icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
أعمال الشغب في طرابلس في لبنان نُذُر الانهيار
أعمال الشغب في طرابلس في لبنان نُذُر الانهيار
Security forces push anti-government protesters away from al-Nour square in the centre of Lebanon's impoverished northern port city of Tripoli on 31 January 2021 amid clashes. Fathi AL-MASRI / AFP

أعمال الشغب في طرابلس في لبنان نُذُر الانهيار

أربعة أيام من الاضطرابات العنيفة في طرابلس على الساحل الشمالي للبنان قد تنذر بالمزيد في المستقبل؛ حيث يؤدي تفشي فيروس كورونا الجديد إلى تعميق الأزمة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية الحادة في البلاد. ثمة حاجة ماسة للمساعدات الإنسانية لتفادي تحقق أسوأ السيناريوهات.

ابتداء من 25 كانون الثاني/يناير، نزل سكان مدينة طرابلس في شمال لبنان إلى الشوارع على مدى أربعة أيام متتالية. تظاهر الكثيرون بشكل سلمي، لكن بعضهم هاجم مباني حكومية واشتبك مع عناصر الأمن، الذين أطلقوا عليهم الغاز المسيل للدموع والرصاص المطاطي والذخيرة الحية. أضرم المشاغبون النار في مبنى البلدية التاريخي، وخربوا مبنى المحكمة الشرعية السنية والسرايا الحكومية، وألقوا زجاجات حارقة، وبحسب السلطات، أطلقوا قنابل يدوية على قوات الأمن. بحلول 31 كانون الثاني/يناير، كان قد قتل متظاهر واحد وأصيب أكثر من 400، بالإضافة إلى 40 جندياً وشرطياً على الأقل. اعتقلت وحدات ومخابرات الجيش اللبناني 25 رجلاً على الأقل لدورهم في الأحداث. ينبغي على شركاء لبنان الدوليين الاستمرار في الضغط على نخبه لرسم مسار قابل للتطبيق إلى الأمام، مع مضاعفة المساعدات الإنسانية للسكان اليائسين بشكل متزايد. 

كان السبب المباشر للاحتجاجات في طرابلس الأثر الاجتماعي للإغلاق الصارم الذي فرضته حكومة تصريف الأعمال في لبنان رداً على تصاعد جديد في حالات الإصابة بفيروس كوفيد-19. إذ تركت القيود المفروضة الكثيرين غير قادرين على إعالة أنفسهم. ويرجع ذلك أساساً إلى أن الإغلاق كان الحلقة الأحدث فقط في سلسلة من الكوارث التي أصابت غالبية اللبنانيين منذ عام 2019. في تلك الفترة، فقد ما لا يقل عن 500,000 شخص أعمالهم ووظائفهم. وانخفضت قيمة العملة المحلية بأكثر من 80 في المائة في السوق السوداء، مما أدى إلى ارتفاع معدلات التضخم. وقد فقد الناس المليارات من أموالهم التي كانت على شكل مدخرات. ووفقاً للبنك الدولي، فإن أكثر من نصف اللبنانيين كانوا قد سقطوا تحت خط الفقر بحلول أيار/مايو 2020. ويقدر المسؤولون الحكوميون أن حوالي 75 في المائة من اللبنانيين بحاجة إلى المساعدة. وبين أكثر من مليون لاجئ سوري يعيشون في البلاد، فإن ما يصل إلى 90 في المائة منهم يحتاجون إلى مساعدات إنسانية ونقدية، وفقاً للمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين. 

طرابلس ومحيطها من أفقر المناطق في لبنان، لكن المعاناة تزداد سوءاً في جميع أنحاء البلاد. وفي أفعالهم وردود أفعالهم، ربما قدم المتظاهرون والمشاركون بأعمال الشغب وقوات الأمن في المدينة لمحة عما ينتظر معظم أنحاء لبنان في الأشهر المقبلة. خلال المقابلات التي أجرتها مجموعة الأزمات على مدار الأشهر الثلاثة الماضية، أعرب مسؤولون لبنانيون وناشطون من أحزاب سياسية، وناشطون سياسيون، وضباط أمن، وممثلون عن المنظمات غير الحكومية في جميع أنحاء لبنان عن مخاوف مماثلة: إذا استمر التردي الاقتصادي، أو إذا تسببت التدابير التقشفية، مثل خفض الدعم، بزيادة مفاجئة في الضغوط الاجتماعية، قد يتزعزع استقرار البلاد بشكل خطير.

على رأس التحديات التي يواجهها لبنان، يأتي الضغط على مؤسسات الدولة وتآكلها، حيث يقلل التضخم من قيمة رواتب القطاع العام وتختفي الخدمات المتردية أصلاً بشكل كامل. على مدى الأشهر الماضية، اندلعت التوتراتالتي تسببت بها الأزمة أو فاقمتها بشكل متكرر على شكل حوادث أمنية تبدو منعزلة، ولكن يبدو أنها تشير مجتمعة إلى اتجاه مثير للقلق. وقد تصارع قوات الأمن، التي يبلغ تعدادها أكثر من 130,000، مع مئات الآلاف من أفراد عائلاتهم، بشكل متزايد لحفظ النظام ومنع العنف وحماية الممتلكات. قد يجدون أنفسهم الواجهة لفشل الدولة، مع تعويضهم عن غياب الإدارة والحوكمة بفرض النظام على جمهور يشاطرونه مظالمه. مع تدهور الوضع الأمني، ستعمل الأحزاب السياسية، وأصحاب النفوذ المحليون، وكبار رجال الأعمال على ملء الفراغ. 

