icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
Центральная Азия: вода и конфликт
Центральная Азия: вода и конфликт
Special Episode: Ten Conflicts to Watch in 2022
Special Episode: Ten Conflicts to Watch in 2022

Центральная Азия: вода и конфликт

Борьба за водные ресурсы в Центральной Азии все больше ожесточается, и это не может не внушать тревогу, поскольку она усиливает напряженность в регионе, где и так  далеко неспокойная обстановка.

КРАТКОЕ СОДЕРЖАНИЕ

Борьба за водные ресурсы в Центральной Азии все больше ожесточается, и это не может не внушать тревогу, поскольку она усиливает напряженность в регионе, где и так  далеко неспокойная обстановка. Сельское хозяйство является основой экономики региона, и такие культуры, как хлопчатник и рис, требуют интенсивного орошения.  С тех пор, как в 1991 г. центральноазиатские государства обрели независимость, потребление воды резко увеличилось и достигло уровня, поддерживать который далее невозможно.  Ирригационные системы пришли в упадок настолько, что половина всей воды не достигает полей, а несколько лет маловодья сократили имеющиеся водные ресурсы на одну пятую часть, при этом потребность в воде  постоянно растет.  Усилия по восстановлению Афганистана будут создавать дополнительную нагрузку на водоснабжение.

Проблемы увеличения потребности и сокращения обеспеченности водными ресурсами осложняются неспособностью стран региона действовать сообща. В Советском Союзе обмен водными и энергетическими ресурсами свободно осуществлялся на всем его пространстве, преодолевая лишь административные границы республик, а Москва предоставляла средства и руководила строительством и содержанием инфраструктуры. Рост национализма и соперничества между пятью центральноазиатскими странами означает, что им не удалось выработать жизнеспособный региональный подход взамен советской системы управления.  И действительно, как источник напряженности в последние годы, взаимосвязанные вопросы водных и энергетических ресурсов уступают по значимости лишь исламскому экстремизму.

Ежегодно споры возникают между двумя группами стран: тремя странами низовья рек–  Казахстаном, Туркменистаном и Узбекистаном, которые потребляют огромное количество воды для выращивания хлопка, и государствами, расположенными в верховье рек – Кыргызстаном и Таджикистаном.  Странам низовья требуется больше воды для их расширяющегося сельскохозяйственного сектора и растущего населения, в то время как экономически более слабые страны верховья пытаются получить больший контроль над своими ресурсами и хотят использовать больше воды для выработки электроэнергии и возделывания земли.

Напряженность создается вокруг двух главных рек региона, которые впадают в Аральское море – реки Сырдарья, берущей начало в Кыргызстане и протекающей по территории Узбекистана и Казахстана, и реки Амударья, текущей из Таджикистана через Узбекистан и Туркменистан.  Амударья и ее притоки формируют часть границы между центральноазиатскими странами и Афганистаном.

В данном отчете определены четыре основные сферы напряженности между государствами Центральной Азии:

  • Отсутствие последовательного и четкого управления водными ресурсами;
     
  • Неспособность соблюдать или применять водные квоты;
     
  • Нереализованные и несвоевременные бартерные соглашения и платежи;
     
  • Неопределенность по поводу будущих планов развития инфраструктуры.

Управление водными ресурсами страдает от унаследованного с советских времен контроля "сверху" и в целом от соперничества между государствами.  Созданная в 1992 г. Межгосударственная координационная водохозяйственная комиссия (МКВК) не приняла в расчет меняющиеся политические и экономические отношения.  МКВК – это довольно закрытый межправительственный орган, занимающийся почти исключительно разделом водных ресурсов.  В нем не представлены ни сельскохозяйственные, ни промышленные потребители, нет в нем и представителей неправительственных организаций или других участников.  В руководстве преобладают чиновники из Узбекистана, что вызывает подозрения, что Комиссия отдает предпочтение национальным интересам этой страны.  Это приводит к отсутствию политической  поддержки со стороны других стран и, в результате, к серьезной нехватке средств.  В то же время,  отдельные страны делают мало для поддержания водных систем, служащих нуждам всего региона.

Западные доноры начали разрабатывать другие системы управления, такие как программа Глобальный Экологический Фонд [Global Environment Facility (GEF)] при координации с Международным Фондом Спасения Арала (МФСА). Специальная программа для экономик  Центральной Азии [SPECA], действующая при поддержке ООН, также работает над вопросами управления водными ресурсами.  Однако ни одна из этих инициатив не достигла успеха в устранении основных политических препятствий, в частности, нежелания государств сотрудничать.

