Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera Youtube
Le dilemme de l’assistance électorale internationale en Afrique centrale
Le dilemme de l’assistance électorale internationale en Afrique centrale
L’UA doit plaider pour une approche inclusive au Burundi en vue de mettre fin à la violence
L’UA doit plaider pour une approche inclusive au Burundi en vue de mettre fin à la violence
Commentary / Africa

Le dilemme de l’assistance électorale internationale en Afrique centrale

La fièvre des élections s’empare de l’Afrique centrale. Pour la seconde fois depuis la fin des guerres qui ont dévasté la région, les scrutins s’enchaînent au Burundi, au Rwanda, en République centrafricaine et au Congo.

Paradoxalement et comme le Burundi est en train de le démontrer à présent, ces élections sont plus délicates que celles de l’après-guerre. Les gouvernements ont repris en main un processus précédemment conçu, financé, sécurisé et piloté par la communauté internationale. Ce scrutin est donc le premier test véritable pour la consolidation démocratique de l’Afrique centrale, ce qui pose un problème spécifique aux faiseurs de paix : comment garantir des élections libres et transparentes quand on est passé du siège du conducteur à celui du passager ?

La décennie 1990-2000 a été marquée par les violences de masse, avec le génocide rwandais, la guerre civile au Burundi, les insurrections centrafricaines à répétition et les multiples rébellions du Congo. La décennie suivante a été celle de la transition politique, de la décompression autoritaire et de l’avènement démocratique, à l’exception du Rwanda. C’est l’acquis de cette seconde période qui est mis à l’épreuve pendant cette année électorale.

Les Burundais ont ouvert le cycle avec des communales, le 24 mai, suivies des présidentielles et des législatives, en juin et en juillet. Aujourd’hui, malgré la fin de la guerre civile, les clivages ethniques qui ont nourri la guerre civile continuent à structurer le champ politique.

La République centrafricaine s’extrait difficilement de l’instabilité malgré un processus de réconciliation nationale vacillant. Afin d’être réélu, après le coup d’Etat qui l’a porté au pouvoir en 2003, le général Bozizé a tenté d’organiser des élections à la hussarde. Mais les irrégularités et les insuffisances techniques sont telles que l’opposition et la communauté internationale ont jusqu’à présent paré ses tentatives. Le président Bozizé a été forcé d’accepter report après report. Initialement prévu pour avril, puis pour mai, on ignore aujourd’hui si le scrutin aura lieu en 2010 ou en 2011.

Au Congo, la préparation des élections présidentielles de 2011 a déjà pris un retard considérable et débute dans une atmosphère lourde de controverses (rumeurs de révision de la constitution, du fichier et de la loi électorale et dernièrement meurtre de Floribert Chebeya, le dirigeant de la principale association de défense des droits de l’Homme).

Un pays rompt avec ce schéma régional. Au Rwanda, on assiste au verrouillage de l’espace démocratique. Depuis la fin du génocide en 1994, Kagamé domine un désert politique. À l’approche des élections présidentielles en août, et malgré ou à cause d’un score de 95 pour cent lors du dernier scrutin, le régime se raidit davantage. Les arrestations (y compris dans le premier cercle du pouvoir) et les agressions d’opposants se multiplient. Les voix critiques sont réduites au silence, comme le montrent l’éviction de l’ONG Human Rights Watch et la suspension de deux journaux accusés d’inciter au désordre public.

Un rapide « check-up électoral » fait apparaître tout le chemin parcouru par ces régimes mais aussi toute la fragilité de leurs acquis démocratiques.

Au Burundi, une série de bras de fer politiques a permis la création d’institutions électorales relativement indépendantes. L’opposition a réussi à peser sur la composition de la commission électorale, initialement formée de partisans avérés du régime. Objet de toutes les attentions, l’élaboration du fichier électoral a évité les manipulations les plus grossières. L’enregistrement, mené par une administration locale partisane sur la base de pièces d’identité payantes, avait soulevé un tollé dans les rangs de l’opposition. La communauté internationale a résolu le problème en finançant la distribution de cartes d’identité gratuites.

