جهتها ترى منطقة تهيمن عليها القوى المدعومة من الولايات المتحدة والتي تتمتع بقدرات عسكرية متفوقة وعازمة على عزلها وإضعافها. كما أنها تنظر إلى السعودية والإمارات على أنهما متواطئتان مع الولايات المتحدة لإخضاعها اقتصادياً وفي النهاية استبدال قيادتها. ومن منظور قادة إيران إلى العالم، وهو منظور تشكل في البوتقة المؤلمة التي شكلتها الحرب الإيرانية – العراقية التي دامت ثماني سنوات، وفي مواجهة خصوم مسلحين تسليحاً أثقل من تسليحها، فإنهم يعتنقون العقيدة الاستراتيجية للبلاد التي تستند إلى قدراتها العسكرية غير المتماثلة ودعم حلفائها الإقليميين، بما في ذلك القوى المسلحة الفاعلة خارج إطار الدولة.

 

ما يفاقم الأمور هو غياب أي آلية مؤسساتية للتعبير عن مظالم الأطراف

ما يفاقم الأمور هو غياب أي آلية مؤسساتية للتعبير عن مظالم الأطراف، وعلى الأقل محاولة تضييق الفجوات فيما بينها. وبالفعل، لا يوجد الآن أي قناة تواصل حقيقية بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران، ولا قناة رسمية بين إيران والسعودية، ولا وجود يذكر لدبلوماسية حقيقية بما يتجاوز المماحكات الخطابية بين دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي المتخاصمة. كما أنه لا يوجد منظمة إقليمية واحدة تحتضن جميع اللاعبين في منطقة الخليج ويمكن أن تشكل إطاراً لبناء الثقة وإجراءات خفض التصعيد.

في الواقع فإن المنظمات الموجودة تنزع إلى تغذية التوترات. وكل ما تفعله الأطراف ينزع إلى تعزيز التصورات المسبقة القائمة لدى خصومها. ما تقدمه طهران على أنها سياسات دفاعية مصممة لتقليص التهديدات التي تواجهها، ترى فيها الرياض والأطراف الأخرى أفعالاً عدوانية. ومن المؤكد أنها تدفع خصوم إيران إلى مقاومتها، وبهذا الشكل، فإن النهج الحالي للجمهورية الإسلامية يشكل صيغة لعدم استقرار إقليمي دائم. وفي السياق نفسه، فإن الجهود التي تبذلها واشنطن، والرياض وأطراف أخرى تركز حصرياً على ردع إيران بشكل عدواني من المرجح أن تدفع القيادة الإيرانية إلى تعزيز نهجها الحالي. وبشكل خاص فإن حملة ممارسة "أقصى درجات الضغط" التي تشنها الولايات المتحدة بدعم وتشجيع من معظم شركائها الخليجيين، مصحوبة بإمدادات وافرة من الأسلحة التقليدية من قبل الحكومات الغربية لتلك الدول الخليجية يدفع إيران حتماً إلى تكثيف استخدامها لأدواتها غير المتماثلة.

في هذه الحال، ما الذي ينبغي فعله؟

لدى مجموعة الأزمات إيمان راسخ بقوة الدبلوماسية، ونرى أمثلة على المحاولات الناجحة لخفض التصعيد الإقليمي.

لقد تمثلت إحدى تلك السوابق في الاتفاق النووي الإيراني، أو خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة. وقد شاركتُ في تلك المفاوضات، وبالتالي أعترف بانحيازي. فأنا مقتنع بأن الاتفاق ساعد على تخفيف حدة التوترات وكان من شأنه أن يمهد السبيل إلى دبلوماسية أوسع وأكثر كثافة؛ ولهذا السبب، فإن منظمتي عبّرت عن أسفها لقرار الولايات المتحدة الانسحاب وأشادت بالجهود الأوروبية لإبقاء خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة حيّة. لكني أعي أن وجهات نظر المجتمعين هنا اليوم تتفاوت، ولست بصدد إعادة تقييم تلك المسألة مرة أخرى.

نجحت المفاوضات [بشأن خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة] ليس بفضل الثقة المتبادلة، بل لأنها كانت متعددة الأطراف

المغزى هو أنه، سواء كان المرء يدعم خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة أم لا، فإنها توفر عدة دروس. فقد نجحت المفاوضات ليس بفضل الثقة المتبادلة، بل لأنها كانت متعددة الأطراف، ولأنها جمعت الضغوط المتبادلة إلى الأهداف الواقعية، ولأن مختلف الأطراف اعترفت بالمصالح الجوهرية لبعضها بعضاً.