Вскоре после независимости пять государств договорились о сохранении советской системы квот, однако, это оказалось невыполнимым.  Гражданская война в Таджикистане и упадок экономики Кыргызстана привели к тому, что службы водного мониторинга оказались в неисправности.  Механизмы контроля и осуществления больше не работают, и страны часто обвиняют друг друга в превышении квот.  Туркменистан потребляет слишком много воды в ущерб Узбекистану, который в свою очередь обвиняется Казахстаном в потреблении воды больше положенной нормы.  Кыргызстан и Таджикистан утверждают, что все три страны низовья превышают квоты.  Даже внутри Узбекистана области обвиняют друг друга в использовании слишком большого количества воды.

Наиболее серьезная напряженность сложилась вокруг бартерных соглашений и платежей.  Страны верховья поставляют воду Узбекистану и Казахстану в обмен на энергоресурсы в виде газа, угля или электроэнергии. Поскольку поставки энергоресурсов ненадежны, Кыргызстан в ответ спускает зимой больше воды через свои гидроэнергетические плотины, что приводит к затоплению земель в низовьях и к меньшему количеству воды для орошения в летний период.  Попытки Кыргызстана потребовать оплату за воду наталкиваются на сопротивление стран низовья.

Поскольку страны начали рассматривать эту проблему как ‘игру с нулевым выигрышем’, каждая из них предпринимает шаги к усилению контроля над водными ресурсами, зачастую в ущерб другим.  В Центральной Азии растет неопределенность по поводу планов строительства новых водохранилищ и плотин или расширения орошаемых площадей.  По большинству таких проектов консультации почти не проводятся, что усиливает взаимные подозрения государств-соседей.  После падения режима талибов в ноябре 2001 г. возникла озабоченность по поводу того, какое влияние окажут усилия по восстановлению сельского хозяйства Афганистана:  в настоящее время эта страна потребляет очень мало воды из Амударьи, но восстановление ирригационных систем создаст дополнительную нагрузку на реку.

Напряженность вокруг водных и энергетических ресурсов способствует созданию в целом тревожного политического климата в Центральной Азии.   Она не только провоцирует враждебные высказывания, но и вызывает к жизни предположения, что страны готовы защищать свои интересы с помощью силы, если потребуется. Узбекистан проводил  учения, в которых  соседние страны подозревали тренировочные рейды по захвату Токтогульского водохранилища. Недопоставки газа и зимние подтопления, которыми Узбекистан и Кыргызстан наносят взаимный ущерб друг  друга, оказывают прямое и широкомасштабное воздействие на жителей этих стран и грозят усилить этническую напряженность в Ферганской долине.  Борьба за водные ресурсы может лишь усилиться, и напряженность будет расти, если не будут созданы более эффективные механизмы для решения этих проблем.

Необходим многосторонний региональный подход, учитывающий энергетические, сельскохозяйственные и демографические аспекты водопользования. До сих пор главным инструментом являлись двусторонние соглашения, не имевшие политического веса и не способные разрешить проблемы  регионального масштаба.  Управление водными ресурсами должно быть изменено, чтобы повысить отчетность и прозрачность: в настоящее время общественность, НПО и СМИ имеют весьма ограниченный доступ к информации или к процессу принятия решений.  Эффективное управление водными ресурсами требует квот, которые выполнимы и подкреплены механизмами их соблюдения и санкциями против тех, кто эти квоты нарушает.  Центральноазиатские страны по-прежнему подходят к этому вопросу как к чисто инженерной проблеме, в то время как проблема заключается в управлении множеством политических, социальных и экономических факторов.

В Центральной Азии существует значительный скептицизм по поводу иностранного участия в решении водной проблемы. Доноры предпочитают технические решения политическим, и средства направляются на ремонт и замену старых ирригационных сооружений.  Однако технические решения дадут лишь ограниченный эффект, если не будут сопровождаться политическими мерами.

Ош/Брюссель, 30 мая 2002 г.

Podcast / Global

Special Episode: Ten Conflicts to Watch in 2022

Which conflicts should we worry about most in 2022? This week on Hold Your Fire!, Richard Atwood and guest host Ásdís Ólafsdóttir talk to Crisis Group’s President & CEO Comfort Ero about our flagship survey “10 Conflicts to Watch”.