Cependant, les tentations autoritaires restent présentes. L’opposition a vu ses réunions interdites, ses bureaux fermés et ses membres arrêtés par des administrateurs qui prouvaient ainsi leur fidélité au gouvernement en place. Les agressions de figures politiques et les heurts entre les jeunesses des partis montrent que la pacification des mœurs politiques est encore d’actualité dans une société traumatisée par 13 années de guerre, où les armes circulent à profusion et où les jeunes et les démobilisés attendent toujours un emploi.

La situation s’est dégradée, au lendemain d’un scrutin que les observateurs nationaux et internationaux ont pourtant qualifié d’équitable. L’opposition dénonce des fraudes massives et désavoue la commission électorale. Ses candidats se sont retirés des élections présidentielles du 28 juin, laissant le président actuel, Pierre Nkurunziza, seul en lice. Bien qu’un retour à la guerre soit peu probable, cette impasse du processus électoral pourrait remettre en cause les acquis démocratiques qui découlent de l’accord d’Arusha.

En République centrafricaine, l’accord de Libreville, en 2008, a ouvert une période de pluralisme politique malgré un général-président. Une opposition diversifiée et une presse libre sont les acquis de la « démocratie à la Bozizé ». Malgré cela, la voie vers des élections s’annonce longue et chaotique. La commission électorale, inféodée au président et gravement dysfonctionnelle, est une pomme de discorde qui ralentit les préparatifs électoraux au lieu de les faire avancer.

Les manipulations autour du fichier électoral sont nombreuses, et les projections démographiques qui en sont le fondement sont biaisées en faveur des bastions présidentiels. Enfin, la bataille pour la victoire électorale fait passer le processus de paix au second plan. Peu d’avancées ont été faites dans la démobilisation et la réintégration des rebelles. L’insécurité qui prévaut dans un pays où 8 préfectures sur 14 sont occupées par des groupes armés demeure un obstacle majeur au bon déroulement de la campagne électorale et du scrutin.

Dans ce contexte où la violence politique affleure, où la gouvernance des sortants est critiquable et où le déséquilibre des forces politiques est patent, bref dans un contexte où l’alternance est possible, ces élections peuvent être celles de la consolidation comme elles peuvent être celles de la régression démocratique. Face à ce risque, toute la difficulté pour la communauté internationale est de préserver les qualités démocratiques du scrutin sans s’immiscer dans un processus électoral dont la conduite échoit maintenant pleinement aux acteurs nationaux.

Cela est d’autant plus difficile que la méfiance, voire le ressentiment des gouvernants de la région à l’égard de la communauté internationale rend cet engagement plus délicat. Le président rwandais déclare ouvertement « qui pourrait se permettre de donner aux onze millions de rwandais des leçons sur leurs droits et ce qui est bon pour eux ? » Au Burundi, le gouvernement a obtenu le remplacement du représentant de la mission onusienne, accusé d’être trop proche de l’opposition. En RDC, le souhait de voir partir la MONUC tient en grande partie à la volonté de se débarrasser des « yeux indiscrets » de la communauté internationale lors du scrutin de 2011. Trait révélateur de l’ambiguïté politique du moment, les dirigeants sortants dénoncent l’ingérence de la communauté internationale, tandis que l’opposition congolaise réclame à corps et à cris sa présence comme garante de la régularité du processus.

De ce fait, la communauté internationale doit opter pour un engagement consultatif et cohérent dans ces élections pleinement nationales. Elle doit rester impliquée pour rendre irréversibles les gains démocratiques sans se substituer aux responsables nationaux. En un mot, elle doit, comme un bon conseiller, guider sans décider.