واستناداً إلى هذه الاعتبارات، نشرت مجموعة الأزمات تقريراً في نيسان/أبريل الماضي بعنوان الشرق الأوسط بين الأمن الجماعي والانهيار الجماعي، يبين الخطوات التي ينبغي اتخاذها لتقليص مخاطر الحرب. وستكون فرضيته الرئيسية مألوفة للعديد منكم، وهي أن منطقة الخليج بحاجة لإطلاق حوار أمني جماعي وشامل يضم الدول الست الأعضاء في مجلس التعاون الخليجي، وإيران والعراق، ويهدف إلى تقليص حدة التوترات.

الحكومات الخليجية الأقل انخراطاً في الأعمال العدائية لكن التي يمكن أن تتضرر إذا اندلع القتال – وأنا أفكر هنا بالكويت وعُمان – يمكن أن تسعيا بشكل مشترك إلى إشراك جيرانهما الأكثر قوة والمنخرطين بشكل مباشر في الصراع – إيران، والإمارات والسعودية – في مثل تلك الآلية غير الرسمية.

كما يمكن للحكومات الأوروبية وغير الأوروبية ذات الصلة أن تيسر العملية، وأن تساعد في نقل بعض الرسائل في المرحلة الأولى للتواصل، وتقديم المشورة التقنية والتشجيع الهادئ مع تطور العملية. وسيكون الهدف الأول ببساطة فتح قنوات التواصل.

ويمكن للأمم المتحدة أن تلعب دوراً مهماً؛ فقرار مجلس الأمن الدولي 598 (1987)، الذي أنهى الحرب الإيرانية – العراقية، يوفر تفويضاً للأمين العام لإجراء حوار أمني إقليمي يضع الأرضية اللازمة لبنية أمنية مقبولة لجميع الأطراف. وكما سمعنا للتو من الأمين العام، فهو مستعد لفعل ذلك. في الحد الأدنى، ينبغي على مجلس الأمن تشجيع وإقرار عملية بقيادة خليجية إذا بدأت تلك العملية بالترسخ.

يمكن للنقاشات داخل الآلية الأمنية الخليجية، بوحي من عملية هلسنكي، أن تبدأ بمحاولة التوصل إلى اتفاق على المبادئ المشتركة الحاكمة للعلاقات بين الدول، مثل عدم التدخل (سواء مباشرة أو من خلال وكلاء محليين) واحترام سلامة أراضي كل دولة، ومحاولة تحديد دوافع كل طرف، وهواجسه الرئيسية وتصوراته للتهديدات. ومن ثم يمكن لهذه الخطوات أن تتطور إلى إجراءات بناء ثقة ملموسة.

في البداية، يمكن لهذه الإجراءات أن تشمل خطوات متواضعة مثل تخفيف حدة الخطاب التحريضي؛ وإصدار بيانات أحادية داعمة للحوار وبيانات مشتركة تبين المبادئ والمصالح المشتركة؛ أو فتح قنوات اتصال مباشرة، مثل الخط الساخن لمنع الصراع بين دول الخليج ومع اللاعبين الخارجيين الذين تنتشر أصولهم العسكرية في الخليج.

كما يمكن لمختلف الأطراف أن تعالج المسائل ذات الاهتمام المشترك، مثل الآثار السلبية العابرة للحدود للتغير المناخي، وتدهور جودة المياه، والاستعداد للكوارث، وانتشار كوفيد–19، والأمن البحري والسياحة الدينية والحج. ويمكن للأمم المتحدة، من خلال العدد الكبير لوكالاتها التقنية، أن تدعم هذه المبادرات.

إذا بدأت النقاشات الأولية بتحقيق النتائج، وعندما يحدث ذلك، يمكن تطويرها لتركز على سبل خفض تصعيد التوترات عبر آليات أمنية مشتركة مثل الإبلاغ المسبق عن تحركات القوات والمناورات العسكرية أو السماح للخصوم بإرسال خبراء عسكريين لمراقبة مثل تلك المناورات.

في النهاية، يمكن للأطراف الخليجية أن تستكشف سُبل تعزيز إطار تعاون أمني دائم يشمل جميع الأطراف المعنية.