حتى الجيش تعرض للتوتر والضغط، وقد يفقد بريقه قريباً بوصفه أحد أكثر المؤسسات العامة اقتداراً وأقلها تحزباً في لبنان. كحال موظفي القطاع العام، والمعلمين، والشرطة، فإن الجنود يكسبون اليوم جزءاً صغيراً مما كانوا يكسبونه قبل عام، حيث يتقاضى كثيرون منهم ما يعادل 150 دولاراً شهرياً فقط. وحتى كبار الضباط باتوا يعبرون عن قلقهم بشأن مستقبلهم الشخصي والمهني. وكما قال أحدهم لمجموعة الأزمات: "سيلتزم [الجيش] بمهمته، لكن في نهاية المطاف، هؤلاء الجنود هم أبناء مجتمعهم وبيئتهم. أبناء وبنات [الضباط] يدرسون في الخارج و [نحن] لم نعد قادرين على دفع الرسوم الدراسية". 

لا ينبغي توقّع أي إغاثة من السياسيين. فبعد ستة أشهر من الانفجار الكارثي في مرفأ بيروت الذي أسقط الحكومة السابقة، ما زال يتعين عليهم تشكيل حكومة جديدة، ناهيك عن المشاركة في الإصلاحات الأساسية المطلوبة للحصول على المساعدات الدولية أو استكشاف مبادرات بعيدة المدى لخلق فرص للتنمية والاستثمار. من المرجح أن تتصرف النخب السياسية كما كانت تتصرف في الماضي: تشتري الوقت بأموال ليست ملكها؛ وتوزع المنافع على دائرتها الضيقة والأعباء على عموم الناس؛ وتعمل على إنقاذ النظام الذي يبقيها في السلطة. في حالة حدوث ما هو غير محتمل الوقوع، أي أن يثوب بعض القادة اللبنانيين إلى رشدهم أو أن تتحرك حكومة مستقبلية للعمل، فستقف في طريقهم المصالح الخاصة وتدني القدرة على الحوكمة. في هذه الأثناء، لا يزال الشركاء الخارجيون، مثل الولايات المتحدة، والدول الأوروبية، والدول العربية، مصممين على حجب المساعدات غير الإنسانية ما لم يصلح القادة اللبنانيون شؤونهم.  وهم محقون في ذلك؛ فلبنان لن ينجو من مأزقه إلا إذا غيّرت نخبه السياسية سلوكها، الذي خلق الأزمة في المقام الأول. 

حتى ذلك الحين، على شركاء لبنان الخارجيين مضاعفة جهودهم لمنع انهيار الدولة ونشوء حالة طوارئ إنسانية حادة. في 30 كانون الثاني/يناير، وقّع البنك الدولي اتفاقية مع حكومة تصريف الأعمال للحصول على قرض بقيمة 246 مليون دولار لتقديم مساعدات نقدية لنحو 800,000 من أفقر اللبنانيين. ينبغي على المانحين الدوليين زيادة التمويل للأغراض الإنسانية وأن يهدفوا إلى الوصول إلى أكبر عدد ممكن من المستفيدين بشكل مباشر. كما يتعين على شركاء لبنان الخارجيين التفكير في تعميق تعاونهم مع الأجهزة الأمنية المختلفة في الوقت الذي يتخذون فيه خطوات لتقليل أي خطر ناجم عن احتمال أن تؤدي الاحتجاجات إلى تشديد إجراءات الشرطة دون داع. من شأن التعاون الخارجي أن يسمح لتلك الأجهزة حفظ النظام وتجنب انتشار الاحتجاجات والتوترات المحلية وتحولها إلى اضطرابات وعنف على نطاق واسع. يمكن لشركاء لبنان الدوليين المساعدة في منع أزمة البلاد من التفاقم، ولكن للقيام بذلك، يتوجب عليهم التحرك الآن.

icon caret Arrow Down Arrow Left Arrow Right Arrow Up Line Camera icon set icon set Ellipsis icon set Facebook Favorite Globe Hamburger List Mail Map Marker Map Microphone Minus PDF Play Print RSS Search Share Trash Crisiswatch Alerts and Trends Box - 1080/761 Copy Twitter Video Camera  copyview Whatsapp Youtube
Riots in Lebanon’s Tripoli are Harbingers of Collapse
Riots in Lebanon’s Tripoli are Harbingers of Collapse
Security forces push anti-government protesters away from al-Nour square in the centre of Lebanon's impoverished northern port city of Tripoli on 31 January 2021 amid clashes. Fathi AL-MASRI / AFP

Riots in Lebanon’s Tripoli are Harbingers of Collapse

Four days of violent unrest in Tripoli on Lebanon’s northern coast could presage more to come, as a new coronavirus outbreak deepens the country’s severe socio-economic crisis. Humanitarian aid is urgently needed to keep the worst-case scenarios at bay.