Concrètement, cela signifie qu’elle doit procéder à une évaluation approfondie de la situation politique avant de proposer son assistance électorale. Après, elle doit mettre à disposition des organisateurs des scrutins son expertise et, éventuellement, ses financements pour les préparatifs techniques (fichier électoral, découpage électoral, éducation civique, logistique, etc.). Dans la phase préparatoire, elle doit jouer un rôle de conseiller et, dans la phase de mise en œuvre, elle doit jouer un rôle d’évaluateur en déployant des forces de police temporaires pour sécuriser les scrutins en cas de besoin et en observant leur déroulement jusqu’au traitement du contentieux inclus.

En Afrique Centrale, la communauté internationale accomplit peu ou prou ces tâches mais de manière timide, voire parfois réticente et surtout sans grande cohérence. Elle est souvent prête à financer mais plus rarement à évaluer (Rwanda, Centrafrique); elle est souvent prête à fournir de l’expertise pour les préparatifs mais plus rarement à participer à la sécurisation du scrutin (Burundi). De fait, il est aisé de lui opposer la défaillance d’un maillon quand elle ne s’occupe que d’un bout de la chaîne. Une approche plus cohérente lui permettrait d’améliorer son double rôle de conseil et d’évaluation, et donc sa contribution à la consolidation démocratique dans la région.

En bref, cette année est un test, pour les acteurs nationaux comme pour la communauté internationale. Le bilan des scrutins dépend maintenant des premiers. Les acteurs internationaux, quant à eux, sont mis au défi de trouver le bon dosage pour leur soutien au processus électoral après la transition politique, c’est-à-dire au temps de la souveraineté retrouvée. A ce titre, les pays voisins et les institutions africaines (régionales ou continentales comme l’Union africaine) devraient jouer un rôle de premier plan: l’Initiative régionale pour la paix au Burundi qui regroupe notamment le Rwanda, la Tanzanie, le Kenya et l’Ouganda est un exemple à méditer. Dans l’immédiat, la difficulté est pour la communauté internationale d’aider au bon déroulement des élections sans pour autant se substituer aux institutions du pays.

Op-Ed / Africa

L’UA doit plaider pour une approche inclusive au Burundi en vue de mettre fin à la violence

Originally published in The East African

The constitutional changes, if passed, could reset the clock on term limits for President Pierre Nkurunziza — potentially giving him an additional 14 years in power — and paving the way for the dismantling of ethnic balances embedded in the 2000 Arusha Agreement, which brought an end to Burundi’s protracted civil war. 

Les résultats officiels du référendum au Burundi ont été annoncés le lundi 21 mai. Sans surprise, les modifications proposées par le gouvernement ont été approuvées. L'opposition a refusé de reconnaitre les résultats. Dans cette tribune, publiée par The EastAfrican juste après le vote, notre directeur du projet Afrique centrale et notre conseillère pour l'Union africaine reviennent sur le contexte de ce référendum à haut risque et détaillent les mesures que l'UA devrait prendre immédiatement.

Le Burundi a organisé un référendum jeudi 17 mai dans un climat de violence et d’intimidation, le gouvernement cherchant à réduire au silence toute voix opposée à son projet de révision de la Constitution.

Les modifications pourraient remettre le compteur des mandats du président Pierre Nkurunziza à zéro — lui permettant potentiellement de rester quatorze années de plus au pouvoir ­— et ouvrir la voie au démantèlement des équilibres ethniques, un des éléments clés de l’accord d’Arusha de 2000, qui a contribué à mettre un terme à la guerre civile burundaise.

Selon la nouvelle Constitution, les clauses assurant à la minorité tutsi 40 à 50 pour cent des postes dans de nombreuses institutions de l’Etat seront revues au cours des cinq années à venir. Au regard de l’autoritarisme croissant du CNDD-FDD, le parti au pouvoir, il semble peu probable que ces garanties résistent à une telle évaluation.

L’Union africaine (UA), en tant que garant de l’Accord d’Arusha, a l’obligation d’en faire respecter les principes fondamentaux. Elle doit donc renouveler son engagement pour éviter que le Burundi ne retombe dans un conflit ouvert avant les élections de 2020.

Climat de peur

Depuis l’annonce du référendum en décembre, la répression constante des dissidents par le gouvernement, ainsi que le racket et les attaques locales lancées à titre de représailles, ont conduit à une recrudescence des violations des droits humains.