As Russia appears poised for a military escalation in Ukraine, humanitarian catastrophe looms in Afghanistan and negotiations over the Iran nuclear deal enter crunch time, what should we worry about in the year ahead? Each year Crisis Group’s flagship publication 10 Conflicts to Watch, published with Foreign Policy magazine, looks at the trends, wars and crises that keep us up at night.

On this week’s Hold Your Fire!, Richard Atwood and guest host Ásdís Ólafsdóttir, Crisis Group's Online Communications Manager, are joined by Comfort Ero, our new President & CEO, to talk about what we’re watching in 2022. They talk about big trends overshadowing global affairs: the impact of the pandemic and the climate crises on international peace and security, the human toll of the world’s worst wars, the major and regional power rivalries that hinder peacemaking and make for several increasingly perilous flashpoints, as well as the U.S.’s evolving global role one year into President Joe Biden’s tenure. They look up-close at the latest dynamics in individual crises, from Ukraine and Yemen to Afghanistan and Ethiopia, while sketching out some reasons for hope in an overall gloomy picture. 

Click here to listen on Apple Podcasts or Spotify.

For more information, make sure to explore the whole of our flagship commentary published with Foreign Policy magazine: "10 Conflicts to Watch in 2022". For some more hopeful news, you can also check out Crisis Group’s Twitter thread 10 Reasons For Hope in 2022.

Contributors

Executive Vice President
atwoodr
Associate Director, Online Communications
asdisolafs
President & CEO
EroComfort

icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
A Vicious Cycle: Climate and Conflict in the Horn of Africa
A Vicious Cycle: Climate and Conflict in the Horn of Africa

Central Asia: Water and Conflict

Competition for water is increasing in Central Asia at an alarming rate, adding tension to what is already an uneasy region.

Executive Summary

Competition for water is increasing in Central Asia at an alarming rate, adding tension to what is already an uneasy region. Agriculture is the mainstay of the region’s economy, and thirsty crops such as cotton and rice require intensive irrigation. Water use has increased rapidly since the Central Asian states became independent in 1991 and is now at an unsustainable level. Irrigation systems have decayed so severely that half of all water never reaches crops, and several years of drought have cut available water by a fifth even as demand continues to soar. Efforts to rebuild Afghanistan will now put yet more strain on supplies.

The problems of increasing demand and declining supplies have been compounded by the failure of the region’s nations to work together. Under the Soviet Union, water and energy resources were exchanged freely across what were only administrative borders, and Moscow provided the funds and management to build and maintain infrastructure. Rising nationalism and competition among the five Central Asia states has meant they have failed to come up with a viable regional approach to replace the Soviet system of management. Indeed, linked water and energy issues have been second only to Islamic extremism as a source of tension in recent years.

An annual cycle of disputes has developed between the three downstream countries – Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan – that are all heavy consumers of water for growing cotton, and the upstream nations – Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan. The downstream countries require more water for their growing agricultural sectors and rising populations, while the economically weaker upstream countries are trying to win more control over their resources and want to use more water for electricity generation and farming.

Tensions focus on the two main rivers of the region that both flow to the Aral Sea – the Syr Darya from Kyrgyzstan through Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan and the Amu Darya from Tajikistan through Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan. The Amu Darya and its tributaries form part of the border between the Central Asian states and Afghanistan.

This report identifies four key areas of tension among the Central Asia nations:

  • lack of coherent water management;
     
  • failure to abide by or adapt water quotas;
     
  • Non-implemented and untimely barter agreements and payments;
     
  • uncertainty over future infrastructure plans.

Water management has suffered from the Soviet legacy of top-down control and general rivalries between the states. The Interstate Coordinating Water Commission (ICWC) that was set up in 1992 has failed to take into account changing political and economic relations. It is an inter-governmental body with little transparency that focuses almost exclusively on the division of water. There is no representation from agricultural or industrial consumers, non-governmental organisations or other parties. Management is dominated by officials from Uzbekistan, leading to suspicions that it favours that country’s national interests. This has contributed to a lack of political commitment by other countries to the commission, resulting in a serious shortage of funds. In the meantime, the individual countries have done little to contribute to the maintenance of water systems that benefit the region.

Western donors have started to develop other management systems such as the Global Environment Facility (GEF) program, in coordination with the International Fund to Save the Aral Sea (IFAS). The UN-backed Special Program for the Economies of Central Asia (SPECA) is also working on water management. However, none of these initiatives have made much headway in dealing with the key political obstacles, particularly the unwillingness of the states to cooperate.