ثمة الكثير مما يمكن، بل ينبغي فعله، خصوصاً اتخاذ خطوات لتسوية الصراعات العديدة، من سورية إلى ليبيا إلى اليمن، والتي تغذت على التوترات القائمة بين السعودية وإيران وكذلك على التوترات بين الإمارات، ومصر، وتركيا وقطر، والتي تسببت بمعاناة إنسانية لا يمكن وصفها وتبقى نقاط اشتعال محتملة لحريق أوسع.

التهديد الرئيسي الذي تواجهه المنطقة اليوم ليس حرباً اختيارية بل حرباً غير مقصودة تنتج عن خطأ في الحسابات، أو سوء تفسير أو غياب التواصل في الوقت المناسب

الحد الأدنى هو ما يلي: التهديد الرئيسي الذي تواجهه المنطقة اليوم ليس حرباً اختيارية بل حرباً غير مقصودة تنتج عن خطأ في الحسابات، أو سوء تفسير أو غياب التواصل في الوقت المناسب. لقد أتقن اللاعبون الرئيسيون في منطقة الخليج لعبة حافة الهاوية إلى درجة ممارسة هذه اللعبة على الحافة تماماً. وقد كانت النتيجة تمزق الخط الفاصل بين حالة الحرب واللا حرب. ولتوليد الإرادة السياسية اللازمة للعمل، فإن أسوأ الأوقات يوفر أفضل الفرص، ويمكن القول إن الظروف السائدة في الخليج قد وصلت إلى تلك النقطة.

قد يكون أمام حوار أمني إقليمي جماعي وشامل يهدف إلى تخفيف حدة التوترات فرصة ضئيلة في التحقق، بل فرصة أقل في النجاح. لكن في ظل الظروف الراهنة سيكون من قبيل انعدام المسؤولية عدم المحاولة.

أود أن أغتنم هذه الفرصة للتعبير عن نقطة واحدة أخيرة. نحن نسعى ما وسعنا كي نكون منظمة حيادية لتسوية الصراعات، وآمل أن تكونوا قد تبينتم ذلك في الأفكار التي طرحتها اليوم. وهذا ما يفعله موظفونا – إنهم يحاولون فهم مناظير جميع الأطراف، وعكسها بأفضل ما يمكنهم ذلك، واقتراح حلول براغماتية. وهذا ما كان يفعله زميلنا مايكل كوفريغ في عمله على السياسة الخارجية الصينية. وهذا ليس المكان أو الوقت المناسب لمناقشة قضيته. لكني لا أستطيع أن أختتم دون مناشدة السلطات الصينية، إذا كانت تسمعنا، أن تتفهم المهمة التي كان يقوم بها، وإنهاء اعتقاله المستمر لنحو عامين تقريباً، والسماح له أخيراً أن يعود إلى أحبته ويستمر بالعمل وصولاً إلى عالم أكثر سلمية.

شكراً لكم.

icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
Gulf Tensions Could Trigger a Conflict Nobody Wants
Gulf Tensions Could Trigger a Conflict Nobody Wants
The Security Council Chamber in New York, October 2018. UN PHOTO/Manuel Elias

Gulf Tensions Could Trigger a Conflict Nobody Wants

Crisis Group’s President & CEO Robert Malley on 20 October 2020 addressed the UN Security Council on the danger of conflict in the Gulf and across the Middle East. An inclusive regional security dialogue may be unlikely, he said, but it would be irresponsible not to try.

Mr. President, Secretary-General, distinguished delegates.

Crisis Group is an organisation dedicated to the prevention and resolution of deadly conflicts. Of late, we have been active in warning against risks of confrontation in the Gulf region and proposing practical ideas grounded in diplomatic engagement to avert them. We believe in the necessity of talking and listening to all sides and so warmly welcome the Russian Federation’s timely initiative in organising this open debate.

Let me start with a statement that should be as alarming as it should be uncontentious: The region-wide conflict that now looms largest across the globe is a conflict nobody apparently wants – a conflict triggered by tensions in the Gulf region. Conditions for a war that would affect not just the Gulf but the broader Middle East are arguably riper than at any time in recent memory and could break out in any of a number of places – in the strait of Hormuz, Iraq, or Yemen. It is far from inevitable; none of the parties wants it, and so far, all have for the most part shown the ability to calibrate their actions to avoid an escalation. But even finely tuned actions can have unintentional repercussions. Several times over the last two years – most notably the attacks on the Saudi Aramco facilities and the killing of General Soleimani – a regional conflict has seemed possible.