Les 430 000 réfugiés burundais dans les pays voisins — la majorité ayant fui en 2015 et 2016 en raison des intimidations subies par les opposants au troisième mandat de Pierre Nkurunziza — ne semblent pas vouloir rentrer chez eux, malgré les pressions exercées à cette fin par les pays hôtes.

Les services de sécurité burundais et les Imbonerakure, la ligue de jeunesse du CNDD-FDD, ont ciblé les membres des partis d’opposition et les citoyens appelant à voter « non », en particulier les membres du FNL-Rwasa, principal adversaire pour le vote des Hutu dans le pays.

Depuis l’annonce du référendum en décembre, la répression constante des dissidents par le gouvernement, ainsi que le racket et les attaques locales lancées à titre de représailles, ont conduit à une recrudescence des violations des droits humains.

La police et les agents du renseignement ont attentivement surveillé les réunions de campagne, et ceux qui ont ouvertement appelé au « non » ont été la cible d’intimidations, voire pire. Ceux qui ont eu la chance d’être arrêtés, plutôt que de disparaitre, viennent grossir les rangs des militants de la société civile en prison, le dernier en date étant le défenseur des droits humains Germain Rukuki, condamné à 32 ans de prison pour avoir supposément porté atteinte à la sécurité de l’Etat.

Pour quiconque connait les violences ethniques ayant déchiré le Burundi par le passé, utilisées selon la terminologie de l’accord d’Arusha « comme méthodes légitimes d’accès et de maintien au pouvoir », ces arrestations et disparitions sont inquiétantes.

Pire encore, le gouvernement utilise une rhétorique virulente incitant à la violence contre ses opposants. Le président lui-même a donné le ton le 12 décembre lorsque, lors de l’annonce du référendum, il a prévenu qu’y faire obstacle était « une ligne rouge à ne pas dépasser ». Depuis, les militants du parti au pouvoir ont attaqué de façon répétée ceux qui ont fait campagne contre la tenue du référendum ou ont appelé à voter « non ».

L’intention du gouvernement de démanteler les acquis d’Arusha est claire depuis longtemps. En mars 2014, il a essayé, sans succès, de réviser la Constitution par le biais du Parlement. Par ailleurs, depuis 2015, le gouvernement avance ses pions en développant minutieusement une doctrine selon laquelle il serait victime, ainsi que l’ensemble des Hutu burundais, d’un complot international.

Tandis que la population a résisté jusqu’ici au spectre des divisions ethniques, le gouvernement s’est livré à ce que Crisis Group a appelé « une ethnicisation par le haut », en imputant les difficultés du pays à des personnalités tutsi (telles que le président rwandais Paul Kagame ou l’ancien président burundais Pierre Buyoya) en association avec d’autres acteurs (la Commission d’enquête des Nations unies, l’Union européenne, la Cour pénale internationale et l’UA) qui dénoncent les abus du gouvernement. Le clivage est de plus en plus dépeint en termes religieux : entre un président de droit divin et les machinations machiavéliques de ses ennemis.

Solutions africaines

Réviser la Constitution pour se maintenir au pouvoir est depuis longtemps une zone grise de la politique de gouvernance de l’UA. Les réponses du continent à la crise au Burundi, depuis son émergence il y a trois ans, ont par conséquent manqué de cohérence.

L’UA a dans un premier temps répondu promptement et fermement. Le Conseil de paix et de sécurité (CPS) a fait part de ses préoccupations et tenté de déployer des médiateurs, des émissaires et des spécialistes des droits humains. A la fin de l’année 2015, au plus fort de la crise, le CPS a autorisé le déploiement d’une force de stabilisation, la Maprobu. La violence étant moins vive depuis début 2016, les troupes n’ont jamais été déployées. Echaudée et déstabilisée par la débâcle de la Maprobu, l’UA a cédé la responsabilité à la Communauté d’Afrique de l’Est, selon le principe de subsidiarité.