Shortly after independence, the five countries agreed to maintain the Soviet-era quota system, but this has become unworkable. The civil war in Tajikistan and the decay of Kyrgyzstan’s economy has meant that water-monitoring facilities have fallen into disrepair. Control and enforcement mechanisms no longer function and the various countries now often accuse each other of exceeding quotas. Turkmenistan is using too much water to the detriment of Uzbekistan, which in turn has been accused by Kazakhstan of taking more than its share. Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan say that the three downstream countries are all exceeding quotas. Even within Uzbekistan, provinces have accused one another of using too much water.

Some of the most serious tensions have centred around barter agreements and payments. The upstream countries trade water to Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan for energy in the form of gas, coal or power. Since energy deliveries have been unreliable, Kyrgyzstan has responded by releasing more water through its hydropower dam in winter, which results in downstream flooding and less water for summer irrigation. Attempts by Kyrgyzstan to demand payment for water have been resisted by the downstream countries.

As each country has started to view the problem as a zero-sum game, it has taken steps to increase control over water, often to the detriment of the others. There is increasing uncertainty in Central Asia over plans to build new reservoirs and dams or to expand irrigation. There has been little consultation over most of these projects, leading to intensified suspicions between states. Since the fall of the Taliban in November 2001, there has been concern about the implications of efforts to rebuild agriculture in Afghanistan. Currently that country uses very little of the water from the Amu Darya but reconstruction of irrigation systems will put additional pressure on the river.

Tensions over water and energy have contributed to a generally uneasy political climate in Central Asia. Not only do they tend to provoke hostile rhetoric, but they have also prompted suggestions that the countries are willing to defend their interests by force if necessary. Uzbekistan has carried out exercises that look suspiciously like practice runs at capturing the Toktogul Reservoir. The gas shortages and winter flooding that Uzbekistan and Kyrgyzstan have inflicted on each other have a direct and widespread impact on the peoples of those countries and have the potential to inflame ethnic tensions in the Ferghana Valley. Competition for water can only increase, and tensions will rise unless better mechanisms are put in place to manage the problems.

A multifaceted regional approach is needed that addresses energy, agriculture and demographic aspects of water use. Thus far, emphasis has been on bilateral agreements that lack political weight and cannot resolve what is a regional problem. Management of water must be reformed to increase accountability and transparency as currently the public, NGOs and the media have little access to information or the decision-making process. Efficient water management requires quotas that are sustainable and are backed up by enforcement mechanisms and sanctions against violators. The Central Asia nations still approach the issue purely as an engineering problem rather than one of managing multiple political, social and economic factors.

There is considerable scepticism in Central Asia about foreign involvement in resolving the water issue. Donors have favoured technical rather than political solutions, and funds have been earmarked for the repair and replacement of inefficient irrigation installations. Technical solutions will only have a limited impact, however, if not accompanied by political measures.

Osh/Brussels, 30 May 2002

Podcast / Africa

A Vicious Cycle: Climate and Conflict in the Horn of Africa

This week on The Horn, guest host Nicolas Delaunay is joined by Nazanine Moshiri, Crisis Group’s climate & security expert, to discuss the complex, often dangerous relationship between climate stresses and conflict in the Horn and on the continent more broadly.

Extreme weather events in Africa are becoming increasingly common, often striking in areas already prone to insecurity and scarcity. While the relationship between climate and security is both complex and context-specific, the broad risks are clear: modelling shows that temperature increases of as little as half a degree could, in some contexts, lead to a 10-20 per cent increase in the risk of violence. Erratic weather has already contributed to conflicts across the Horn – from Somalia to Kenya and South Sudan – a clear demonstration of climate change’s impact as a threat multiplier, exacerbating insecurity and existing tensions.

This week on The Horn, guest host Nicolas Delaunay, Crisis Group’s senior communications officer for Africa, is joined by Nazanine Moshiri, Crisis Group’s senior analyst for climate & security, to untangle this complex relationship and its implications for the continent. They break down how changing weather patterns and natural disasters have shaped, and sometimes triggered, conflicts in Somalia, Kenya and South Sudan, often in very different ways. They also discuss the need for better adaptation measures and ask how Africa can best reckon with climate change, stressing the urgency of putting climate security on the agenda ahead of COP27. 

Click here to listen on Apple Podcasts or Spotify.

For more of Crisis Group’s analysis, make sure to check out our Climate Change and Conflict page.

Contributors

Senior Communications Officer for Africa
nicodelaunay
Senior Analyst, Climate & Security, Africa
nazaninemoshiri