The region-wide conflict that now looms largest across the globe is a conflict nobody apparently wants.

On each occasion, the parties stepped back. Since those days of maximum threat, tensions have somewhat subsided. But we cannot be confident that all sides will always demonstrate such restraint. A single attack by rocket, drone or limpet mine could set off a military escalation between the U.S. and Iran and their respective regional allies and proxies that could prove impossible to contain.

A second statement that should not be contentious: This situation serves no party’s interests. Not those of GCC countries such as the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia or the UAE, who have seen commercial vessels and their territory targeted by attacks they and others strongly suspect originated from Iran. Not those of the Islamic Republic of Iran, which has found itself the victim of a ferocious pressure campaign that has inflicted clear harm to its economy and its citizens’ well-being, and which cost them one of their most important leaders due to a U.S. strike. Not those of the United States, none of whose stated objectives in violating the JCPOA has been fulfilled and whose personnel in Iraq are now under threat. Not those of third parties who wish for a stable Gulf region for strategic or economic reasons. And, perhaps most importantly, not the interests of the region’s citizens – Yemenis and Libyans, who have suffered most directly from intra-Gulf tensions, but also people across the Middle East – whose aspirations for decent and peaceful lives have been stymied by rivalries and lack of cooperation among their governments. 

The first question I wish to address in my remarks today is why this is the case. The second, what might be done about it. I suspect that all sides will take issue with parts of what I have to say, which I will take as having fulfilled my purpose.

Many reasons lie behind the intense polarisation that has infected the Gulf region and explain why its many rifts – between the U.S. and Iran, Iran and Saudi Arabia, as well as among GCC states – intersect in dangerous and potentially explosive ways. I will focus on one: the highly divergent perspectives on the sources of tensions, depending on whether you are sitting in Washington, Tehran, Riyadh, Abu Dhabi, Doha or elsewhere.

Saudi Arabia and its allies view in Iran’s policies – in Syria, Iraq, Lebanon or Yemen – the ambitions of a would-be hegemon; they see the Islamic Republic as a growing threat whose regional aspirations need curbing lest it encircle them with its partners and proxies. Tehran for its part sees a region dominated by U.S.-backed powers with superior military capabilities intent on isolating and weakening it; it also views Saudi Arabia and the UAE as being in collusion with the United States to economically coerce and ultimately replace its leadership. With a worldview formed in the traumatising crucible of the eight-year Iran-Iraq war, and faced with more heavily armed adversaries, Iranian leaders subscribe to the country’s strategic doctrine, which is based on its asymmetric military capabilities and support for regional allies, including armed non-state actors. 

Making matters worse has been the absence of any institutional mechanism to air the parties’ grievances.

Making matters worse has been the absence of any institutional mechanism to air the parties’ grievances, and at least try to narrow gaps. Indeed, there is at present no meaningful channel between the U.S. and Iran, no official one between Iran and Saudi Arabia, and little real diplomacy beyond rhetorical jousting between rival GCC countries. Nor is there a single regional organisation that embraces all Gulf actors that could serve as a framework for confidence-building and de-escalation measures.

Whatever organisations exist tend to fuel tensions. And whatever the parties do tends to reinforce their foes’ pre-existing perceptions. What Tehran presents as defensive policies designed to lessen the threats it faces, Riyadh and others perceive as acts of aggression. They inevitably prompt pushback by Iran’s foes and, to that extent, the Islamic Republic’s current approach is a formula for enduring regional instability. But by the same token, efforts by Washington, Riyadh and others that focus exclusively on aggressively pushing back against Iran are likely to prompt the country’s leadership to double down on its current approach. In particular, the “maximum pressure” campaign undertaken by the U.S. with the support and encouragement of most of its Gulf partners coupled with the abundant supply of conventional weapons by Western governments to those Gulf states inevitably leads Iran to intensify use of its own asymmetric tools.

So, what is to be done? 

Crisis Group is a firm believer in the power of diplomacy, and we see some examples of successful attempts at regional de-escalation. 

One such precedent was the Iran nuclear deal, or JCPOA. I participated in those negotiations and so, admittedly, am biased. I am convinced that the deal helped reduce tensions and could have paved the way for more intensive and broader diplomacy; for that reason, my organisation has regretted the U.S. decision to withdraw and applauded European efforts to keep the JCPOA alive. But I am well aware that views among those assembled today vary, and I am not here to relitigate that question.