Le président ougandais Yoweri Museveni a été nommé médiateur en chef, et l’ancien président tanzanien Benjamin Mkapa facilitateur des pourparlers entre le gouvernement et l’opposition, désormais en exil. Mais Nkurunziza, sentant que Mkapa n’avait en fait que peu de soutien des chefs d’Etat africains, a refusé toute concession. La médiation, qui n’a jamais vraiment démarré, est désormais au point mort.

Depuis 2016, la violence au Burundi a continué mais n’a jamais menacé de s’étendre au-delà des frontières du pays, permettant à Nkurunziza de prétendre que les choses étaient revenues à la normale. Alors que certains chefs d’Etat et responsables africains sont conscients de la fragilité du pays, d’autres adhèrent au point de vue du gouvernement.

En tant que garant d’Arusha, l’UA devrait résister à l’érosion des clauses fondamentales de l’accord que constituent les modifications constitutionnelles. Sa réaction en demi-teinte au référendum — le sommet de l’UA de janvier appelant uniquement à « un large consensus national de toutes les parties prenantes » — ne sera pas suffisante face à un effort concerté visant à démanteler le règlement politique qui a apporté la paix au Burundi.

Dans un pays marqué par les violences ethniques, les risques liés à la révision de la Constitution sont considérables.

Dans un pays marqué par les violences ethniques, les risques liés à la révision de la Constitution sont considérables, et tout plaide en faveur de la mise en place de mesures préventives, un principe clé du mandat de paix et sécurité de l’UA.

A deux ans des élections prévues en 2020, des pourparlers entre le gouvernement et l’opposition visant à établir un climat propice à la tenue des scrutins sont donc plus que jamais essentiels.

Le manque de confiance de l’opposition à l’égard du parti au pouvoir est tel que certains considèrent la violence comme le seul moyen de pression efficace. Pour empêcher une future escalade, l’UA doit désormais renouveler son engagement.

L’actuel président de la Commission de l’UA, Moussa Faki Mahamat, devrait offrir ses bons offices et le CPS remettre le Burundi à son ordre du jour. Une pression accrue devrait être exercée sur Bujumbura pour favoriser l’ouverture de l’espace politique —notamment permettre aux membres de l’opposition en exil de rentrer sans craindre d’être harcelés ou poursuivis en justice — et mettre fin à sa rhétorique agressive qui crée des divisions. Faute de quoi, tôt ou tard, la violence sera la seule alternative.

Contributors

Project Director, Central Africa
richmoncrieff
Adviser, African Union Relations
ElissaJobson

Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera Youtube
The dilemma of electoral assistance in Central Africa
The dilemma of electoral assistance in Central Africa
AU Must Re-engage in Burundi to Push for Inclusivity as a Way out of Violence
AU Must Re-engage in Burundi to Push for Inclusivity as a Way out of Violence
Commentary / Africa

The dilemma of electoral assistance in Central Africa

Election fever has spread across Central Africa. For the second time since the end of the disastrous civil wars in the region, electoral processes have been launched in Burundi, Rwanda, Central African Republic and the Congo.

National governments have taken over a process that the international community had previously designed, financed, secured and driven. This year’s ballots are thus the first real test for the democratic consolidation in Central Africa. The biggest challenge for local peace-builders today is how to ensure free and transparent elections without outside help.

The 1990s were characterised by mass violence, with the Rwandan genocide, the civil war in Burundi, recurring insurgencies in Central African Republic, and manifold rebellions in the Congo. The past decade has been one of political transitioning, the end of dictatorial rule, and democratisation, with the exception of Rwanda. The current electoral processes are thus the direct result of the latter period.

Burundians started the electoral cycle with local elections on 24 May, which will be followed by presidential and legislative ballots in June and July respectively. Despite the end of the civil war in Burundi, ethnic cleavages that nurtured the conflict continue to play an important role in politics today.