Starting on 25 January, residents of the northern Lebanese city of Tripoli took to the streets over four consecutive days. Many protested peacefully, but some attacked government buildings and clashed with security personnel, who fired upon them with tear gas, rubber bullets and live ammunition. Rioters torched the historic municipality headquarters, vandalised the Sunni religious court and government administration building, and hurled Molotov cocktails and, according to authorities, hand grenades at the security forces. By 31 January, the toll was one protester dead and more than 400 injured, along with at least 40 soldiers and police. Lebanese army and military intelligence units detained at least 25 men for their roles in the events. Lebanon’s international partners should continue pressing its elites to chart a viable path forward, while redoubling humanitarian assistance to an increasingly desperate population.

The immediate trigger for the protests in Tripoli was the social impact of a hard lockdown imposed by Lebanon’s caretaker cabinet in response to a new surge in COVID-19 infections.

The immediate trigger for the protests in Tripoli was the social impact of a hard lockdown imposed by Lebanon’s caretaker cabinet in response to a new surge in COVID-19 infections. The restrictions have left many unable to sustain themselves, mainly because the lockdown is only the latest in a series of calamities that have hit the majority of Lebanese since 2019. In that period, at least 500,000 have lost their businesses and jobs. The local currency’s value has dropped by more than 80 per cent in the black market, fuelling inflation. People have lost billions in savings and, according to the World Bank, more than half of Lebanese had fallen below the poverty line already in May 2020. Government officials estimate that some 75 per cent of Lebanese nationals need aid. Among the more than one million Syrian refugees living in the country, as many as 90 per cent require humanitarian and cash assistance, according to the UN High Commissioner for Refugees. 

Tripoli and its surroundings are among the poorest areas of Lebanon, but hardship is worsening across the country. In their actions and responses, protesters, rioters and security forces in the city may have provided a preview of what awaits most of Lebanon in the months to come. During interviews conducted by Crisis Group over the past three months, Lebanese officials, political party operatives, political activists, security officers and NGO representatives across Lebanon all expressed similar fears: if the downward economic slide continues, or austerity measures such as subsidy cuts cause a sudden increase in social pressures, the country may become dangerously unstable.

Foremost among the challenges Lebanon faces are the stress on and erosion of state institutions, as inflation devalues public-sector salaries and already perfunctory services disappear altogether. Over the past months, tensions triggered or amplified by the crisis have repeatedly erupted in security incidents that appear isolated but, taken together, seem to indicate a worrying trend. Security forces, which number more than 130,000 with an additional hundreds of thousands of dependents, may increasingly struggle to preserve order, prevent violence and protect property. They may find themselves becoming the face of state failure, as they compensate for the absence of policy and governance by policing people whose grievances they share. As security deteriorates, political parties, local strongmen and business tycoons will step into the gap. 

Even the army has been under stress and may soon lose its lustre as one of Lebanon’s most capable and least partisan public institutions. Like civil servants, teachers and police, soldiers today earn a fraction of what they did a year ago, many as little as the equivalent of $150 per month. Even senior officers are expressing concern about their personal and institutional futures. As one told Crisis Group: “[The army] will abide by its mission, but at the end of the day, these soldiers are children of their society and environment. [Officers’] own sons and daughters are studying abroad and [we] can’t pay tuition anymore”.

No relief should be expected from politicians. Six months after the catastrophic blast in the Beirut port that brought down the previous government, they have yet to form a new one, much less engage in fundamental reforms required to unlock international assistance or explore long-range initiatives to create opportunities for development and investment. Political elites will more likely behave as they have in the past: buying time with money that is not theirs; distributing benefits narrowly and burdens broadly; and working to salvage the system that keeps them in power. In the improbable event that some Lebanese leaders come to their senses or that a future cabinet moves to act, vested interests and a low capacity for governance will stand in their way. Meanwhile, external partners such as the U.S., European states and Arab countries remain determined to withhold non-humanitarian assistance unless Lebanese leaders shape up. They are right to do so. Lebanon will escape its predicament only if and when its political elites change their behaviour, which has created the crisis.

Lebanon’s external partners must redouble their efforts to prevent state collapse and the onset of a severe humanitarian emergency.

Until such time, however, Lebanon’s external partners must redouble their efforts to prevent state collapse and the onset of a severe humanitarian emergency. On 30 January, the World Bank signed an agreement with the caretaker government for a loan of $246 million to provide cash assistance to some 800,000 of the poorest Lebanese. International donors should increase funding for humanitarian purposes and aim to reach as many beneficiaries as possible directly. Lebanon’s external partners should also consider deepening their cooperation with different security agencieswhile taking steps to minimise any danger that protests prompt unnecessarily tough policing. Outside cooperation would allow those agencies to help preserve order and avoid the proliferation of protests and local tensions into widespread unrest and violence. Lebanon’s international partners can help stop the country’s crisis from getting worse, but to do so, they must act now.