The [JCPOA] negotiations succeeded not due to mutual trust, but because they were multilateral.

The point is, whether one supports the JCPOA or not, it offers a few lessons. The negotiations succeeded not due to mutual trust, but because they were multilateral, because they combined mutual pressure with realistic goals, and because the various sides recognised each other’s core interests. 

It is with these considerations in mind that Crisis Group published a report last April entitled The Middle East between Collective Security and Collective Breakdown, outlining steps that should be taken to reduce risks of war. Its core premise will be familiar to many of you: that the Gulf region needs to initiate a collective and inclusive security dialogue encompassing the six members of the Gulf Cooperation Council, Iran and Iraq, and aiming at diminishing tensions.

Governments in the Gulf that are least involved in hostilities but could be most harmed if fighting erupts – I am thinking of Kuwait and Oman – could jointly seek to bring their more powerful and more directly involved neighbours – Iran, the UAE and Saudi Arabia – into such an informal mechanism.

European and other relevant governments could facilitate the process, helping pass some messages in the initial phase of contact, and offering technical advice and quiet encouragement as the process develops. The first objective would simply be to open communication channels.

The UN too could play an important role. UN Security Council Resolution 598 (1987), which ended the Iran-Iraq war, provides a mandate for the Secretary-General to convene a regional security dialogue to lay the ground for a security architecture tolerable to all sides. As we just heard from the Secretary-General, he is prepared to do so. At a minimum, the Security Council ought to encourage and endorse a Gulf-led process if it begins to take hold.

Discussions within a Gulf security mechanism, inspired by the Helsinki process, could start by trying to reach agreement on shared principles governing inter-state relations, such as non-interference (directly or via local proxy) and respect for each state’s territorial integrity, and try to identify each side’s motivations, core concerns and threat perceptions. They could then evolve toward concrete confidence-building measures. 

Initially, these could include modest steps: reducing inflammatory rhetoric; issuing unilateral statements in support of dialogue and joint statements outlining shared principles and interests; or opening direct communication channels, such as a de-confliction hotline among Gulf states and with outside actors whose military assets are deployed in the Gulf. 

The various sides could also address matters of shared concern, such as cross-border adverse effects of climate change, deteriorating water quality, disaster preparedness, the spread of COVID-19, maritime security and religious tourism and pilgrimages. The UN, through its multitude of technical agencies, could support these initiatives. 

If and when initial discussions start to yield results, they could be scaled up to focus on ways to de-escalate tensions through shared security mechanisms such as prior notification of troop movements and military exercises or allowing adversaries to send military experts to observe such manoeuvres. 

Eventually, Gulf parties could explore ways of fostering a durable cooperative regional security framework that includes all main stakeholders.

There is much more that could and should be done, notably taking steps to resolve the myriad conflicts, from Syria to Libya to Yemen, that have been fuelled both by tensions between Saudi Arabia and Iran and by those involving the United Arab Emirates, Egypt, Turkey and Qatar, which have caused unspeakable human suffering and remain potential flashpoints for a broader conflagration.

The main threat the region faces today is not so much a war of choice but an inadvertent one that results from miscalculation, misinterpretation or lack of timely communication.

The bottom line is this: the main threat the region faces today is not so much a war of choice but an inadvertent one that results from miscalculation, misinterpretation or lack of timely communication. Key actors in the Gulf have refined the game of brinkmanship to the point of playing it right up to the edge. The result has been the fraying of the thread dividing war from no war. To generate political will to act, the worst of times may offer the best opportunity, and conditions in the Gulf arguably have reached that point.

An inclusive, collective regional security dialogue aimed at lessening tensions may have only a small chance of materialising, and an even smaller chance of success. But under current circumstances it would be irresponsible not to give it a try.

I want to take this opportunity to make one final point. We strive to be an impartial conflict resolution organisation, and I hope you discerned that in the ideas I put forward today. That’s what our staff do – they try to understand all parties’ perspectives, reflect them as best they can, and propose pragmatic solutions. That’s what our colleague Michael Kovrig was doing in his work on China’s foreign policy. This is neither the time nor place to discuss his case. But I cannot conclude without appealing to the Chinese authorities, if they are listening, to understand the mission he was pursuing, end his now almost two-year detention, allow him at long last to be reunited with his loved ones and continue his work toward a more peaceful world.

Thank you.

Robert Malley addressing the UN Security Council on the danger of conflict in the Gulf and across the Middle East, 20 October 2020.