Central African Republic, which has had a shaky national reconciliation process, is only slowly emerging from instability. In order to be re-elected after the coup that brought him to power in 2003, General François Bozizé tried to rush the elections. The apparent irregularities and technical blunders, however, drew the attention of the opposition and the international community. President Bozizé was forced to accept one postponement after the other. Elections were initially planned for April but got postponed to May, and now, they are scheduled for October.

In the Congo, the preparations for the presidential elections in 2011, which had been delayed considerably, have taken a start in an atmosphere of controversies. There are rumors around the revision of the constitution, the voting registration, and electoral laws, as well as the murder of Floribert Chebeya, the leader of the main Congolese human rights organisation.

Rwanda is a country that does not follow the regional pattern and that needs assistance in opening up democratic space. Since the end of the genocide in 1994, President Paul Kagame has dominated the political sphere. As the country is approaching presidential elections in August, the regime is becoming more insecure despite, or maybe because of, its 95% victory in the last ballots. Arrests of politicians from the inner circle of power and acts of aggression against political opponents have multiplied. Critical voices have been silenced as made clear by the eviction of Human Rights Watch and the suspension of two newspapers, accused of inducing public disorder.

A rapid electoral check-up shows how far these regimes have come, but at the same time it reveals how fragile their democratic gains are.

In Burundi, out of many political struggles, relatively independent electoral institutions have been created. The opposition was able to influence the composition of the current electoral commission, which had previously been packed only with loyalists of the regime. Improvements in the electoral registration process have prevented the worst manipulations. Registering voters, which used to be conducted by local partisan officials and which required an identification card that had to be purchased, has led to outcries by the opposition. The international community has come to the rescue by financing the documents.

However, authoritarian tendencies remain. Some officials loyal to the government.  have interrupted meetings of the opposition, closed some of its offices, and arrested some of its members. Acts of aggression against political figures and clashes between party youths show that the political pacification process is incomplete in a society traumatised by 13 years of war, where weapons are widespread and where many youths and demobilised are unemployed.

The situation has deteriorated after the elections, which national and international observers had qualified as fair. The opposition has denounced massive fraud and disowned the electoral commission. Candidates are retreating from the presidential elections on 28 June, leaving the President Pierre Nkurunziza as the sole contestant. While a return to war is unlikely, the electoral impasse has the potential to undermine the democratic gains that have been achieved.

In the Central African Republic, the Libreville Accord in 2008 was the start of a period of political pluralism, despite the fact that the president came from the ranks of the military. A diversified opposition and a free press have been consolidated during the Bozizé regime. However, the path to elections is still long and chaotic. The electoral commission, which is loyal to the president and widely dysfunctional, remains a point of contention as it has slowed down electoral preparations rather than advancing them.

Manipulations of voter registration are numerous, including demographic projections, tilted in favor of the president’s party. Lastly, the struggle for electoral victory has made the peace process of secondary importance. Only minor advances have been achieved with regard to the demobilisation and reintegration of rebels. The insecurity that prevails in a country in which 8 out of 14 prefectures are occupied by armed groups is a major obstacle to the organisation of electoral campaigns and polls.

Political violence, questionable outgoing government officials, and unequal power relations make a change of government highly likely. The current elections could either lead to a consolidation or to a deterioration of democracy — to avoid the latter, the international community faces the difficult task of ensuring electoral democratic standards without interfering in the electoral process, which nowadays is the full responsibility of national actors.

The mistrust, or even resentment, of the governments in Central Africa towards the international community makes an engagement even more difficult. The Rwandan president has openly criticised the international community for lecturing 11 million Rwandans about their rights and what is supposed to be good for them. In Burundi, the government has arranged for the replacement of the representative of the UN mission, which has been accused of being too close to the opposition. In the Congo, the desire to see the UN mission, MONUC, leave has much to do with the attempt to get rid of the “indiscrete eyes” of the international community during the 2011 elections. However, while the outgoing leaders denounce the interference of the international community, the Congolese opposition sees its presence as a crucial element to ensure a fair process.

The international community should lend its support to all these electoral processes, but in a more consultative and coherent way. They should focus on ensuring that the democratic gains are not reversed, while making sure that they leave full responsibility to the national governments. In short, the international community must guide, but not decide.

More specifically, this means that the international community needs to thoroughly evaluate the political situation before providing any electoral assistance. Once they are ready to give support, they should offer their expertise to election organisers and financial support for technical preparations (eg, voter registration, divisions into constituencies, civic education, logistics, etc). During the preparatory phase, the international community should play an advisory role, and during the implementing phase, an evaluative role by deploying a temporary police force to help secure the vote if necessary and an election observation mission to remain in the country until the election process is completed.

While the international community is more or less fulfilling its tasks in Central Africa, it does so in a cautious and sometimes even reluctant way — all without any particular coherence. It is often ready to finance, but rarely to evaluate (Rwanda, Central African Republic); and it is often ready to advise on preparations, but rarely to participate in securing elections (Burundi). Given the fact that the international community is only involved in certain parts of the process, it is easy to point to its failures, however. A more coherent approach would allow the international community to improve its dual role of advising and evaluating and in doing so strengthen its contribution to the democratic consolidation of the region.

In short, this year is a test for both the national and international actors. The former are responsible for the outcome of the elections. The challenge for the latter is to find the right balance of providing support for the electoral process without encroaching on national sovereignty. For that reason, neighboring countries and African institutions (regional or continental ones, such as the African Union) need to play the primary role: the regional initiative for peace in Burundi, made up of Rwanda, Tanzania, Kenya and Uganda, is an example to consider. For the time being, the difficulty for the international community is to support the implementation of elections without taking over the responsibilities of national institutions.

Op-Ed / Africa

AU Must Re-engage in Burundi to Push for Inclusivity as a Way out of Violence

Originally published in The East African

The constitutional changes, if passed, could reset the clock on term limits for President Pierre Nkurunziza — potentially giving him an additional 14 years in power — and paving the way for the dismantling of ethnic balances embedded in the 2000 Arusha Agreement, which brought an end to Burundi’s protracted civil war. 

The official results of the Burundi referendum were announced on Monday 21 May. Unsurprisingly, the government's proposed changes were approved. The opposition has refused to recognise the result. In this op ed, published in the East African just after the vote, our Project Director for Central Africa and our African Union Adviser look at the context of this fraught referendum and lay out measures the AU should now take.

Burundi held a referendum on Thursday amid growing violence, and intimidation as the government tried to silence voices opposed to its plan to alter the constitution.

The changes, if passed could reset the clock on term limits for President Pierre Nkurunziza — potentially giving him an additional 14 years in power — and paving the way for the dismantling of ethnic balances embedded in the 2000 Arusha Agreement, which brought an end to Burundi’s protracted civil war.

According to the new Constitution, clauses guaranteeing the minority Tutsi community a 40 or 50 per cent share of posts in some state institutions will be reviewed over the next five years.

In the context of the ruling CNDD-FDD’s increasing authoritarianism, there seems little chance that these assurances would survive such a review.

The African Union (AU), as an Arusha guarantor, has an obligation to uphold the Accord’s central principles. It must re-engage to prevent Burundi sliding back into open conflict ahead of the 2020 elections.

Climate of fear

Since the referendum was announced in December, the government’s political crackdowns, together with local revenge attacks and racketeering, have led to increasing violations of human rights.

The 430,000 refugees in neighbouring countries — the majority of whom fled in 2015 and 2016 due to intimidation of opponents of President Nkurunziza’s third term — show little sign of wanting to come home, despite being pressured by host countries to return.

The security services and the Imbonerakure, the CNDD-FDD’s youth wing, have targeted opposition party members and citizens calling for a no-vote, in particular members of the FNL-Rwasa party, which challenges the CNDD-FDD for the Hutu vote in-country.

Since the referendum was announced in December, the government’s political crackdowns, together with local revenge attacks and racketeering, have led to increasing violations of human rights.

Police and intelligence agents have carefully monitored campaign meetings and those who call openly for a no-vote face intimidation or worse. Those lucky enough to be arrested, rather than disappearing, join a growing number of civil society activists in prison, most recently human rights defender Germain Rukuki, sentenced to 32 years in prison for supposedly undermining state security.

To anyone familiar with the ethnic violence of Burundi’s past, motivated, in the words of the Arusha Agreement, by the desire to seek or retain political power, these arrests and disappearances are worrying.

Worse still, the government is propagating a virulent public discourse inciting violence against all who oppose it. The president himself set the tone on December 12 when, in announcing the referendum, said anyone opposing it would be “crossing a red line.” Since then, party militants have attacked those campaigning against the referendum or for voting no.

The government’s intention to dismantle the gains of Arusha has long been clear. In March 2014 it tried, but failed, to revise the Constitution through parliament.

Since 2015, the government has advanced its agenda through a carefully constructed doctrine according to which it, and by extension Burundian Hutus, are the victims of an international plot.

While ordinary people have remained resistant to the spectre of ethnic division, the administration has pushed what Crisis Group has previously called “ethnicisation from above,” wherein the country’s troubles are laid at the door of individuals of Tutsi ethnicity (such as Rwanda’s President Paul Kagame or former president Pierre Buyoya) in association with others (the United Nations Commission of Enquiry, the European Union, the International Criminal Court and the AU) who speak out against abuses.

Increasingly the divide is painted in stark religious terms: Between a divinely ordained president and his enemies’ evil machinations.

African solutions

Changing the Constitution in order to stay in power has long been a grey area in the AU’s governance doctrine. Consequently, the continent’s response to Burundi’s three-year-old crisis has been uneven.

The AU reacted early and firmly to the initial turmoil. As events unfolded, the Peace and Security Council (PSC) voiced its concern and attempted to deploy mediators, envoys and human rights observers. As violence peaked at the end of 2015, the PSC authorised a stabilisation force, MAPROBU.

Troops were never deployed, following a relative calming of the situation in-country at the start of 2016.

Bruised and shaken by the MAPROBU debacle, the AU ceded responsibility to the East African Community, under the principle of subsidiarity.

Ugandan President Yoweri Museveni became the chief negotiator and former Tanzanian president Benjamin Mkapa was appointed facilitator of talks between the government and the now exiled opposition. But sensing that Mkapa had little political backing from African presidents, Nkurunziza refused to give ground. The mediation, which barely got off the ground, has now comprehensively stalled.

Since 2016, the violence in Burundi has remained at a steady rate without threatening to spill over the country’s borders, allowing Nkurunziza to claim a return to normality. While some African leaders and officials are alive to the country’s fragility, others buy into the government’s view.

As a guarantor of Arusha, the AU should resist the erosion of the agreement’s key provisions embodied in the approved constitutional changes. Its half-hearted response to the referendum – January’s AU summit simply called for “a broad consensus of all stakeholders” — will not suffice in the face of a concerted effort to dismantle the very political settlement that brought peace to Burundi.

In a country scarred by ethnic violence, the risks posed by the constitutional changes are huge and the case for preventative action [...] overwhelming.

In a country scarred by ethnic violence, the risks posed by the constitutional changes are huge and the case for preventative action (a key tenet of the AU’s peace and security mandate) overwhelming.

With elections now just two years away, talks between government and opposition aimed at creating a conducive environment for a vote in 2020 are more vital than ever.

The opposition’s mistrust of the ruling CNDD-FDD has deepened to the point where some see violence as the only way of exerting pressure for change. To avoid future escalation, the AU must re-engage now.

The current chairperson, Moussa Faki Mahamat, should use his good offices and the PSC should put Burundi back on its agenda. Greater pressure should be exerted on Bujumbura to open up the political space — including allowing exiled opposition activists to return without fear of harassment or prosecution — and to put an end to its divisive and inflammatory discourse. Without this, the alternative, sooner or later, will be violence.

Contributors

Project Director, Central Africa
richmoncrieff
Adviser, African Union Relations
ElissaJobson